We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view of Mt. Zugspitze from Zugspitsblick Rasthaus Ganztagig”
Review of Zugspitze

Zugspitze
Book In Advance
More Info
$272.30*
and up
A Private Day Tour of the Zugspitze mountain and Partnach gorge from Munich...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At nearly 10,000 feet, Germany's highest peak is a popular ski area during the winter and a challenging hiking trail during the rest of the year.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A view of Mt. Zugspitze from Zugspitsblick Rasthaus Ganztagig”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

These amazing views of Mt. Zugspitze and Lake Bindsee were from a motorway restaurant look-out point on the border between Austria and Germany. If you are on a budget and can't afford the train to view the glacier or simply do not have the luxury of a lot of time it is a must for those who are travelling from Germany to Austria by car on the western border. The restaurant also has outdoor seating and a souvenir store at the site. Do enjoy a cup of coffee in these astounding surroundings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,081
    501
    123
    28
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Something you must do if staying in Garmisch. At 50 euros a ticket getting there was a bit expensive but it had to be done. We took the Zugspiutze train to the glacier and then the final short cable car to the top. You get then get the longer cable car down to Eibsee and back on the train from there. The views from the top of Zugspitze are absolutely superb. We were fortunate to visit on a sunny and windless day. The facilities at the top are also great with a beer garden and a good coffee shop. Not too badly priced either considering the location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queidersbach, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best view in Germany”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

It took me three trips to Garmisch to finally make it up to the Zugspitze. While I'm glad I did it, it wasn't exactly an amazing experience. It is a rather expensive trip up, and the waits were very long as well.

Your ticket buys you a return trip (you can buy one way as well if you would like to hike up or down) on either a scenic cable car or a slightly less scenic (but still very pretty view) on a cog train. The wait to get down on the cable car was so long that my wife and I decided to take both trips on the cog train to save time.

The platform on the top of the point, as well as beer garten (Germany's highest) were very crowded. The view from the top is amazing, and you can walk over to the Austrian side as well, where it is a bit less crowded as it is not Austria's highest peak.

In order to get to the actual peak, where the cross is (not the original, although you can see the original in the museum downtown) you must have climbing gear according to the sign right there. We did see plenty of people without, since there was a roped path up, but decided to skip it since the wait for that was rather long as well.

They have an area where you can sled down a small decline, which was still covered with very wet snow even in the middle of July. While it seems like it is targeted at children, plenty of adults were still getting in on the fun, so I would say it's for "children of all ages". After a couple of trips down and getting rather wet both my wife and I were glad there was a cafe right there for a hot drink.

Overall, the views were great and I'm glad I went, but it is not a must do. It is definitely something that you only need to do once. If you have a spare afternoon and the money to spend, it's worth the trip up, but don't skip anything to make the trip up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been to the top of the Zugspitze twice and the most recent visit was in the fall of 2013 which meant many overcast days and some rain. The visibility was limited, but you still had a sense of how high you were at the top. The good thing was that it was not crowded at all and the wait for the cable cars was not long either. Definitely an experience to be had, hopefully in good weather.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4theluvofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
181 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Expensive, Awesome, Windy”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It is quite a hunk of change to get a family of four up the mountain, but the incredible views of the Bavarian and Tyrolian Alps make it money well spent. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience of riding the very fast, cramped gondola (picture the GCT/Times Square Shuttle during rush hour, but with a view) up to the summit and then exploring all the buildings and platforms. The views are breathtaking - literally - because it is so windy it rips the oxygen right out of your lungs. We spent over four hours at the top. We ate lunch in the timbered Biergarten (I don't know what they called it) and it was pretty good, although overpriced. Fellow travelers urged us to arrive at the ticket booth before noon and we were glad we did, because it gets very crowded and you need a lot of time up top to feel like you have absorbed the grandeur (and gotten your money's worth).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mielmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zugspitze also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zugspitze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing