We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A management that tries to gouge you.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed there this past weekend for a Welcome Home Military Ball for my husband who just returned home from a deployment. Our FRG had previously arranged to have us get the best rate possible as long as we provided the group discount code. Upon calling I was told the room would be $114 a night (typically for our rank it is $85 without any discounts) when I asked to speak to the manager he informed me only higher enlisted personnel were eligible for a discounted rate and lower enlisted would have to pay the difference in order to cover the cost of the use of the ballroom and if I didn't like that I could pay the cost of one nights stay cancellation fee and stay elsewhere. Only after I informed my husbands command, was I allowed to receive the discounted price but I was still required to pay an additional $25 to use a ballroom- I found out later that was not supposed to happen either. On top of that, the breakfast buffet was cold and flavorless, Zuggy's food was nothing more than Sysco products plated- the cheesecake was rancid and the ice cream was melted and refrozen. This hotel has gone drastically down hill from our stay there last summer. Highly disappointed in the new management and the lower food quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alikat725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. You are correct, as an E1 - E5 you should only pay the hotel rate of $86 a night. If you attending the Military Ball in April, your command should have charged you to attend the ball, not the Edelweiss Resort. I sent you an email so we can further look into this offline. Regarding your feedback about our restaurants we have recently hired a new Food and Beverage Director and a new Head Chef. Our customer feedback has since gone up due to the changes in the menu they have implemented. We appreciate your comments and feel it is an opportunity to continually improve our service. We hope we have the chance to prove we can provide quality service and affordable vacations to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 742 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We traveled to the Edelweiss in April 2012 and had a great time. It was on the end of a two week trip to Europe and helped us transition to our next step. It felt like home because the employees spoke good English and it appeared to be a hotel one would stay at in the United States. The location was nice. We were able to take taxis to the train station downtown or rent a car from the local military base to get around.

We were fortunate to get a room where we had a nice view of the mountains. The rooms were the typical size one would find in the US, clean, and appeared to be well kept. We had a couples massage while there and it was one of the best massages I ever had! Overall it was a good choice for us!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I am not sure how many rooms offer a view like ours did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABB980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here with family in March. Really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is spacious, the restaurants were pretty good, but a little pricey. The number of activities at the hotel is impressive, from guided tours to ski excursions during the winter. The indoor pool was a hit with the kids. The surrounding area is beautiful with Bavarian and mountain scenery. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the front of the hotel for better Internet reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Amazing how content the kids are in that pool. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After years of Army bunks I was a little nervous to take my wife to Edelweiss. We had traveled throughout Europe and slept on mini beds in mini rooms. Imagine my grin when I opened my room door to see two king size beds. The room was beautiful as is the hotel. We ate at the hotel restaurant a few times and were surprised at the superb food. The apple strudel was soooo good. It is centrally located in one of the most beautiful towns in the world. Unless you know when you arrive this is a military hotel you will never know it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We are so happy you felt at home here. Hope you choose to come back home. Our door is open anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was a very relaxing place to stay. The rooms were great, the food even better. Slot machines and spa on site that keeps the wife happy. Day tours to Eagles Nest, Paris and more that are very well guided and fun. Sep. 2010

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armymajdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I got a gift card for a weekend here. We really enjoyed our stay for the most part. The rooms were nice and clean and much to our surprise we had a fantastic view of the mountains once the clouds lifted. The food was overpriced and average but not bad. The staff at the restaurants were a bit snippy. We did the tour at the cheese factory which was great and also a couples massage which we would highly recommend as well. Some couples might not like the fact that there are children all over the place but a room at the end of the hall helps. All in all we enjoyed our stay but we probably wouldn't spend the money to go back with out the gift card. Definitely better for families with children.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kellogs1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Sorry to hear that you wouldn't come back without the gift card. We have some great specials and certainly there is alot more to do and explore on your next visit. We appreciate your feedback however and know it gives us the opportunity to improve. We hope we have another opportunity to show you great American service in the Alps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Edelweiss Lodge & Resort is just as others have described it - a nice slice of America in the Bavarian Alps. While the prices are high compared to German hotels and B&Bs, it is a nice change to know that everyone speaks your language.

The hot tub is great for adults, you can charge beer and food to your room, and the champagne brunch was nice. The rooms are average but spacious for European standards. Rooms have coffeemakers, as well as a small refrigerator and a prep sink in addition to the large bathrooms. Their excursions to nearby Partnach Gorge, Ettal Monestery, Linderhof Palace, etc. are convenient, but driving yourself is usually a better option. You can get the GPS coordinates from the Alpine Adventures folks.

Bottom line: stay here when you want a break from host nation lodging, but once is enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

If you only come once, you will leave alot unexplored! Each season offers a totally different feel to Bavaria. We hope we have another chance to have you stay at Edelweiss Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#8 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing