We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast even on Sundays!”
Review of Kronner

Kronner
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious breakfast even on Sundays!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

In a world where Sunday brunch means driving around, desperately searching for anything other than mcdonalds that's open, Kronner Kaffeehaus is an oasis in a food-less desert. So the caffe itself was not crowded at all, we ordered apple strudel and coffee which was Brought to us very quickly and I was even able to send back a ham and egg toast sandwich thing (because I really wanted chicken) with absolutely no hassle. EAT HERE NOW!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpry1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    71
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Time for an afternoon delight!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

After a mid afternoon journey up to the summit of zugspitze we were in need of an afternoon cocktail! Chose the Irish coffee, which was absolutely fantastic! Wish I took a picture, but couldn't wait to stir in the whip cream! Also had to try the chocolate bars. We had the caramel and espresso. Thought the caramel was going to have caramel inside the chocolate, but instead it was the flavor of caramel. Creamy milk chocolate flavor with a hint of caramel...delicious. The espresso had a nice dark chocolate flavor, nice and rich, my favorite of the 2! I would definitely recommend the top terrace of this chocolatier ( entrance is inside and to the back). Today they have construction going on across from us, but there is a great view of the plaza! And beautiful sunshine above us!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoanG986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Afternoon Delight”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It is 4 p.m. in Garmish and time for coffee and a dessert. This is a wonderful German/European custom also enjoyed by visitors. The selection of cakes, pasteries and ice cream is amazing and the dining room is lovely. After a busy afternoon of shopping and sightseeing, it is a delightful place to stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuffySterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Beautifully decorated pastry shop/full restaurant. Crystal chandeliers in the dining room or lovely seating on the patio.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bad service, mediocre cakes and worse coffee”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stopped by on our last day in Garmisch, as we wanted a good German cake and coffee.
We ordered the cakes at the shop, then proceeded to sit down in the restaurant area, as you apparently can't order the coffee there as well, unless to go. So we waited for a couple of minutes to have someone take our (separate?) coffee order. Then we waited for almost 10 minutes for the "hefty work" of cutting three pieces of cake (I guess, or why did we have to wait for them?), and making a cappuccino. So the cakes arrive, my fork's handle is smudgy from the cake from start, and coffee took another 2 minutes. All the time, there were more staff around than customers... Incredible.

Well, my cake with fruits had a kiwi with the hard end left in it, and the coffee was watery and plain, far from anything a proper coffee shop or any other self respecting bakery should serve.

None of us will ever go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Z C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kronner also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Kronner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing