We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riessersee Hotel Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, nice grounds”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Pros: pleasant, helpful staff; lovely grounds (trout pond, hiking trails), very quite/peaceful, very nice breakfast buffet included in the rate.
Cons: no wi-fi in the rooms, wi-fi in the common lobby but it costs $20/day; the hotels a bit of a trek from town-- definitely walkable, but it'll take you b/w 30-45mins each way, I was charged in USD v. Euro.

The rooms themselves were typical tourist class-- nothing to rave about, but no complaints. Bathrooms were a bit bigger than normal EU standards-- stand-up showers but no tub. Breakfast was very nice and more substantial than alot of Continental type breakfasts. I also ate dinner at the outdoor restaurant (you've a choice of about 3 restaurants on the property) and found the food and service good. Pricing was higher than out in town, but not outrageous.

Re: being charged in USD, I prefer to pay in the hotel's local currency (in this case, euro) b/c typically hotel's don't offer a very competitive exchange rates. Riessersee, without asking, charged me in USD. When I asked if they could please charge me in euro instead, they told me it was "not possible b/c my credit card's issuing bank was American." That's complete rubbish. I've stayed all over Europe, Asia, and Africa and I promise, you can charge euro/etc to my cc. Having to catch a flight out of Munich, I wasn't in the mood to argue the point, so I let it go, but this was disappointing/annoying to me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    105
    77
    40
    38
See reviews for
108
157
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
842 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This place is located a little bit outside the resort and there is no public transportation available but if you go by car they have a garage under it, very convenient and accessible. We have booked a maisonette, which means a two levels studio with bathroom, expandable couch, desk and wardrobe at ground level plus a queen size bed and tv upstairs. If you travel with kids is very convenient. Breakfast was great, good choice of all kinds of food, from light to heavy... Pool was a bit too cold for my taste but accessible from any room, as well as the entire spa. Just the room temperature was a problem, but after keeping it on maximum for a while it becomes comfortable. The only thing to be avoided is the main restaurant for dinner. You can have two choices: either you take the buffet choice at 25 euros per person, which didn't impressed us at al, or you can go for a la carte menu, which is too heavy and inexpressive. But Garmisch has great places...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Loved our stays there, always stay when they are open. Is the best for the $ and the breakfast included is wonderful. The views are breathtaking and the staff excellent. It is by far the best hotel in Garmish area and worth the $. Walk the trails around the hotels or use the pool and spa area its a true paradise. I can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Breakfast left much to be desired. Cereal bowls were saucers that barely held anything, the rooms were small but otherwise, beautiful location. People were friendly

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utahjazz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This resort was beautiful; situated right at the foot of the Alps with an incredible view of the Zugspitze. Room was on smallish side, but luxurious. Food was excellent. Grounds surrounding the resort are situated on a late and gorgeous! Walking paths along the former Olympic bobsledding course!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RoxannP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were looking for a quite hotel in the alps and discovered this great find. This is a nice German hotel including: a restaurant, a large indoor pool and hot tub, sauna and offer massages to order, a smoking lounge with TV, pool table, foosball table, parking garage for winter, etc. It's great that they offer social areas in the hotel, especially during the winter. We went in January and no one was in the pool area or bar area so we had lots of privacy and it was very relaxing. The dinner was not great, but it was ok. There is a much better German restaurant behind the hotel in walking distance, and it's located on a beautiful lake with a walking path around the edge. We would stay here again. http://www.riessersee.com/hotel-garmisch_e.htm

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I loved the old world charm of this hotel, coupled with good leisure facilities. The rooms and restaurants were excellent, but it is far away from anything else, a taxi into town costs 10 euros.
We wnt for a wedding and it was excellent, although we did have a special rate and at first the hotel could not find out reservation. Great for walking and enjoying the mountains

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanmoreblokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riessersee Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riessersee Hotel Resort

Property: Riessersee Hotel Resort
Address: Riess 5, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riessersee Hotel Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in Bavaria In the middle of the Bavarian alps, high above Garmisch-Partenkirchen the Riessersee Hotel Resort welcomes its guests with bright prospects for an unforgetable stay. Next to the main building, at the shores of lake Riessersee, is the Seehaus (lake house) with nine luxury suites and a fantastic panorama terrace. Enjoy culinary delicacies in our restaurants - original Bavarian or international food is offered. The spa area guarantees well-being in every season with its chlorine-free Grander water indoor pool, sauna and steam bath. Relax with the unique view to Alpspitze, Waxensteine and Zugspitze. Riessersee Hotel Resort in Garmisch-Partenkirchen - the perfect place for holidays for the whole family, for your wedding in Bavaria, honeymoon, for meetings or events. Perfect holidays in Bavaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riessersee Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riessersee Hotel Sport And Spa Resort
Riessersee Hotel Sport & Spa Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing