We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for hiking and enjoying the views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garmisch-Classic

Garmisch-Classic
Certificate of Excellence
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
250 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great place for hiking and enjoying the views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

You need to take your time and enjoy the panorama. Wear good sturdy boots and take enough water with you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    64
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
246 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“a good resort for winter sports.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Probably a good resort for winter sports.
We visited in spring. Unfortunately a cold and rainy day. But I saw a nice town, clean, typical Bavarian. Few tourists during this period.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank adi035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place for hiking in Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We loved hiking around this area. There are plenty of trails, well maintained with good indications. The views are beautiful. There was still a little snow near the top so good boots were a must. You can also get up the mountain with the tram so hiking is not the only way to go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend skiing in Garmisch Classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Only skied one day in Garmisch Classic, as part of a weekend. Enjoyed it !

Garmisch is easy to get to from Munich: the Classic ski area is a little out of town but you can get close to the bottom ski lifts by taking the Zugspitzbahn cog-railway from the main Garmisch-Partenkirchen train station. I think there's a ski bus too.

Reasonably big ski area. We had some lovely (intermediate) skiing right at the top. The run back to the valley (at extreme left-hand end of piste map) was VERY busy at end of day and pretty icy. Not sure whether you'd have enough to do for a whole week. You could take the cog railway to the Zugspitze ski area up the valley (it's higher too, if you're short of snow).

The hot chocolate in the mountain restaurants here is the best we've had.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TiaSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good for skiing for a weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was twice to Garmish Classic to Ski. The first one was in February 2012 and the second one in March 2013.
It is a nice place and the slopes are nice, specially if you like to ski in the middle of trees as I do. It also has the advantage of beeing close to Munich (1h30m by train) so you can combine a visit to Garmisch with a stay in Munich.
If your ski level is good you should try the Kandahar slope (it is a world championship slope) and you aldo have very easy run´s for beginners.
The drawbacks of Garmisch are basically three:
-it is a small resort, good for a weekend of ski, but not for the whole week .In one day you can do all the slopes;
-because it is rather low (700m at the bottom) in February the snow is ok, but in March it becomes wet;
-there is no ski-in ski-out and tou have to take a small train or bus to the slopes (10m from central Garmish).
Nevertheless I intend to go back an ski again next winter.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TudelaMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garmisch-Classic also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Garmisch-Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing