We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, by lake and forests. Great for getting away from things.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riessersee Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riessersee Hotel Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
425 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, by lake and forests. Great for getting away from things.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Spent a nice few days at this hotel. For this review I have decided to correct various incorrect statements in other peoples reviews:

Breakfast: excellent with a choice of normal and large sized cereal bowls.

VAT Refund: only applies to the 7% on accommodation. Food and spa services are excluded by the rules of the scheme.

Towels: large towels provided in room for swimming / sauna with additional hand towels available in the spa.

I enjoyed the walk to / from town and whilst I would only want to do it once a day it was not too far or too hard a climb back.

Found evening food in the Seehaus restaurant better than in the hotel.

Swimming pool: just the right temperature for swimming and a constant depth.

Old squash court has been converted into a fitness room, but never saw anyone using it.

The water in the hotel is “Grander-Wasser” – not recycled water!

Sauna was open to 10pm and is separated from the swimming pool area.

Deluxe room was not worth paying extra for.

Paying: credit card machine gives option of paying in currency that card was issued in, or euros – the choice is yours.

Only negative (may be) was the waterfall just outside room – I kept waking thinking it was pouring with rain!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    94
    68
    39
    31
See reviews for
102
136
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotuit, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The wife and I stayed here in early May for 3 nights and loved the hotel. The hotel was clean and quiet (we were there during shoulder season, between winter/ski and summer season, so that may have had something to do with it), and the staff friendly and for the most part spoke English. We had a room with a queen sized bed in it and found the bed to be quite comfortable. The room itself was a bit small for what Americans are use to, but comfortable nonetheless. The bathrooms were clean, good sized and had plenty of towels, soaps and shampoos. The rooms all have beautiful views; we had a fabulous view of Garmisch and the valley below. Outside of breakfast we didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on lunch and dinner, but the breakfast buffet was good and had a good selection of both hot and cold foods to choose from. As previous posters have already said, this hotel is not in Garmisch proper, but up on the side of the mountain, so having a car is the preferred method of getting into town. You can certainly walk into town, which is probably a 30 -45 minute walk, but the trip back up is going to be tough for those not in shape. All in all we had a fabulous time and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodTenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostkamp Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed over there with three people in one bedroom, very helpful desk en personnal, always friendly and helpful, I needed internet access, normally should have to pay but when I left, there were NO extra charges and if I mentioned they did forget , they said well if nothing was charged nothing had to be paid! Breakfast buffet is delicious, good variation of all possible choices! It's on of the best locations I've ever been in Germany, every day there are several to the weather condition adapted trip suggestions in the breakfast room on your table, this is for me a hotel to recommend to everybody

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermanBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Pros: pleasant, helpful staff; lovely grounds (trout pond, hiking trails), very quite/peaceful, very nice breakfast buffet included in the rate.
Cons: no wi-fi in the rooms, wi-fi in the common lobby but it costs $20/day; the hotels a bit of a trek from town-- definitely walkable, but it'll take you b/w 30-45mins each way, I was charged in USD v. Euro.

The rooms themselves were typical tourist class-- nothing to rave about, but no complaints. Bathrooms were a bit bigger than normal EU standards-- stand-up showers but no tub. Breakfast was very nice and more substantial than alot of Continental type breakfasts. I also ate dinner at the outdoor restaurant (you've a choice of about 3 restaurants on the property) and found the food and service good. Pricing was higher than out in town, but not outrageous.

Re: being charged in USD, I prefer to pay in the hotel's local currency (in this case, euro) b/c typically hotel's don't offer a very competitive exchange rates. Riessersee, without asking, charged me in USD. When I asked if they could please charge me in euro instead, they told me it was "not possible b/c my credit card's issuing bank was American." That's complete rubbish. I've stayed all over Europe, Asia, and Africa and I promise, you can charge euro/etc to my cc. Having to catch a flight out of Munich, I wasn't in the mood to argue the point, so I let it go, but this was disappointing/annoying to me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
777 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

This place is located a little bit outside the resort and there is no public transportation available but if you go by car they have a garage under it, very convenient and accessible. We have booked a maisonette, which means a two levels studio with bathroom, expandable couch, desk and wardrobe at ground level plus a queen size bed and tv upstairs. If you travel with kids is very convenient. Breakfast was great, good choice of all kinds of food, from light to heavy... Pool was a bit too cold for my taste but accessible from any room, as well as the entire spa. Just the room temperature was a problem, but after keeping it on maximum for a while it becomes comfortable. The only thing to be avoided is the main restaurant for dinner. You can have two choices: either you take the buffet choice at 25 euros per person, which didn't impressed us at al, or you can go for a la carte menu, which is too heavy and inexpressive. But Garmisch has great places...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Loved our stays there, always stay when they are open. Is the best for the $ and the breakfast included is wonderful. The views are breathtaking and the staff excellent. It is by far the best hotel in Garmish area and worth the $. Walk the trails around the hotels or use the pool and spa area its a true paradise. I can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Breakfast left much to be desired. Cereal bowls were saucers that barely held anything, the rooms were small but otherwise, beautiful location. People were friendly

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank utahjazz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
2.1 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riessersee Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riessersee Hotel Resort

Property: Riessersee Hotel Resort
Address: Riess 5, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riessersee Hotel Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in Bavaria In the middle of the Bavarian alps, high above Garmisch-Partenkirchen the Riessersee Hotel Resort welcomes its guests with bright prospects for an unforgetable stay. Next to the main building, at the shores of lake Riessersee, is the Seehaus (lake house) with nine luxury suites and a fantastic panorama terrace. Enjoy culinary delicacies in our restaurants - original Bavarian or international food is offered. The spa area guarantees well-being in every season with its chlorine-free Grander water indoor pool, sauna and steam bath. Relax with the unique view to Alpspitze, Waxensteine and Zugspitze. Riessersee Hotel Resort in Garmisch-Partenkirchen - the perfect place for holidays for the whole family, for your wedding in Bavaria, honeymoon, for meetings or events. Perfect holidays in Bavaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Riessersee Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riessersee Hotel Sport & Spa Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Riessersee Hotel Sport And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing