We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice antique room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice antique room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Reception was wonderful. Once you check in they offer you a welcoming drink. The view from the hotel is dieectly towards the mountains. The room is nicely arranged. It is so quiet that you don't hear anything from the outside even if you open the window. Stuff from the restaurant are very friendly and smiling all the time (not an easy task ;D ). It has a nice glass enclosed swimming pool that you can enjoy the view from.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alraisi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    135
    55
    20
    14
See reviews for
106
170
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here recently with our teenage son. It's not the easiest place to find, so make sure that you have clear directions before arriving. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and we were offered a complimentary drink whilst checking in. A nice touch I thought. There were also some lovely little buns awaiting us when we got to the room. The hotel has a slightly strange layout being split into 2 parts. It appears that the part we were in was the older part that had not yet been refurbished. Yes it was a bit dated but perfectly adequate and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good. Location is a few minutes walk from the centre of Garmisch although slightly longer from both the train station and the Zugspitze train station.
I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

excepting the location, everything was perfect: the room was big, clean and cosy, the food was great, the spa centre very quiet, large and clean. there were 5 types of sauna.
in the room price, you have included a one day pass for the bus in the town

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Room was 2-star at best, customer service was -1.   Closet doors off track, laminate peeling off wood trim,  and lighting was terrible. But the worst was management's demeanor.   Upon booking a 4-night stay, 6-months in advance, I immediately contacted hotel management that the online transaction went through incorrectly.   To change my reservation they demanded a10% deposit.   Six months later at check out they refused to apply the 10% deposit to my bill saying it was their fee to update my reservation.   I'll return to the lovely Garmisch area but will never set foot in this hotel. 

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin_1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Verkaufsleiter at BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Robin_1049, thank you for your feedback and details on your stay. We are sorry to hear that we haven't met your expectations during your stay. As mentioned in the E-Mail conversation, the non refundable booking that had been arranged online is as per restrictions non cancellable or changeable, however have we made an exception and changed it to a more flexible booking for you in case of any unforeseen circumstances. Flexible Rates are always higher rates than non refundable ones, and an amendmend fee for credit card transactions etc. was requested and confirmed prior to arrival. We are sorry that you feel trated incorrectly, however have we tried to give our best to servce your needs prior of arrival. With regards to the room we have recently finished the first set of our renovations and can now offer newly refurbished rooms in our Boutique category. It would be great welcoming you back and assist you with your reservations from the beginning of your request in order to avoid any unwanted restrictions. BEST regards, Antonia R. Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, before heading to Austria. This hotel was great, from the moment we arrived we were offered a welcome drink, 2 cool well enjoyed beers, and then found 2 little buns in our room as an extra treat! Our room was spacious and lovely with fantastic mountain views. The location was very good, only 10-15 mins from busy town centre, with good selection of shops and restaurants! We had unreal views of the Zugspitze, highest mountain in Germany from the pool area and breakfast table...which included very generous buffet selection and even a light champagne like refreshment for a good start to the day lol staff went over and beyond call of duty to make us feel welcome and comfortable throughout our stay. Loved our stay and would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a relaxing stay with all the comforts of a great hotel in the alps!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nats1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a lovely, quiet hotel a few minutes' walk from the centre of Garmisch in the Bavarian Alps, south of Munich. Enjoy the lovely view from the balconies facing south onto the highest mountain in Germany, the Zugspitze. The rooms are immaculately clean and cosy, with an excellent restaurant and breakfast. Lots of possibilities for hiking in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute in late August, 2013 based on Tripadvisor reviews and availability but were unsure what to expect since the Best Western hotels all appear so different. The hotel is a bit far from the train station to walk with luggage but they have a free shuttle van to pick you up - just call from the station. Winnie, the driver was very friendly and knowledgeable about the Garmisch - Partenkirchen area. The front desk staff (Jana at check-in) was very welcomming and offered beverages while our room was being prepared (we arrived before noon). Elite status was recognized and rewarded. We were given an upper floor suite with balcony overlooking a sparkling stream with outstanding view of the mountains and beautiful half timbered houses. This room was very spacious, comfortable, and clean - the nicest of our three week trip in Germany. The extensive breakfast is served in their very comfortable dining room with nice vews. Food and drink was delicious and breakfast staff very efficient. The evening front desk staff must also be commended. My wife injured her face in a bike crash and they suggested an ice pack which was quickly delivered to the room. The 'guest pass' included with hotel stay offers many discounts and free bus transport but the city center is a very pleasant walk so we never bothered with the bus. Garmish-Partenkirchen is a beautiful town and makes a great base for exploring the Bavarian Alps. We highly recommend this hotel if staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
Address: Muehlstr. 22, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Obermuehle has been family owned and operated since 1634. The hotel is located near the city and Congress Center at the foot of Germans highest mountain, Zugspitze. There is a rustic atmosphere with a superior staff. As their guest, you will receive the utmost hospitality and personal attention. The hotel offers a luxurious heated indoor pool, sauna, solarium and a large garden with lounge chairs for sunbathing. Of course these features are all included in the price of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Obermuehle
Best Western Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Garmisch-Partenkirchen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing