We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm and professionalism” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Old world charm and professionalism”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

For the second summer in a row we've stayed at a family-run hotel in the Alps and on both occasions we've been impressed by the quality of service. The Partenkirchner Hof also stands out thanks to its restaurant, which serves some of the best food I've eaten in a hotel. Not the best for vegetarians, the meat dishes were mouth-watering. And although we didn't eat there every night, we could easily have done so and there aren't many hotels we've stayed in where we could say that.

The hotel - which oozes character thanks in part to a wealth of traditional features and antiques - is just a few minutes walk from the train station and sits on an unpromising road almost mid-way between the main centres of Garmisch and Partenkirchen. So it's not perfect if you want to be right in the heart of one of the two towns. Otherwise it's a 10-minute walk in either direction. Our room was large and comfortable and on the ground floor with a door onto the garden and sun loungers. Bizarrely we had to go up a flight of stairs and down another to get there. The maids did an excellent job during our stay. Breakfast was good quality and typically continental but fans of traditional English breakfasts are likely to be disappointed. Service in the bar was efficient.

The hotel is a great base for mountain walks and excursions further afield by bus or train, including to King Ludwig's incredibly pretty Lindherfof Palace. We also recommend a trip up the Zugspitze by train and a walk up the extraordinary Partnachalm gorge. The hotel has a spa (with steam room, sauna, pool etc) but be careful on the stairs to avoid the nasty fall one of us had.

Garmisch and Partenkirchen are large and often attractive towns but they seem to die at night, at least they did in the week we were there. Finding bars open into the evening (or at least ones with people in them) proved fruitless. Hopefully it's busier come ski season or maybe we were looking in the wrong places.

Our only criticism of the hotel? Perhaps the staff could be a little less stiff, a little more friendly and approachable because while supremely professional is welcome, sometimes a smile and a bit of warmth is welcome too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F4monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    95
    28
    21
    8
See reviews for
68
142
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
littleidiotmoby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Garmisch-Partenkirchen ( or Garnish-Partyturkey as we know it) - what a place! And what a perfect place to spend it in. Having a relaxing drink in the the jacuzzi looking out at the Alps...who could ask for more? Gorgeous hotel and fantastic service which continues even after you've left the hotel... Gay friendly.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleidiotmoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germnay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed here three nights with the wife, kids, and Grandma (in a separate room). Got one of the larger rooms with a nice balcony with great views of the Zugspitze. Had to pay for parking, but it was worth the extra Euros. Rooms were clean, typically charming for a “lodge” hotel. Grandma’s single room was small but comfy, and had a balcony (watch out for the locals across the street, they tend to not close the blinds when the bathe ;] ). Dinner was a fancier affair than we’re used too; I tried the eel ‘cause I’ve never had eel. It won’t ever be my favorite, but overall we liked eating there. Breakfast on the other hand was an excellent buffet, with plenty to choose from. LOVED the coffee. The pool and sauna facilities were unexpectedly nice, but I wouldn’t call their gym anything other than a large closet. The place was a great base for our trips to Neuschwanstein and the Zugspitze, and me and Grandma spent a couple of nights just relaxing in front of the hotel with a few Dunkels. Grandpa comes over in a few weeks for Octorberfest; I’ll definitely be booking accommodations here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Psycher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Superb hotel, with charming and attentive staff and delicious food. Will definitely be returning. Fabulous area. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed here for two nights as part of a trip to Germany & Austria. We had an excellent start to our holiday here before visiting family over the border in Austria.

We were really impressed by the hotel. We booked through 1800hotels.com and I think we got a pretty good rate, about 20% than that quoted by Tripadvisor. We also received an upgarde to a junior suite which opened directly into the garden - just a pity the weather was a bit damp.

You can tell that this is a traditional hands-on family business. Everyone we dealy with was friendly and helpful. We ate in both nights and found the quality / price balance in the less formal brasserie to be to our liking.

All in all a great break and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ask_a_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Traveling with 3 teenagers can pose a problem finding accomodations, especially in Europe. This was an ideal resort. My husband and I had a suite which connected to a larger suite that the 3 teens shared. Both had outdoor patio areas that opened up into a central yard area. The resort was lovely-had a nice breakfast included. The new pool and spa amenities were gorgeous. Location was about a 10 minute walk to the center of the main shopping area, but it was near the bus/train station. This was a true find and made our stay relaxing for all of us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeellen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We had booked a double room in the main building, but were upgraded to a junior suite in the house "Alpspitz" (room 72). The hotel was not very busy when we stayed, so I think we just got lucky. The room was very comfortable. It had a sitting area with a small couch and table, and a desk. The bedroom had a large wardrobe closet, a small flat-screen tv, two nightstands, and a double bed. The bathroom was large, but my only complaint was a motion-sensor light that came on in the middle of the night every time you walked into the bathroom. Couldn't find a way to turn it off. There was a mini-bar in the room, with really reasonable prices. The pool/spa area is really nice and relaxing. There is also a small garden area. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, but the breakfast buffet was really good. There was also a small menu from which you could choose hot items for breakfast (eggs, porridge, etc.). We did have drinks in the bar one night. The bartender was friendly, and recommended some things to do in town. The parking garage is very small, so be sure to reserve a space when you reserve your room. Staff was very friendly. It is a very short walk into the main town area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.0 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof

Property: Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Address: Bahnhofstr. 15, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#4 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#6 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reindl’s Partenkirchner Hof Is not only a traditional First Class Hotel in the heart of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, but represents a heart-warming, friendly and familiar atmosphere with personal charm. Most of the comfortable rooms, junior suites, and suites are situated in the quite garden area and all have a wonderful mountain view. Next to the garden is the modern Wellness Area with saunas, steam bath, cave showers, gym room, solarium, swimming pool and a hot-tub for hours of relaxation. For those with a taste for World Class food, Reindl’s Restaurant is the first choice in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Here, one can enjoy the finest of Bavarian specialties, as well as a light Cuisine from the Head Chef Marianne Holzinger. One will find traditional dishes paired with a rustic elegance in Reindl’s Restaurant. The “Brasserie” has it’s own menu with attractive deals for the small and large appetites. The Hotel Bar “Enoteca” serves a great mix of cocktails, fine wine, freshly tapped beer and great appetizers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reindl`s Partenkirchner Hof Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Reindls Partenkirchner Hof Hotel
Reindls Partenkirchner Hof Garmisch Partenkirchen
Partenkirchner Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing