We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastries, disappointing meal”
Review of Kronner

Kronner
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pastries, disappointing meal”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This gets three stars out of me only because we bought some pastries from the Konditorei and they were fabulous. Good-sized, fresh, and delicious.

But then one day, after returning from exploring Neuschwanstein, we decided to have lunch here and sat down at a table. That was a mistake. Dad and I got wurst that were essentially flavorless, served with a soft pretzel that was a little too stiff and tasted like it could have come from a carnival back home in America. The mustard came out in little packets, so that means it wasn't even homemade. The staff didn't seem too pleasant either. If we ever return to Garmisch, we'll be getting cake here, but finding somewhere else to go for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goanywherebuthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    71
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Risca, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Really helpful with the menu that is only available in German”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a light lunch of smoked salmon on a jacket potato with salad dressing - very very nice -wouldn't hesitate to come back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Kaffeehaus, Service Spotty”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Kronner occupies prime location in Garmisch walkplatz. The food and drink are way way above average and well worth a visit. The torte and chocolate are fab as well as the beverages. However, I agree that the service can be spotty. One time is it exceptional and the next odd and sort of not paying attention. This weekend we purchased cups of gelato and took a table on the patio and we had not even bent our legs to sit when a waitress RUSHED up and rattled off a long couple of sentences in German basically letting us know that we had to order a drink as a minimum to sit. Mind you we had the ice cream in our hands that we had JUST purchased from them. Our bewildered looks did nothing for her as she stared at us... I finally managed to muster enough German words to order the three of us drinks. She took so long to bring them we joked about having time to walk off... She chased off a father and his two little ones who'd also purchased ice cream and dared to sit at a patio table. Still I will go back next time I am in town - the pastries and coffee are so good that I will risk the spotty service! :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cogsavingmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food - strange staff!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate here for lunch and really enjoyed jacket potatoes and quark (my husband also had smoked salmon). The restaurant was full and clearly very popular with locals as well as tourists. Our waiter was lovely but some of the other staff particularly in the Konditorei itself were just strange. Not quite rude but very off-hand and uninterested in serving people with no customer service. I would go back though as the food was really very nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cupcakemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Splendid Pastries & Coffee”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

If anyone viewing my photos can remember what this cake was called, man was it good. The morning we spent here was relaxing, sunny and comfortable. Staff could smile a bit more, seem too complacent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDandTata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kronner also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Kronner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing