We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garmisch-Classic

Garmisch-Classic
Certificate of Excellence
Rodenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband took me to the Garmisch Classic to learn how to ski. Such a memorable experience. Although there were 4yr olds that were whipping around better than me ;-) I cant wait for our next trip! Make sure you dress warm!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AFFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    64
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Stupendous views! Breathtaking vistas! Caught one of three or four cable car lines to ride up the side of the mountains. Luckily chose a beautifully sunny day which weirdly ended up being stinking hot at the top and very cold on our return to the bottom! The cable ride was expensive but very quick, plus the various options to walk either up the mountains or around the tops once there, is a hiker's paradise. There was also an option to descend via para gliding/sailing which on a good day could apparently take half an hour. Would advise an early start as the car parks fill up quickly. The restaurants at the top are rather basic and disorganised. Enjoyed our visit and if we return would enjoy hiking around the top a bit more.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mags and Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenwoehr
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Garmisch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Garmisch is an absolutely beautiful area! It is so beautiful there! We hope to take the horse and carriage tour the next time we visit there :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bttrflypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We got the chairlift up to Alpspitz and waked accross the well walked path, to the other cablecar, we bought a map to check the route, the cloud did come down while we were up there, but once it had cleared we had fantastic views, it was 64 euros for the whole family so much cheaper than the Zugpitze! The carpark at the bottom is free and both cable cars return to the same carpark, so this is a fantasctic walk to complete

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruapehuuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
250 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great place for hiking and enjoying the views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

You need to take your time and enjoy the panorama. Wear good sturdy boots and take enough water with you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garmisch-Classic also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Garmisch-Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing