We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Foodie heaven in Garmisch-Partenkirchen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of VAUN

VAUN
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opening times: Monday to Saturday 5:30 p.M. To 11 p.M.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Foodie heaven in Garmisch-Partenkirchen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

After reading the reviews and REALLY missing a fresh, healthy & delicious meal, we decided to give Vaun a try. We were absolutely blown away! This restaurant is an absolute gem...from the casually elegant ambiance to the friendly, happy staff and the fresh, local, delicious menu, a meal at Vaun is indeed worth the trip to Garmisch-Partenkirchen in itself!

The owner is very welcoming, friendly, speaks great English and is obviously passionate about the philosophy of her restaurant; fresh, local, seasonal, "slow-cooked" food for the body & soul. There were 4 entree items offered the night we were there and we decided to try one of each (since there were 4 of us). The jury is still out on which was our favorite as they were ALL fantastic! The wine was delicious & inexpensive, too. Our only complaint was that we didn't have enough room in our stomachs to try the desserts (next time!).

Call for a reservation and sit outside on the patio (if possible) and enjoy the beautiful view of Alpspitze and Zugspitze. Normally, we wouldn't bring our [older] children to a restaurant like this (as they wouldn't normally appreciate it), but we did this time and they both devoured their dishes! A great lesson for them that real food CAN be delicious!

We are already discussing plans to return to Garmisch and Vaun will be at the top of our list!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    32
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Superb restaurant with a wonderfully creative menu incorporating European and Asian cooking styles. The young couple who run it deserve every success. Not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DH2562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is simply great! The food is incredible, simple but sophisticated in the same time. Each dish was delicious. I never thought that chocolate - chilly butter can be soooooo good :) If I could I would make three hour tour to Garmisch every three weeks just to eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 118Marta1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sustainable Eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you read the introduction in the menu, it talks about the restaurant's mission to provide healthy, sustainable food. The menu changes every few weeks based on what is in season and locally available. I love this about Vaun. I've never seen the same dish twice on the menu.Tourists should probably note this isn't traditional German food.
I love the food here. I am normally a picky eater but they do such a good job with the dishes that I've eaten lots of things that I'd probably never touch elsewhere.
I love the atmosphere of the restaurant. It has a clean, modern design that provides a refreshing change to all the traditional German restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank haileelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fresh, inventive beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We found Vaun especially inviting given that we were about at our fill point of typical German fare. It was refreshing to find such a wonderful culinary experience on our travels. It was the first restaurant we came across that was the type of place we enjoy going to while at home - beautiful environment, fresh inventive food, excellent service. Must visit if you get the chance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Ashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VAUN also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to VAUN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing