We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greedy Management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Certificate of Excellence
Ansbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greedy Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

They charged us 80% of our booked lodging cost as a cancellation fee even though we cancelled our reservation more than 48 hours in advance due to a death in the family causing us to cancel our travel plans. We tried repeatedly to get them to cancel this fee due to the circumstances through repeated calls and emails, as did booking.com, and they refused. I would never recommend this place and would certainly never stay there in the future

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

we feel really sorry about the bad experiences that you have had and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We deeply regret your loss and wish you all the very best for your future. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you in our hotel to get the chance to provide you a pleasent stay.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Angelina Lipp – Online Reputation Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    95
    38
    23
    13
See reviews for
67
138
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We came to Garmisch for Christmas so that we could see the snow and ski and to enjoy hanging in a quant town. We were excited about our hotel because it had a pool and spa. Our room was nice and had a small balcony which was lovely but the bathroom was terrible considering the price you pay to stay here. The breakfast in the morning is nice and there is a variety of meats and cheeses, fruits, breads and jams. The staff here are lovely and they will answer any questions. The only problem is that there is some kind of disconnect because we seemed to get bad information all of the time about attractions, restaurants, and activities. I know that we came over Christmas and expected snow, which was also disappointing, but we were sent to two different restaurants during our stay that when we arrived were closed. It was disappointing and frustrating because the town did close down pretty much around 9 for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted about your positive impressions and thank you for your great review.
It’s great that you spend your christmas days in our hotel. we are pleased that you felt comfortable with us and that you enjoyed the convenience of our room. We also want to thank you about the praise of our varied breakfast and our employees. We would be very pleased to welcome you again as our guest during your next stay in Garmisch. We wish you all the best and hope that there will be snow the next time!

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Angelina Lipp – Online Reputation Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The room was fine but the bathroom could use a little updating; however, truth be told, we did not spend that much time in the room that it was a huge factor. The room did have a small fridge, which we appreciated. They even provided cushions for the chairs on the balcony, but the temps were cool enough during our visit we did not linger long outside. The breakfast was much better than most we've had in Europe, and the staff was helpful when we had questions. The hotel was only about 2-3 blocks from the main part of town, and we walked to all the restaurants and shops. The hotel provided some kind of receipt for the "tourist tax" which we showed to ride the bus for free (and reduced entry for the gorge, among other things). There were 2 bus stops within 2 blocks of the hotel, so it was very convenient to get to/from Partnach Klamm (the gorge).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It´s great to hear that you had a nice stay in our TREFF Hotel! Thank you very much for giving us the change to be your host for your holidays in Garmisch-Partenkirchen! We´re glad to hear about your satisfaction with the services received. We would enjoy the opportunity to welcome you a second time in our hotel with a helpful and friendly staff, delicious breakfast and the good room facilities!

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Julia Lenz – Online Reputation Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Loved the fact that we could walk to town and even the zip spite and train station. The breakfast was good. Saturday morning though at 8:30 they started mowing lawn right outside our door and confused with weed whacking etc until 11:00 am. Also, glad we could find many good restaurants nearby because the hotel restaurant shut down at 9:00 each night and the bar by 10:30. The rooms were ok but have stayed in much iced places.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tah1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and were given a large ground floor room which was furnished with kitchen units, cooker, fridge, table and chairs and a settee. The doors opened out on to our own private terrace which had a couple of chairs.
The windows were fitted with external wind down shutters for overnight use.
The bathroom was very clean and was fitted with a shower cubicle but not a bath.
We did not have time to use the spa area apart from when I went for a swim before breakfast. The pool and surrounds were clean and the water was not too cold. The pool is small and would be crowded with more than 4 people swimming at the same time.
The breakfast was very good, the staff pleasant and the hotel arranged for us to have an earlier breakfast when we decided to catch an earlier train than planned on the day that we were due to move on.
The hotel is a short taxi ride or a 10 minute walk from the railway station but is only 2 minutes away from the main pedestrianised shopping area.
This is an hotel which we will be sure to return to in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pie-eater-1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for the first night of a bicycle trip through the Alps. This is a very nice property. My room was very large and luxurious. It even had a mini-kitchenette with a range and sink and refrigerator, all in beautiful wood paneling. The restaurant (dinner and breakfast) was very good and the staff was very friendly. It was a very short walk to downtown Garmisch and not much further to the train station. There was a nice pool and spa area but I did not use them. This is an older property built around an inner courtyard. After staying there, I did not understand the comments about this hotel being worn or dated - that was not my experience at all. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Booked a night at the Treff Hotel in a Superior room and upon arrival was told there are no rooms available. The receptionist explained to us that a group arrived with more people than expected and that they had been given our room. The hotel said that they booked us a room in another 4 star hotel at the same price and that it was a very nice room and they included a fruit basket. We arrived at the other hotel that at best would be considered a 2 star and the room was of poor quality and the new hotel did not have a pool. One of the reasons we booked the hotel was for the indoor pool only for them to send us away to what would be the equivalent of an econolodge. I was not impressed with their decision or their solution. They offered no discount or any sort of compensation for the inconvenience. For the money, there are much better hotels in Garmisch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bk173105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Property: H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Address: Alpspitzstr. 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly TREFF HOTEL Alpina)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and full of hospitality in a terrific location and a countrified quiescence, but still close to the centre. Let yourself be enchanted of the heavenly scenery with a grandiose view at the Wetterstein-Mountains with the Alpspitze and the Zugspitze.From here you will get to do all the sports activities and you have a short way to the congress house, the spa park, the casino and the 800 meters distant Olympia Stadium.You park in front of the hotel for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treff Hotel Alpina Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Alpina Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing