We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, family run hotel - Great stay!”
Review of Hotel Hilleprandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hilleprandt
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, family run hotel - Great stay!”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks on a half board basis and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area within 5 mins walking to Garmisch centre, the Eisstadium, railway station and Hausberg cable car. Easy to find and no problem with parking. The room we had was exceptionally clean, light and airy with a huge balcony.There was lots of hot water and plenty of heating. By European standards it was a large room with a wonderful view of the mountains. Klaus and Christine Hillepandt were excellent hosts and very friendly. Our evening meals were cooked by our hosts and were excellent - This is NOT a restaurant, so if you stay half board, the meals are cooked just for you, all homemade - we enjoyed fresh asparagus and fresh locally caught trout. Breakfast was good with a friendly greeting from our hosts and Snolli their black retriever. This is a small hotel that delivers a personal touch. There is wi fi access at 7 euros for 48hrs and like most small hotels in Germany there are no in room tea and coffee making facilities - We take our own. Would I stay here again or recommend it to a friend? - Definitely. If you want something local, quiet, typically German, with wonderful walks and good access to local facilities at a reasonable price this is a great hotel. Good places to visit out of skiing season: Fussen - lovely medieval town. Innsbruck is an hours drive away and the old town is wonderful and the olympic ski jump is open all year to visitors. The Zugspitz is accessible all year by train or cable car. Oberammergau is 12 miles away and the King Ludwig castles of Lindau and Neuschwanstein are easily accessible by car from Garmisch. Our thanks to our hosts Christine and Klaus for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinBar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
43
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We rolled into Hotel Hilleprandt last week at nighttime, and relied on Frommer's to tell us it was an average/moderate hotel. We knew that we were not spending a lot of money on the room. The room was good. We asked for a balcony and got one, which was great! The shower had endless hot water, which was helpful since it snowed and rained the whole time we were there. I thought that the owner gentleman was very helpful and nice. Warning--this is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel. If you don't like bed and breakfasts, then you will not like this place. The free breakfast was great, and we generally enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopher_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

More of a guesthaus than a hotel, this comfortable lodging is located on a quiet residential street in central Garmisch and is family-run with its no nonsense proprietor, Herr “I am senior, too, why would I give you a discount”. That unfriendly answer to our enquiry whether they offered senior discounts was the only off-note in an otherwise pleasant stay. The no nonsense Herr Senior gave matters his personal attention and was obviously earnest in doing his utmost to run a proper establishment while giving his best to deliver in service and hospitality. The more we spoke with him, the more we warmed up to him.
The family run nature is evident from the framed portraits of his mother and grandmother which supervise the stair leading to the second floor rooms (there is no elevator). Hotel amenities include a “health center” with free sauna, whirlpool bath (10 euro for 30 minutes), massage (35 euro for 40 minutes). A laundry service with a 48 hour turnaround is also offered.

Rates run 60 euro per person, single, or triple (children under 6 are free), and 42 or 49 euro per person double. Breakfast is included. Half board is also available at 18 euro per person, cooked by the owner.
Our room was a suite (Room/Zimmer #4) and, as you can see from the attached photos, quite spacious, clean and well appointed. All rooms have radio, satellite cable tube television, safe, direct dial television, and hairdryers. The beds were comfortable but the mattresses were not soft but also not particularly firm. The bathrooms were clean and well supplied with toiletries and towels. There was an in-room fridge (the smallest I have seen) set forelornly on the floor in a corner. Access to the room is by key and the entrance to our room featured a double interior door which ensured the utmost in in-room privacy, security and quiet. We had a private second floor balcony and a secure modern balcony door.
Breakfast is offered in a clean and quiet carpeted dining room, buffet style with juice (orange), coffee, tea, hot and cold milk, choice of cereals, cheeses, yogurt in plastic single serving tubs, cold meats, and assorted breads. The selection is relatively good and hearty, and the food was fresh.
The location is central to the conjoined town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, within walking distance of the Ice-Stadium, and Alpspitz Pool, with the train station and the centre of Garmisch (old), Garmisch (new) and the newer commercial district of Partenkirchen all only a bit further perhaps a 10-20 minute walk.
So in the end, this well located authentic personal service family run hotel with its generous rooms, tasteful décor, and reasonably good breakfast should have made a really good impression. Maybe it was that off-putting opening remark, or maybe Herr Senior was just not my type of hotelier, or maybe it is the price for value equation, but something left me less than satisfied. The rooms themselves definitely rate as superior for a guesthaus and more comfortably homey than one would find in a hotel.
I like authentic and I like local, and I want to like this place more, but I can’t. For that reason, I’m suggesting you might also check out some other hotel reviews including my review for the slightly pricier Quality Inn, and Hotel Alpina (if you want a hotel), or slightly cheaper Haus Lilly (if you want a less upscale guesthaus), to get a feel for the alternatives before you decide if this is the place for you. You certainly could do worse than staying at this very clean, quiet, wonderfully located, hospitable and homey inn/guesthaus.
If you find this review helpful (or not), I always appreciate your feedback with a quick click of that yes/no button.
P.S. I always read the other posted reviews after writing mine. I can identify with what everyone else is saying. My conclusion is the owners are both rude and charming! They really care about their hotel and are very very proud of it. They work hard to keep it comfortable and want their guests to appreciate what they have and to treat the place with the same care the owners give it. They want you to like it there (which isn’t a bad base to be working from if you are a hotelier).

  • Liked — The Rooms and the quiet residential location (and Herr Hotelier - who can be quite charming - once you get to know him)
  • Disliked — Herr Hotelier - who can also be quite direct and abrupt, the price which is just a little on the high side of where it should be; priced like a hotel it is more of a guesthaus; a lower price and this would be a great deal
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york coty
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2007

The hotel was centrally located near the center of town. You can walk to the Zugspitz Bahn as well as the town swimming pool and Olympic Ice skating arena. Rooms were very clean and view of Alps was spectacular. During evenings you can spend time on your private balcony or in the garden area. In the mornings breakfast was served in the dinning hall or weather permitting in the garden. The owner Mr. Hilleprandt was a charming host and was willing to offer us suggestions on the many sites to visit in Garmisch. One could eat dinner at the hotel provided you let them know in the morning. It always smelled delicious, though we never had the opportunity to “eat in”.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank alexniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2007

This is the third year we have stayed at this hotel. The atmosphere was warm, friendly and charming with a personal touch by the owner, Christiane. She is fluent in English and was able to share excellent tips with us on various excursions. Breakfast was included and was both European and American. The coffee was excellent and they always had a good selection of cereals.

The location is excellent as it is very close to the center of town which is important because the parking is limited.

There was a small refrigerator in our room with various soft drinks. We were also provided with our request of non-smoking. After a day of biking, hiking, etc. we would sit on our balcony sipping a glass of wine looking over the magnificent panaroma of the Alps. The nights were very quiet with only the sound of the birds. Our room was very clean, homey and comfortable.

Our tip is to rent bikes and discover the immediate and surrounding areas. It is not strenuous and the scenery is awe-inspiring.

  • Liked — Location and the cleaniliness of the room
  • Disliked — Did not have a pool.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica777toro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

Expensive for what it offers. Female owner unfriendly, brusque and at times quite rude - as if we were doing her a favour. Everything has to be done her way. There is no flexibility. Rooms okay, but everyone we spoke to was staying there because all the other hotels of the same calibre were full! Half-board is expensive with no choice at all. Breakfast was alright. You could eat out for less and far better and choose what you fancy. If you were vegetarian, they just took the meat away and gave you perhaps a steamed tomatoe as extra. No special vegetarian meals at all. Awful atmosphere in hotel as everyone too scared to open their mouths! Close to centre. Clean. Sauna was fine. If you have to stay there, do so on b&b terms, but I'm sure you'd do better in a smaller b&b for less money and at least feel welcome or splash out on one of the many other hotels in the town. I'd avoid it at all costs.

  • Liked — Good central heating - never cold.
  • Disliked — Dreadful TV. Sound was locked deliberately low. Few channels. No Internet.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2004

The hotel looks good from pictures but wording on internet is very overrated! It is almost false advertising.. on arrival at the hotel.. dealt with unpleasant employee.. no elevator.. had to go to third floor room with all the suitcases.. bathroom has slanted ceiling so if you were over 5 feet 5 you could not stand near toilet or bath.. had to crouch down.. the "spa" area was depressing.. the owner saw struggling with bringing down suitcases upon departure and stated" be careful you will ruin the carpet"..

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
#24 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garmischer Hof
Hotel Garmischer Hof
#19 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trifthof
Hotel Trifthof
#8 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roter Hahn
Hotel Roter Hahn
#28 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#10 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilleprandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilleprandt

Property: Hotel Hilleprandt
Address: Riffelstr. 17, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilleprandt 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hilleprandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilleprandt Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing