We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went there and liked it so much that I spent another day there. I found the staff at breakfast bending over backwards to satisfy us. The pool was lovely and the view from the room was incredible. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 185 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

We spent around a week after Xmas. Our purpose was to attend Sky lessons for the kids at the near by slope. They loved the pool, which has an outstanding view of the snowy alps!! We took the half pension, which turned out great. Breakfast was very good, and dinner was great, and very well presented. The kids got excellent food choices, and service at the main dinning room was very friendly and professional. On new years eve parents and baby stayed in the spacious room, and the bigger kids went of to the kids room where they were entertained and fed. They had a blast. We stayed in the room with the baby and were surprised by a bottle of champagne (excellent one) from the manager and staff, who thought it wasn't fair we had to stay grounded while the kids and the rest of the guests were enjoying the party. Staff was very friendly, it was our second time there, and would consider returning.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank Pablo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed 1 week (9/01/12 - 15/01/12) with 3 adults and 2 little (3 years and 6 years) children in this hotel. The hotel was far from fully occupied. The wellness area is really good (swimming pool, sauna, fitness ..). The rooms are big and well equipped and the hotel is clean and tidy.
Breakfast is OK. Lunch and diner options are very limited (choice/menu). The whole week you can choose from the same menu card with approx. 5 main dishes (same for lunch & diner).
The hotel personnel is friendly and you get good value for money. The hotel is a bit further from the ski slopes, but it's only a small trip by car.

Room Tip: All rooms seem OK and similar. Mountain view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed in Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl for a few days over the New Years Eve 2011 with my wife.

First let me make a little disclaimer. I am quite frequent visitor to Garmisch Partenkirchen in summer as well as in winter. I have already stayed in various hotels there and I chose the Sonnenbichl since the availability for the time around the New Years Eve was very limited. Otherwise I would not prefer the glamor (although I should perhaps rather say pompous) style of the hotel. As this makes me a bit biased observer, I will try to leave the glamor part out of the review. If you dream of taking a dark suit with you on a winter skiing trip to put on for dinner, then the Sonnenbichl may very well be your best choice in Ga-Pa.

The location

Not ideal. The hotel is on the north end of Garmisch, quite far from the Garmisch city center so if you want to explore it (which is something you definitely should do) be prepared for a brisk 20 minute walk just to get there. And if you want to visit the old Partenkirchen or the area around the train station where the bars are located, rather take a bus or taxi. The taxi from the train station to the hotel is around 8 EUR, so no big deal.

The rooms

This hotel says it is 4 stars. Well, it is not. There is no fridge and no minibar, no tea/coffee making facilities and no aircon (not that you would normally need one in Alpine climate). Also the bathroom is definitely not 4 star bathroom, plus ours already started appearing a bit dated. Also the pillow could be bigger. I had a standard room with "forest view", in fact it was a corner room in a 3rd floor, with one window to the forest and the other overlooking the city and the panoramatic view (the hotel is little bit up the hill) was indeed nice.

The amenities and staff

This is where 4 stars finally knock in. The hotel has a quite impressive lobby and dining areas, very nice pool with panoramatic views over the mountains, fitness center and massage center plus several conference rooms. We did not dine in the hotel as there are plenty of excellent restaurants in the city of various styles (ranging from the solid old Bayrisch to various international and modern ones) so I cannot comment on the food served.

There are plenty free parking spaces around the hotel, which is a plus. Staff polite and helpful, no problems there.

The verdict

We paid EUR 150 per room and night without breakfast which was available for additional EUR 15 per person and day. I know this was a busy season, on the other hand, loooking at random dates in February 2012 it says EUR 119 for the same room and also without breakfast. Given the above I do not believe this is a good deal for in fact (taking the glamor out) 3 star hotel and there definitely are other hotels in Ga-Pa which offer better value for money, for example Vier Jahreszeiten near the train station, to name one.

Given the above I rated the hotel only as a average and on the 1-10 scale, it would be somewhere between 6-7 maybe closer to 7 for the nice pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Very high standard of service, helpful and polite receptionists.
Rooms are very tidy and clean.
Breakfast is awesome and restaurant staffs are very friendly.
The only disavantage is the location, it located in the middle of nowhere. You must have your own transportation. But general experience is nice.

Room Tip: Higher floor have better view. But if your room is facing the main road will be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed there the week of Sept 16. Big and beautiful older hotel Nice views from the bar area and restaurant. The front desk staff was nice, but a bit standoffish until you got to know them. We had a car so no problem parking. It is about a 20 minute walk to town. Good place to use as a base for exploring the rest of Bavaria. No air conditioning, as can be expected at older hotels but the rooms were big, clean, and bedding was good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryA320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel itself is dated and could use a makeover. The hotel staff seems busy with paperwork all the time,but are responsive. The rooms on the front of the hotel have gorgeous views and two balconies, but beware of noise all night long if you sleep with windows open. Not just the highway, but other guests enjoying their balconies until all hours. The back of the hotel lacks the Alp view, but is probably much quieter. However, if you are in a wheelchair or phsyically challenged, those rooms all have a step to enter them.
The restaurant staff were all very good and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality ...
#34 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl

Address: Burgstr. 97, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: $104 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand chalet-style winter resort hotel with multilingual staff overlooking the town & mountains; 4 km from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Grand Resort Sonnenbichl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing