We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlas Posthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlas Posthotel
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had two of the two-person apartments in the pink house over christmas 2012. The check-in was very fast, and good directions were given to get from the main hotel to the apartments - two short blocks, less than 2 minutes walk away. The apartments were comfortable, with big bathrooms, and enough towels, soap, shampoo etc. The crockery and cutlery were a bit limited (only 1 wine glass and 2 teaspoons between the two apartments) and the mattress in apartment 7 is a bit thin. Although there are no personnel on full-time duty at the apartment house, the apartment doors are very solid with adequate locking mechanisms, so that we never felt unsafe.

The hotel breakfasts are very good, and the free wi-fi works well. The hotel staff were very friendly and competent (including the cleaning staff). The location is very central with easy access to restuarants, shops, and even to a walk in the mountains.

All-in-all I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeVictorMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    76
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
55
66
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days during Christmas, the staff were friendly and their english was very good considering we spoke little German. the rooms were warm and clean, breakfast was good so was the restaurant. Everything was reasonably priced. There is internet at the hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is right in the middle of town, we stayed in the 2nd story at the end it had a spar bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanetteaussie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Atlas Posthotel for three nights. The location is perfect -- within walking distance of everything we wanted to see (and on the city bus line) but in a quiet part of town. The hotel is a wonderful historic hotel. We had a lovely room on the third floor with a balcony and spectacular view. The room was clean and spacious, the bed comfortable and the bathroom large by European standards. We wished we had brought our dog as there was a dog bed and water/food bowls in the room. He would have loved Garmisch-Partenkirchen! The room price included a full breakfast (European fare with some American dishes), freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. The hotel has a nice sauna and relaxation area. There is a lovely outside pool (closed in the winter). The hotel offers free wifi, but it was a bit spotty during the evening. The staff was very friendly and spoke multiple languages. Even though we left the room late in the morning, the housekeeping staff cleaned the room. There is no on-site parking. An underground garage is less than a block away, but we had to renew the parking ticket each day. It was a bit inconvenient, but I appreciated having our car in a garage when it snowed. The hotel is a great value. We definitely will stay at the Atlas Posthotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor on the back of the hotel for a wonderful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had two nights here - booking had been easy and the only problem we had really was the parking situation at the hotel. When they gave us directions, they didn't mention that they only have 4/5 parking spaces - cue massive stress when we arrived. in the end, we parked in the pay car park opposite which wasn't expensive but we did do a lot of driving around trying to find the free spots that they suggested - not that close for dragging two suitcases!
One of the receptionists was not overly friendly but the other one made up for it - however, it was the only hotel that we stayed in in Bavaria where I didn't feel instantly welcome.
The location is very central and made it easy for walking round the town. The room was comfortable but try and get a front facing room! My husband found his feet touched the wall at the end of the bed, so wasn't that comfortable, but I was fine!! Breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holls2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice central location making it easy to explore the town on foot. We were given an apartment in a building one block away in a fairly residential area so it was quiet w/o any street noise. There was a raging stream one block away that could be heard at night when all was quiet. We brought our dogs so this was perfect. The apartment was fair as far as decor and lacked charm that one would expect of the area. It did include a washing machine and kitchenette. The beds were comfortable but with synthetic pillows and comforters.....a disappointment as we have grown fond of the down pillows and comforters we are usually greeted with in Germany. The breakfast was filled with a more than adequate amount of choices for both the American (scrambled eggs) and European traveler. We ate lunch at their Resturant twice and were pleased both times. The staff were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo_and_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The value for the location of this hotel is great. You are just a few minutes away from the action and downtown. The rooms are a bit dated but the hotel is very clean.
It only has one leisure facility (sauna) which fits 3-4 people. Since the weather was amazing and we weren't in Garmisch for a spa-relaxation weekend, we did not mind.
Breakfast buffet is hearty and plentiful. We love the assortment of fresh fruit, muesli, cold cuts, cheeses, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_lv_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.1 mi away
Atlas Grand Hotel
Atlas Grand Hotel
#26 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.4 mi away
ATLAS Sporthotel
ATLAS Sporthotel
#39 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Posthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Posthotel

Property: Atlas Posthotel
Address: Marienplatz 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Clausing's Posthotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlas Posthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlas Posthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Posthotel Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Atlas Posthotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing