We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a service to our military.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We've been here several times. Two years ago we took our granddaughters and their parents and we all loved it. One of the granddaughters got sick in the middle of the night and the staff came to our rescue, cleaning up a horrible mess. We like to go there as a time out in the middle of our European vacations to wonder the quiet town, get caught up on our laundry and rest before continuing on. Good American food, if you're ready for some. It's beautiful Summer or Winter and there are always activities available. We're going back this December for a Christmas Market tour. We can't wait. I do wish they had king beds available in standard rooms, but they are available in some of the suites.

Room Tip: No king beds available in standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1garrygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

So glad you will be visiting us again. We hope you enjoy the Christmas markets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 740 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spectacular facility, incredible accommodations, superb lodge with incredible staff dedicated to serving military families. Love this place and will return! Remember to take advantage of the package seeing the country side - very good value and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craig-loly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We are lucky to have such great staff who are "dedicated to serving military families." Can't wait for your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After staying in B&Bs with locals throughout our trip, we had 3 nights here. Way too many Americans, which obviously we expected. The room was gorgeous -- really top notch. The food in the restaurants -- almost ick! We went to the buffet the first night and were VERY underwhelmed. Had the much touted Champagne Brunch the next morning and it was only average. The best part of it was the omelet station. From then on we ate out!
Free WiFi was spotty at best -- we never could get it in our room. There are balconies on the rooms, but it seemed every noisy couple or children were out on theirs as well, so we couldn't enjoy the deck at all.
Great views, convenient location for doing the castles or Salzburg (which we did). For the price we were not as impressed as we had hoped.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Our rooms really do have some of the best views in all of Germany. We are installing a new WiFi system in our hotel to ensure fast and extensive coverage throughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It is a wonderful resort with a beautiful mountain backdrop in Garmisch. The atmosphere inside is just as lovely. It has a few in-house restaurants, an inside pool, several souvenir/necessity shops, multiple multi-purpose rooms for conferences, classrooms etc & offers tours & trips in the nearby areas. There is also a small PX, Commissary & shoppette within walking distance of the resort. Our 3rd floor room was always warm (even with the radiator off), spacious & comfortable. We also enjoyed the gorgeous view of the mountains from our balcony. The staff was friendly & helpful throughout the lodge. The lobby is large & there is also a side 'lobby' for kids. There are stairs & elevators. There is also underground parking. Negatives: some did not get good internet reception in their rooms so had to use it in the lobby (we did not have that issue) & the food was hit & miss. Luckily, the town is less than 5 mins away with restaurants, shops & more lovely scenery that fits the bill for a great day out!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor in October & had our heat off. The room was so cozy (warm) that we usua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesnmacke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a shame that the food served in all of the restaurants is rotten, dried up and doesn't even taste like real food. Get Gordon Ramsey there to sort it out.

The staff in the reception and shop are young and a lot of them, do not have any customer service skills whatsoever, I never saw the general manager present once in the reception area and we stayed for five days.

It is a beautiful hotel, great rooms, fantastic location. The pool and hot tub are fantastic.

These men and women that serve or have served for America deserve a much better service which is obviously being let down by the management. I hope you read this and please take note.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. We value all of our guests input as an opportunity to improve. We have been monitoring our guest feedback over the last months regarding the food and fortunately have seen some favorable results. We have two new head chefs that are making improvements daily. We are constantly adding new items and improving our processes. Our guest frequently respond what great staff we have so we apologize that you didn't experience that same friendly American service we know we can provide. We hope we have the opportunity to provide a memorable vacation in the Alps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four days to visit our son stationed in Germany and it was breathless! The resort its self is well located and the most amazing views of the alps you could ask for. Our room was normal size with a small balcony. Beds were on the hard side but good night sleep as it was very quiet. Check in was great and professional, Gift shop was very friendly and gave us lots of info on tours. Breakfast buffet was over priced and food was very bland, poor selections and pork gravy must have been made form day before pork! We also ate the dinner Buffet and again over priced, cold food, poor selections and food sat out to long, got hard. Down stairs Bar food was good as we ate there often but I would recommend going down town and eating. Our only complaint about Edelweiss is the food, we would stay again, Cheers

Room Tip: Ask for room with view, most want 3rd floor, we had second floor and view has great. Eat down town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank all4thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks for the review. We love it when we hear words like, "breathless" and "most amazing views you could ask for." We hope you have a chance to come back and stay again in the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel, the rooms, the restaurant, the scenery is all breath taking. There are tons of things nearby to see and do (gondola rides up the mountain, hiking, walking around garmisch, shopping, eating, anything you want.) The hotel has a buffet, which is delicious, and a bar-style restaurant downstairs with awesome American style food. The rooms and lobby are beautiful and clean. I've stayed here twice already and would gladly do so again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleymay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

If we aren't careful it would sound as if you do marketing for us! "The hotel, the rooms, the restaurant, the scenery is all breath taking." We love that you have stayed multiple times and would choose to come back again. We hope we have the chance at having you again in the winter. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
434 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
302 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing