We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the apartments.”
Review of Atlas Posthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlas Posthotel
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in the apartments.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 2 of the hotel's apartments on a family vacation in March. The apartments were beautiful and spacious. They were fully outfitted with kitchen, washing machine, full bath, separate living area and bedroom with a porch. The food (dinner and breakfast) in the hotel restaurant was nice. Convenient location just next to the walking/shopping district, and a short walk to the train station for the Zugspitze. Parking is not the most convenient. There is extremely limited parking near the hotel, we parked in a public lot and walked a few blocks to the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    81
    47
    19
    15
See reviews for
57
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orgiano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Atlas Posthotel. Always very enjoying. The location cannot be beat. The included breakfast is very substantial. We have not eaten dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Rooms are clean and modern. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If there is a downside, it can be noisy from street activities late on weekend nights-----an acceptable price of being centrally located. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orgiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had decided to spend Christmas 2013 in Garmisch thinking that we would be sure to have a white Christmas (we live in Dubai).
As it turned out, we had to go up the Zugspitze to get some real amount of snow, but that didn't bother us. We loved the train ride up there.
The Atlas Posthotel has a wonderful atmosphere and was filled with wonderful, antique-looking Christmas decorations. It felt really cozy and the location is perfect.
Our room had two closets - we loved that little extra surprise.
The food in the restaurant was great. We ate almost all of our meals there and not just for the convenience.

Room Tip: We had room 102 and the only real noise we heard was when kids were running down the wooden staircas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We ate at this restaurant for dinner. It must have been their off day. Food was not good. I had a Bavarian roasted 1/4 duck which was the toughest and driest duck I ever had. It didn't have too much flavor though it had a rosemary sauce on it. I had to use every bit of the sauce to eat my potato dumpling. It was altogether bad experience for us. It was too bad because the restaurant offered a nice atmosphere in this cute town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. I hope you have a better luck and experince.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808MikeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels

Stafford
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The whole experience of eating in the Atlas Posthotel's main restaurant is special. From the traditionally dressed staff to the sensational cuisine is to be savoured. It is nice when four people go out for a meal, and sing such high praise for a restaurant and this is what happened when we travelled to Garmisch, and had lunch at the Atlas Posthotel. It was not just good, each and every mouthful was excellent. A word of caution though, if you eat the Mushroom and Bacon soup, you will be spoiled for life, as I doubt that you will find better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelunison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We chose our hotel in Garmish as other reviews implied Partenkirchen is much quieter and sleepier. However, a walking tour assured us that either location would have been good. We selected this specific hotel for its proximity to shops and restaurants. The hotel has only 5 designated, free parking spots. There is paid parking closeby (see map attached,) but you must pay in 2 hour increments from 8am-8pm. Long stay, free parking is located 5-10 min walk from the hotel.
We stayed off-season. The two restaurants and bar were closed for renovation so we cannot review them; however, they looked pleasant. Breakfast was serve-yourself buffet style from 8-10am in a bright, front terrace room. The was a reasonable selection: cold meats, cheeses, yogurt, breads, cereals, pancakes, sausage, and boiled, scrambled & fried eggs . Cold foods were tired and not often replinished, and the "hot" foods were cold by the time we went to eat them at 9:30. Clearing of tables was haphazard,
We selected a slightly larger room (205) which was on the front corner of the building and had views of the main square and mountains surrounding. As it was winter, the windows were closed and sound insulation was excellent given we looked onto the main road. The bathroom and shower were quite small, and hot water took a long time to get to the shower and sink. The hotel had "an older odor" when you first walked into rooms, but was generally clean, well-maintained, and not offensive over the course of the stay.
The bus stop and taxi stops are conveniently directly in front of the hotel. You also get a discount voucher to ride the local (green) bus. The blue and white bus to Ebisee (Zugspitze) is a nominal 8.30 euro to the base of the cable car. It's 43 euro to ride to the top. The is the same cost as taking the train from town (which also goes to the top.)
I would be happy to stay here again, but would probably try another hotel for variety.

Room Tip: We selected a slightly larger room (205) which was on the front corner of the building and had views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vballfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great location. Great staff. Comfortable rooms. Beautiful building. If you're looking for a Hilton, this isn't your place but it's supposedly the oldest building in Garmisch and has a ton of character but has been very well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.1 mi away
Atlas Grand Hotel
Atlas Grand Hotel
#26 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
ATLAS Sporthotel
ATLAS Sporthotel
#39 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality ...
#30 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Posthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Posthotel

Property: Atlas Posthotel
Address: Marienplatz 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Clausing's Posthotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlas Posthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Atlas Posthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Posthotel Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Atlas Posthotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing