We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Really Enjoy This Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Grafenwoehr, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I Really Enjoy This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The only thing I don't like about this place is that prices are based on paygrade; however, they do offer a lot of opportunities to save money with "special" deals throughout the year. The location and views, and staff are AMAZING! My family and I initially began coming here as part of our unit activities, but that eventually changed because of the amount of activities available we realized we were going to start having to pay out of pocket in order to do everything we wanted (being with your unit can severely restrict your timeline). Ensure to take advantage of the Alpine Adventures Vacation Planning options, and get the steak at the Pullman Place atleast once! My kids love this place and my wife and I love this place, It is truly a magical place seated at the base of the Greatest Mountain in Germany!

Room Tip: Schedule your vacation activities when you reserve your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We agree, the "location, views and staff are AMAZING". Good tip to reserve your activities when you make your reservations. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    207
    77
    36
    14
See reviews for
346
186
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This experience was our second at Edelweiss and was better than the first. We enjoyed a nice room with a wonderful view. The staff was very helpful with providing a crib, sheets, 2 blankets for the baby and a diaper pail. Swimming pool was nice with wonderful locker room too, laundry facility on site, a few restaurants to choose from at the resort if you choose not to venture out one night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EuroEri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Your second stay was even better than your first? Excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My second stay at this lovely hotel, very pleased with reception and room. Weather turned out good with highlights how beautiful this place is. Ideal location with a short stroll to town that itself is very friendly. Breakfast is extremely good and cater for all international customers. We also travelled with a small dog and this was not a problem.
The staff are very warm and attend to everything you need. Will be staying again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open up to the well maintained garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwk10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I spent two lovely weeks here and plan to return again sometime soon. I felt really comfortable and at home in this friendly resort in the Bavarian town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The rooms were spotlessly clean and a very good size. Once the door was shut it was very quiet, despite what other reviewers said. After 10 pm. hardly anyone was making alot of noise. Around that time they ordered people out of the pool area so it became even quieter. Breakfasts at the buffet were very good and superior to what is served at the Marriott and most other good hotels'. The trips on offer gave a wonderful in depth view of Bavaria and it's surrounding countryside and towns'. I would highly recommend this for anyone with military affiliation who plans a trip to the area. Next year I am thinking of trying out the Shades of Green Resort in Florida at Walt Disney World when I go to visit EPCOT center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
You really must have gotten a taste for the area staying here two weeks. And how wonderful that even after staying here two weeks you want to "return again sometime soon." Thanks for your review, when you come back your room will be ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not to state the obvious but don't go when everybody else has vacation or a four day weekend. Edelweiss is better enjoyed during the week or during off-peak periods. Also, make sure you check if there are any conferences taking place during your visit (lots of commands take advantage of Edelweiss as a good off-site meeting location).

We visited Edelweiss after Thanksgiving and before Christmas. We really enjoyed the facilities. Our son enjoyed the swimming pool and free little merry-go-round. The gym was decent with at least six treadmills, six elliptical machines, some bikes, and a free weight station. The regular buffet was average which you would expect when you make food for hundreds of people at a time. However, the there was a large selection of various meats, entrees, fruits, vegetables, and beverages. I recommend the Champagne brunch if you are there on Sunday because the food is above average to excellent. The Champagne brunch is different than the standard, everyday brunch and cost a more but the quality is far superior to the regular buffet. I recommend going over to the AAFES Exchange across the road to pick up winter gear as the selection there is far superior to the selection at the Stuttgart AAFES and the prices were very reasonable.

As for attractions, I would recommend driving to the following places:
1. Zugspitze - Highest peak in Germany. Many cable cars take you to the top of the peak. On a clear day you can see many miles.
2. Oberemergau - Lots of Christmas markets and quaint shopping in a nice to walk downtown area.
3. Downtown Garmish - more good shopping. At the Christmas market we were able to get traditional Christmas items much cheaper than at Kathy Wolfart.
4. Neuschwanstein Castle - The inspiration for Disney's princess castles. Beautiful views and horse-drawn carriage rides.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brood225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We are happy your son enjoyed the pool and our merry go round. Kids seem to be able to do those two things all day long and be completely content. Our Sunday brunch is certainly something special. We recommend if people check out on Sunday they stay for brunch then hit the road. We hope you will stay with us again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms. Excellent location. Food is not horrible, but you get tired of it after a while. Perfect for a family get away if you have military background. It's a bit tougher if you come for a military event because there is rarely time to enjoy all there is to do and see. Take some time to get out if you can. If not, enjoy the pool and hot tub and small restaurants which all close down by 10 or 11.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Location, location, location. Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed there this past weekend for a Welcome Home Military Ball for my husband who just returned home from a deployment. Our FRG had previously arranged to have us get the best rate possible as long as we provided the group discount code. Upon calling I was told the room would be $114 a night (typically for our rank it is $85 without any discounts) when I asked to speak to the manager he informed me only higher enlisted personnel were eligible for a discounted rate and lower enlisted would have to pay the difference in order to cover the cost of the use of the ballroom and if I didn't like that I could pay the cost of one nights stay cancellation fee and stay elsewhere. Only after I informed my husbands command, was I allowed to receive the discounted price but I was still required to pay an additional $25 to use a ballroom- I found out later that was not supposed to happen either. On top of that, the breakfast buffet was cold and flavorless, Zuggy's food was nothing more than Sysco products plated- the cheesecake was rancid and the ice cream was melted and refrozen. This hotel has gone drastically down hill from our stay there last summer. Highly disappointed in the new management and the lower food quality.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alikat725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. You are correct, as an E1 - E5 you should only pay the hotel rate of $86 a night. If you attending the Military Ball in April, your command should have charged you to attend the ball, not the Edelweiss Resort. I sent you an email so we can further look into this offline. Regarding your feedback about our restaurants we have recently hired a new Food and Beverage Director and a new Head Chef. Our customer feedback has since gone up due to the changes in the menu they have implemented. We appreciate your comments and feel it is an opportunity to continually improve our service. We hope we have the chance to prove we can provide quality service and affordable vacations to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.9 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Property: Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing