We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family run hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rheinischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice family run hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

My family stayed for a week in a "Family Room". The room was well appointed, very clean, and the beds comfortable. The views from our room weren't the best but we didn't care, the charm of the hotel more than made up for it. The buffet breakfast catered to both "American" and "European" tastes and had a wide selection to suit all. The staff were the icing on the cake; friendly and very accommodating. I have been coming to Garmisch annually for over 10 years and usually stayed at the Edelweiss, but will be using this hotel as my base from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahrainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    100
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
85
123
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was forced to stay here when Edelweiss overbooked and had to kick people out. However, it was quite the experience! The staff was pleasant, the rooms were big, and the breakfast was amazing!

I would receommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeJones22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our entire experience in Garmisch-Partenkirchen was excellent. The views from the rooms were post card worthy. The room was modern, spacious and very clean. The breakfast was exceptional. This is one of the best breakfasts we had during our three weeks in Germany, Italy and Greece. The fresh baked pastries were the best. We would pick a variety of pastries and split them four ways so that we could all sample the treats.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabernacle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a fmily run business with a really nice kitchen. Breakfast is included in your rate and dinner is available, with a limited but delicious menu. The folks here take good care of you, remember your name (and favorite room in my case). I go to Garmisch frequently on business, and this is my hotel of choice. It is located within walking distance of the downtown area or the Army base nearby. Although an older hourse, the bathrooms and amenities are all very modern, right down to the swimming pool. And the hotel is smokefree, a definite must for me.

Room Tip: Get Room 17, a double suite with a living room area separated from the bed and a nice size bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our stay here recently was a very positive experience. Others have written the details of this hotel, but I must say to have an easy to find location, easy and abundant parking and such a wonderful breakfast are a huge plus! The short walk in to town centre helps to wear off the Schnitzel. The drive to Munich is easy, especially with use of the park and ride, and the mountains and Innsbruck are a short drive as well. Would highly recommend this hotel and the friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here one night on a tour through Oberbayern and were extremely pleased and happy with our choice. We found a great last minute deal online. The hotel is a lovely Bavarian style house and our room was spacious with a wonderful mountain view from the balcony, as well as spotless and clean with a new good size bathroom. Free parking, free WiFi and a full breakfast were a big plus. We also used the sauna and steam room in the wellness area, which is a great add-on to regular hotel amenities. The hotel is a 10minute walk from the center of town and the hotel also offers a free bus pass. It is located on the Zugspitzstrasse, the main road leading to the Zugspitzbahn and Eibsee, yet we found it very quiet (contrary to other reviews here). We are from busy NYC, so we found everything very relaxed and laid back here. Last but not least, we like to mention Andreas who worked the front desk. He was super friendly and helpful with all inquiries and went out of his way to give us tips and informations. We highly recommend the Rheinische Hof.

Room Tip: Mountain View Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in eight hotels on our recent trip to France and Germany and I'm reviewing this one first because it will be the easiest. I can't find any fault with anything about this hotel. We stayed in the main hotel building in an immaculate, large room (room 22) with a balcony (looked like it was recently redecorated) overlooking the garden. There was very little noise from the road or rest of the hotel. Andreas,who I think is the manager, was very pleasant and helpful while we were there and also in e-mails when we were making our plans. The breakfast was good and included fresh squeezed orange juice. There wasn't always a lot of each item put out but I think that was an attempt to keep everything fresh rather than to discourage anyone from eating more. When my husband asked for more pancakes they quickly and cheerfully brought more. If you come by train and have luggage take a taxi to the hotel but after that I'd walk. The walk to the town center didn't take more than 15 minutes and is level. We are close to 70 years old (but fit) and had no trouble walking it. There is a nice grocery store a couple of blocks from the hotel for snacks. There is a free bus (included in hotel tax or something) that stops right outside the hotel if you don't want to walk. We didn't have any trouble accessing the wifi and they will loan you a computer if you don't have one. Another reviewer complained about the quality of the towels and bedding but ours was very good. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant so can't comment on that. I wish we had stayed more than two nights and I will stay here again if I am lucky enough to return to Garmisch.

Room Tip: Room 22 was quite nice and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jahrlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#12 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheinischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinischer Hof

Property: Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Address: Zugspitzstr. 76, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#3 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#4 Best Value Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rheinischer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to meet all your wishes! What are you looking for when you go on holidays? You might wish somewhat more than the ordinary standard? Hence, it is not only about bed, breakfast and mountain view. What we mean is our characteristic pleasant and casual ambience, which surrounds the guests, wherever they are in the house, whatever they do. We mean the mountains just in front of the door. Well, we mean the typical feeling in "Garmisch": the discovery of the unspoilt nature during a walk through the gorge "Partnachklamm", the little thrills during a hang-gliding tandem flight or the "adrenalin rush" during an adventurous rafting tour through the gorge of "Imst". Our declared goal is to be an ideal base for all your personal holiday activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Rheinischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rheinischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing