We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room To Improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Room To Improve”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been to Fraundorfer a couple of times over the last 20 years. The food is great, live music is ok to good depending on the night, but I found the staff to be lacking personality. This isn't Northern Germany, it's Bavaria and I expected more of a family run atmosphere. I found the rooms clean and pleasant, the TV was from 1970 and was about 6 inches with very poor signal. Not important when the weather is nice, but with 3 days of heavy rain it does get used.

If only the staff showed some personality and not be so cold and distant this would have been rated a 4.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Looking4Sunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    95
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
60
112
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Gasthof Fraundorfer in Garmisch-Partenkirchen is a superb place to stay plus a topnotch place to get a traditional bavarian meal. The gasthof is decorated in a bavarian style with a wide array of full course bavarian meals in additon to providing traditional bavarian music and dance at dinner time. My room was superbly decorated with a queen size bed and a bathroom that was clean and modern. The view from my room was of the surrounding mountains and it could not be beat as to beauty as I sat on my balcony. Breakfast was also excellent, with home made breads and jams, freshly sliced fruit, cheeses and meats and eggs could be had on order too. To top it off, from check-in to check-out, the staff was most helpful and friendly. The Gasthoff Fraundorfer is best place to stay in the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area hands down!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel combines excellent location in Partenkirchen with typical bavarian style decoration, bavarian meals and bavarian music and dance at night (at least when we stayed there). Our room had furnitures painted bavarian style, bathroom was clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent (with home made marmelades). If you look for a typical bavarian place this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Romantic 3-bed room under the roof with a look on the Ludwigstrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 537anna537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We didn't stay the night here, but stopped in for dinner on the recommendation of our hotel manager. We had such a great time. The food was delicious, and the beer schnapps after the meal was fantastic. We bought a few bottles to give as gifts. During dinner there was an accordion player who was a lot of fun. There are also boys dressed in traditional Bavarian costume who came out during dinner to dance. The staff was friendly, and the other customers there all seemed to be having a great time. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoOr_man73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had higher hopes for this hotel to be honest. We visited last week, during more of an off peak time and it was pretty quiet. We had a top floor balcony view which was nice to look out and see the Zugspitz and the street below. I imagine in the summer the streets are bustling and that would be a great location.
We weren't sure we were in the right place when we first walked in to a mostly dark restaurant where the reception is. We were greeted fine and told our room was upstairs. We don't have a problem with a few flights of stairs, but the hallways were kind of dark and depressing. Maybe this was just the time of year we were there, but it didn't project a warm feeling we'd had in other hotels in Germany.
I do appreciate the family history to this hotel. I also liked how easy parking was and the location was good. In all, we weren't expecting GaPa to be so big so we were glad we had kept our rental car another day.
Our room was nice, with a nice wood frame like a chalet and the bathroom was good sized. Noise levels weren't a problem given the time of year and the hotel was largely empty we thought.
As we drove around we saw many other places to stay and we'd likely check out some other hotels rather than stay here again. Many good restaurants & shopping in town!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I did not believe this hostel will leave us with such a bitter taste. We arrived around 4:30pm. We had a reservation for 2 days. We got a clean room, however on the hallway we could still see bags with dirty bed sheets, dirty glasses and garbage. The temperature in the room did not exceed 18 degrees. The outside temperature that day was around -5C, and during the night it dropped to -10C. The heating was done through the floor. We requested a heater, which we got. The windows did not close well, so in the morning I had a terrible headche and pain the ears. This time of the year, in Germany there is a carnival. So we were asked at the reception if we want to pay cash or by credit card. We preferred to pay cash. When we said that, we were asked to pay upfront, especially that we had opted to have opted also for the breakfast, access to the sauna and bath ropes. Sauna is charged separately and it costs 15EUR/2 people. For a 3rd person it costs 5 more EUR. We paid 200EUR for board and 15 EUR for sauna, without receiving any proof of payment/bill. The following day at 9am we had breakfast, though at the same time with sevaral of us having breakfast, they were cleaning the floor, passing the broom, etc. The breakfast consisted merely of salami, cheese, butter, jam, cereals, yoghourt, tea and coffee. Around 9:30 we received a phone call and we had to return urgently to Munchen. We went see the owner of the hostel and see how we can be reimbursed for the advance payment of the following night. The reaction of the owner was: ‘Have you already paid? I have no record of this and I cannot pay you back at this time (i.e. 10:00am) because I can no longer have other clients in this room for the day at this point.’ We were stunned. When we mentioned that it is clearly stated in the reservation that check in time is after 1pm and check out time is before 11am (so one hour later), we received back 14EUR for the breakfast and city tax for 2 respectively. So much of the German fairness we all expect. Too bad of the nice area, the landscape and all the good things Germany has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pesticu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My fiance and I enjoyed a splendid Valentine's at the Gasthof Fraundorfer and would recommend to anyone! While finding where to check-in in the middle of the busy restaurant was a bit awkward, we were received with gracious hospitality and shown to a wonderfully modern room decorated with Olympic themes and a fantastic view of the mountains! The best part though was the restaurant with fantastic food, music and atmosphere and friendly service for locals and tourists alike. Right on the main street of old Partenkirchen, everything was in walked distance and the stay included discounts to public transportation and the ski trains. The only challenge we had was finding parking because theirs was full, so we parked in a garage a short 5 minute away at an incredibly reasonably price! For a cozy stay and great food, its one our favs!

Room Tip: Bobsled room had a fantastic porch and view of the mountain, but may be slightly a challenge for tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
#10 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#12 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Fraundorfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Fraundorfer

Property: Gasthof Fraundorfer
Address: Ludwigstr. 24, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Fraundorfer 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Gasthof Fraundorfer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Fraundorfer Garmisch Partenkirchen
Gasthof Fraundorfer Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing