We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Military Report”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have been to Edelweiss three times. It has nice rooms, amazing views, and excellent location. Every time we are in Germany or close we try to go back. The rooms are lovely, there are option to purchase discounted tickets to local excursions like Zugspitze, which is a MUST! This location is close to Oberammergau, Linderhof, Eagle's Nest, Munich, Innsbruck, Ruette, etc, etc. This is a wonderful option to meet up for TDY, vacation, etc. Garmisch-Partenkirchen is beautiful and lovely to walk around. The hotel restaurants are great, get a drink and sit in the lovely lobby with some of our great troops to hear their stories and encourage them. A well-deserved place for our troops!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the south view the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Hints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 740 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and i have stayed here quite a few times but only now have I gotten around to write a review. We have never had a negative thing to say about any of our stays at the Edelweiss Lodge. Once you walk through the front doors and see that giant fireplace you instantly think "I'm on vacation". The staff goes out of its way to make sure you are happy and comfortable right down to the last detail.
The last visit we had there was in April. We booked one of their special $99 a night rooms and stayed 4 nights. Our room had a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains. The bed was very comfortable (we have back problems and sometimes have encountered a hotel bed that absolutely trashes our backs) and the rooms are quiet. I know there were small kids in a room about 3-4 down from us but you can't hear anything when you are in your room.. easy to sleep that way!
The buffet downstairs is DELISH, as is the steak restaurant across the hall. One thing I noticed is the steak restaurant isn't opened as much as I'd like.. they have wonderful food and is more of a semi dressy atmosphere than the buffet. Still, both I recommend. Down on the bottom floor is a mini casino, kid play area, pool, jacuzzi, workout and a sports bar type place called "Zuggy's'. TRY THEIR ZUGGY SIZED DAIQUIRI. They are out of this world!
If you are able to, I also recommend booking a massage. They have hour long massages (and couples massage which my husband and i have done) and they are reasonably priced. The jacuzzi is also a hot spot especially at night. Imagine sitting in a hot jacuzzi surrounded by the Swiss Alps. It's something you MUST experience at least once in your life!

We will definately be back there again and again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view.. the lady at the front desk chose a very nice one for us after we requested it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank newb_in_missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at Edelweiss three times and have loved each and every stay. It is a family friendly military resort with large rooms and three great restaurants. There is also a pool and a playground outside which is wonderful for the kids. There is so much to do in and around Garmisch and you honestly cannot beat the rates. The outstanding quality of the hotel for the money spent is definitely a steal in Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelers0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed there in late March as a last minute getaway. We were there 2 nights in the Deluxe Junior Room, which was $189/night (E6 rate) and included 2 queen beds in a separate room and a very nice, large sleeper sofa in the main room/living room area. There was two windows and both had great views of the mountains. The lodge itself was awesome! Huge foyer/main lobby area with tons of super comfy couches and chairs and a big fireplace. There is also more seating in the upper balcony area with WiFi as well as books you can read and movies to borrow. There are three restaurants in the lodge. A fancy/expensive one that we didn't go to (forgot the name), Market Station, and Zuggy's Base Camp. Market Station is a three meal buffet with very reasonable prices with breakfast being the best deal (we paid around $25 for 2 adults and 3 kids) and the food there is very good. We ate once at Zuggy's and weren't impressed. Food price was OK, but the service was fair and the food wasn't good at all. Don't waste your time there, unless you are just going for a drink and to watch some sports. The pool is nice and there is a really sweet hot tub outside. They also have an arcade and a casino/slot-like room (sorry, I don't know gambling lingo). They also have day tours you can sign up for. If you are wanting to do that, sign up early as they fill up quickly! There is assigned parking underground. Overall, the service was excellent. Lots of skiing in the area as well as restaurants and souvenir shopping. For some historic viewing, drive 20 min up to Ettal where there is a huge, beautiful monastery and basilica for free viewing. The also have a gift shop there where you can buy excellent beer brewed by the monks!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. There are plenty of elevators and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EricBalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My brother was stationed in Germany for a few years and we decided to visit him in May '08. This was the one place on his list where he wanted to take us, the others on the list were places we wanted to go. He told us how beautiful and great it was, but until you are actually in Garmisch, which is pretty much on the border with Austria, words and pictures just don't do this place justice. Garmisch itself is a small town and parts of it has that alpine village feel to it, but there are spots that are definitely geared toward the tourists. The hotel is sort of on the southwestern edge of town.

If you're looking for much needed R&R, this is the spot. Lots of personnel with family were around when we stayed. The first thing you notice after you park the park and walk towards the main entrance is the great view of the mountains. They feel so close and nothing beats the crisp, clean, refreshing cold air, especially in the morning. There's lots of activities provided at the hotel, including tours. Since my brother was driving we didn't take a tour, but did wind up going to Neuschwanstein Castle, which is one of the tours they do offer. Entering into the lobby the first thing you notice is the massive fireplace in the middle of the room. Check-in desk is to the left and we only had to wait for a couple of people before it was our turn. We got our keys and off we went to unpack, relax a little, and then head downstairs to eat. There are a couple of different options, which was great since we didn't really feel like leaving and driving even more.

The room was very large and there was ample room to fit in 2 queen size beds (standard room!), small table with chairs, and a large TV console with TV (yes, there's cable and yes it's in English). The bathroom was OK, simple but adequate. However the best part of the entire room was not in the room, but outside of it....the balcony. Open up the door, step outside, and enjoy the view of the Alps. When they are topped with snow, they look wonderfully majestic. If it's too cold, just step back in and if you're still cold, turn on the heater, which at night is what we had to do. On top of that we slept with cozy bedding and the bed itself was so comfy and relaxing.

It's too bad it's only for military, but at the same time it's nice that they do have something just for the armed forces and their family to enjoy while not being bothered by tons of touristy civilians. My brother is no longer stationed in Germany so next time we'll have to find something else, unless we go with him and his now extended family.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. Definitely worth the few extra bucks. And book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We've stayed at the Edelweiss more than 10 times, but this is our first time posting on Trip Advisor for this property. We stayed the 3rd week in January (sorry for the delay)

OUR OVERALL 5 (excellent) rating is taking into consideration the 50% discount and 3rd floor room as a good value for the money and as compared to European facilities & amenities
.
US vs. Euro: For those that have been living in Europe for a while and crave friendly American style service and amenities, then you can't beat the Edelweiss :) . If you're in Germany for a one-time visit & looking for an authentic Euro experience, then maybe better to stay in town at a B&B.

RATES: We always look for special offers on this property, as we feel the normal $150 a night for a standard room is a little steep. We were very lucky to get 50% off on a weekday 4 night stay right before the annual FIS World Cup hit town. We enjoy our couple time, so we also try to avoid staying during the high season & school holiday/vacation times.

ROOMS: We booked a standard room, but always request a 3rd floor location, because we enjoy the vaulted ceilings. NEW: The previously high priced in room WiFi- is now being generously sponsored by the VFW. The views, as usual were stunning, with gorgeous sunny days; that alone was worth the price of the trip! We made good use of the fridge and brought our breakfast supplies along. They have a little 2 cup coffee maker and provide coffee samples, but we still bring our own strong euro stuff to dose ourselves first thing! The housekeeping crew was great as always.

Sunday Champagne Brunch: We were happy they're offering this in the "Pullman Place" restaurant. It's only a few $s more than the normal buffet, and was totally worth it, considering the service and atmosphere upgrade. We stuffed ourselves on Prime Rib and weren't shy about utilizing the champagne refills....

Market Station Buffet: we had 3 dinners & 1 breakfast here and enjoyed every meal. The service and cleanliness were good for a buffet. If you're active duty, it won't be anything special for you, but this was a real treat for us. After living in Europe for a while, we yearn for the affordable buffets that are plentiful in the States....sigh...

Cooking Demo Night: We received an email letting us know about this weekly event a few days before our arrival. We went ahead and made a reservation as it sounded like a fun night for $100 per couple including wine pairings and champagne arrival toast. The food was lovely and the chef was informative and had a great sense of humor. The limit for the event was originally set @ 16 souls, but they overbooked a little with 20. I think they could expand this event and offer it two nights a week with great success.

Spa/Gym: After challenging days (that's what my knees said) on the slopes, our highlight of the day was sitting outside in the giant Jacuzzi with our special "coffees" we brought along from the room (wink wink). The dry & wet saunas were wonderful and the gym had the standard American hotel amenities and was never crowded when we were there. Of course, these types of facilities are pretty standard in the States (Country Inn & Suites, Marriott, Hyatt etc.) but even if you CAN find them in Euro hotels, you'll pay more than $300 a night.

FAMILY BINGO NIGHT: Okay- so we only play bingo a few times a year and ONLY when staying at the Edelweiss, so we don't have much to compare it to...but we always have fun. Of course our winning some $ didn't hurt our opinion of the event :) Yes, we were the novices screaming our heads off over a $100 win. It seems like a nice time for families; the kids we see there always seem to have a good time, even if their parents aren't winning!

SLOTS: We don't play too often- normally only on vacation, so it was okay for us. If you're a serious player, then probably better to check out the casino downtown.

A/C: there is no A/C in the rooms, so just keep this in mind if you are visiting during the Summer.

BEST THING: The wonderful staff is what sets this property apart :)

suggestion: the food options close way too early for people wanting a true resort feel. The Bar could be serving food (easy menu) 'til 1 AM every night.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have vaulted ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MenBobbyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Edelweiss is a great resort for families wanting to experience Bavaria without sacrificing American accomodations or being intimidated by language barriers. We enjoyed staying there but as a couple without children we found ourselves bothered by loud kids running lose around the hotel playing elevator tag and playing in the pool areas without any adult supervision. We both enjoyed deep tissue massages and found spa staff to be polite and professional. Strongly suggest anyone staying here take advantage of the tours and recreation events that the resort organizes. It was fun to watch American football in the bar area downstairs but we encourage Edelweiss resort guests go out and eat at some of the resturants in town, many of the menus are in English and there are some fantastic resturants offering a variety of international culinary menu selections. Suggest booking early, they advertise all sorts of specials but seem to be booked most times that we call to inquire about booking the special.

Room Tip: Farther away from lobby and elevators are more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Live2Experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riessersee Hotel
Riessersee Hotel
#20 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#8 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing