We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bavaria(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Roter Hahn(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garmischer Hof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Edelweiss(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Koenigshof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hofherr(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zugspitze(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
43
42
29
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
42
29
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast staffmade to order eggscomfortable roomtrain stationfront desk staffbathtubbalconytubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 130 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A very nice hotel with wonderful staff. We booked this hotel last minute and were not disappointed. We had a king room with a balcony facing the mountains. The food was very good and the indoor pool was very nice and clean. The staff was extremely attentive and were able to help with every request. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bk173105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

As I write this using the hotel's wifi service (which they were willing to give me 4 logins to) during the afternoon tea service, more on that later.
The hotel is well located close to the train station and not too far from a main bus stop so no problems getting around. It is also on a main road so rooms roadside (such as ours was) can have some road noise, but we had little problem sleeping even with the window open a little bit, since German driving tends to cut back substantially at night. We had the window open because the room was a bit too warm for us for sleeping, even with the radiators shut off. Also the curtains were not totally opaque so there was always some light in the room.
The bath has a hand-held shower head put no divider so some careful use of the spray is needed. The room also had bath robes and slippers in addition to the usual complement of linens.
The bed was a pair of mattresses on a matrimonial frame. They were comfortable and the pillows that were decoratively placed on the bed were a down type so they were very soft (I had to use 2 because I prefer a higher pillow).
The room was comfortable for the two of us.
The hotel has an indoor swimming pool that they keep at a very comfortable temperature but when we first visited it there were some fairly rambunctious children playing in it so it was a bit cramped. We visited it again but this time we went earlier (before 16:00) so we had the pool room to ourselves.
The sauna area tends to have a number of naked men in it so ...
The fruhstuck (or breakfast) is very nice with a small egg menu (scrambled, fried, or omelette) and the rest of the breakfast is a smorgasbord of cheeses, salmon, breads, pastries, yoghurt, muesli, and a selection of juices - one cannot start the day hungry here unless they get up after 10.
The afternoon tea service is quite nice with a good selection of individual and pot sized bagged teas. There usually is a selection of very nice torts and pastries as well.
The dining room is another very nice feature of the hotel. The menu does change daily and is a bit more expensive than some of the other places we've ate but the service is absolutely first class. We were seated in the outer corner table where we couldn't see the wait-station but we had no problems placing our order or being served, despite the fact we were there for little more than some soup and a salad. The potatoe cream soup with shrimps was quite nice with the shrimps being butterflied and on a skewer placed over the soup bowl. The salad was a table set with all the fixings for a complex side salad. We decided to splurge on dessert (we don't do it often) and we got the vanilla ice cream with hot raspberries and a Bavarian cream with blueberries on a fruit sauces, both of them were absolutely wonderful.
When we vist Garmisch again we will certainly stay here.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at this lovely small hotel. Would recommend. Rooms warm and clean. Breakfast excellent with fantastic assortment of bread fruit cheese and juice. They serve lovely afternoon tea with cake each day.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majella500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked a short family ski trip. The hotel is in a great location and within easy walking distance from the shops and restaurants. Also just a short drive to the slopes. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. We were able to purchase our ski passes at reception which saved time. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and food and service was excellent.

Breakfast very good and quick service with cooked option. The best part and a really nice touch was the afternoon tea which was included in the rate. A great selection of cakes which was really good after a day skiing.

We had interconnecting rooms which were very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We (myself, wife and our 10-year old boy) stayed at this hotel for six nights early October 2012 - it was probably the best hotel experience we ever had! Our room was very spacious and had spectacular views of the Alps! But more than the comfort and convenience, it was the very friendly staff, whether at the front desk or at breakfast buffet or the coffee service in the morning, that made our stay one of the most pleasant experiences for us. Like all the people we came across in this beautiful little town, they went out of their way to make us feel most welcome. This is in spite of the fact that we spoke no German at all (almost feel guilty for not even trying).
The room rate also included free wi-fi, which was nice. The shower had only a partial screen, so had to be careful not to flood the bath floor while taking the shower! The bay windows and the little balcony offered really spectacular views! We were a bit surprised not to find a coffee maker in the room, but turned out we just had to call for coffee in the morning, and within minutes someone would be knocking on the door with a warm smile and hot coffee - a great way to start your day!
It has been over a month since our return and we are already longing to go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPfromCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews