We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place, Wonderful People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place, Wonderful People”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you googled "ideal Bavarian gasthof," the Fraundorfer is what should pop up. From the welcoming dining room (it's really more than that, sort of a community meeting place) with its mounted heads, vast photo collections, tschotskes galore, to the snug and comfortable (and quiet) rooms with their million-Euro mountain views, it's easy to understand why this is one of the most recommended places to stay in GaP. Yes, the food is great, both breakfast and dinner, and the beer and wine is plentiful, the entertainment charming and the location (with parking) ideal. But what made it special to us was Barbara Fraundorfer, her family and her staff. They were unfailingly helpful and pleasant without forced jollity. My sense is that nothing they do is done because "it's good for business," though it is, but because that's the way the believe it should be done, right down to the homemade preserves at breakfast and the venison at dinner. Barbara also steered us to an old and little-visited church that became a highlight of our visit. We also developed a fondness for the don't-miss-it beer liqueur. As to WiFi, unless I've gone round the final bend, a real possibility, I admit, we had it and it was free.

The true test about places we've stayed is not would we go back but do we look forward fondly to going back. In the case of the Gasthof Fraundorfer, we would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheMcCormacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    97
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
61
114
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Modest, but very clean rooms, average price, but by far the best Jagerschnitzel that I have ever tasted! No free wi-fi, but a hearty Bavarian breakfast every morning and just enough off the beaten path, but not too far, to make it a very true Bavarian experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the little man hanging from the window. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDCPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I loved this hotel. I was traveling alone and the chaming owner of the Gasthof Elisabeth made sure none of the solo travelers sat alone for the Dinner and fine entertainment of German Mountain Music. It was GEMUETLICH and lots of fun. The food was wonderful,the room was perfect with Balcony spilling over with flowers. The service was outstanding in all ways. The price was good. I will be going back. Also went to the Alpix near the Alpspitze. Very exciting.

Room Tip: Room 45 ...2 large beds and a sofa bed. Bathroom, lots os storage space. Sitting area, Balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liskarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is located on a gorgeous cobblestoned street that looks like it's in a movie about a small Bavarian village in the 1800s. We booked our room through another website, and the hotel had lost our reservation for some reason. But after showing them my confirmation email from the website, they honored my reservation and made everything right. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful, even going above and beyond by suggesting sites to see throughout Bavaria and giving me directions to a shop outside of town for affordable lederhosen since I was preparing to attend Oktoberfest later in the week.

The downstairs restaurant was not too loud for us as others have suggested. The room had a traditional Bavarian style with a nice rustic feel. There was free parking located in the back that came in extremely handy for us since we were driving. You will not be disappointed by the breakfast either!

I would highly recommend this location to anyone visiting Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Recently I was co-leader of a group of 26 to spend a week at the hotel. The hotel was perfect for our group. We are a hiking group, and appreciate a good value and location. There are a variety of different rooms, and with a group our size, we experienced many different room types. There are 2 bedroom apartments, 4 bedroom apartments, and single rooms. All have a bathroom. Some are best for couples and we had 2 couples on the trip. My 2 bedroom apartment was excellent with 2 bedrooms, a refrigerator, and a bathroom. Room service was great, and quite impressive for such a reasonably priced hotel. Breakfast buffet was really nice, lots of fresh fruit, bread, cheese, meats, eggs, and juice. The sisters who run the hotel were great hostesses. Location is awesome, right on the Ludwigstrasse, a historic, cobbled street in beautiful Partenkirchen. It is a nice walk or short bus ride to Garmisch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryMil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I found this hotel lovely and ambiance great. And the staff were wonderful. Barbara is such a warm person and she addressed any needs/requests we had. They welcomed us with a lovely hot after dinner drink the first night we were there after we had a wonderful meal, all 26 or so of us accommodated as one group. Food in restaurant was great and the place was packed nightly. The bed was very comfortable and I had no problem sleeping, albeit the room that I shared with a friend was pretty small, but we managed. The place was clean. We always had very hot water available to shower any time, day or night. Only thing I can knock them on was the fact that our towels were replenished once during our one week stay. There were four of us to one apartment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the main road and above the restaurant - lots of singing into the night. Best rooms p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura30226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We love the Gashof Fraundorfer. Every review you read here is true. Barbara Sr, with her Gemutlichkeit, keeps this place running like a well-oiled machine and works harder than any five women I know. Barbara Jr is now the owner/manager and warmly carries on this amazing family tradition. The location on Ludwigstrasse, the beautiful church bells, delicious Bavarian food, huge breakfast buffet, hospitality, free parking, affordable prices, breathtaking views from the balconies, clean bathrooms, and entertainment all make this a wonderful vacation location. The sheets can be scratchy, and if you walk through the smoking alley you will see/and smell the back side of a hard-working restaurant, staff members who sign you in can be snippy, and you can hear the sounds of the children riding scooters to school, and beer men collecting empty kegs
from some rooms. We travel a lot and can afford fancy American style hotels, but we keep
coming back to the Fraundorfer because this is the real deal. Fantastic people from all over the world stay here. Our grown children also consider this their favorite place to stay in all of Europe.

Room Tip: Building in rear for quiet sleeping. Beautiful Bavarian rooms at the front offer small balconies wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZBZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
312 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Fraundorfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Fraundorfer

Property: Gasthof Fraundorfer
Address: Ludwigstr. 24, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Fraundorfer 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gasthof Fraundorfer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Fraundorfer Garmisch Partenkirchen
Gasthof Fraundorfer Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing