We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we went!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aussichtsplattform AlpspiX

Aussichtsplattform AlpspiX
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
RI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Glad we went!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am usually afraid of heights. When I first saw the pictures of the Alpspix at the time we were building our itinerary for our Germany trip I was not quite sure if I would be able to handle walking and standing on the platform. From the research prior to our trip (thanks to Trip Advisor!) I was able to see that the two platforms were sort of stacked up, with one higher than the other and intersecting the other. I was also able to see that the platforms titled downwards at their ends. This (the downward tilt) makes me feel even more unsure.

Strangely, I did not feel any fear at all. I don't know what gave me a comfortable and safe feeling to walk on the platform all the way to the its edge and stay there long enough to enjoy the spectacular view and take some pictures. Perhaps it was the fact that the strong wire metal enclosures of the platforms are high enough. Or perhaps it was the fact that the floor of the platform seemed and felt very strong, and it did not give much visibility to the open sky below.

I hope this review gives a lot of encouragement to other travellers with fear of heights like me.
Believe me, it is really not that bad. You should go and walk on it. Spend a few minutes at the end of the platform, take a deep breath for your accomplishment and most importantly, enjoy the view.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank marcopoloRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    42
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Where Eagles Dare To Fly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The AlpspiX observation platform high in the Bavarian Alps on Alpspitz Mountain, next to Zugspitz. Zugspitz it the highest point in Germany therefore it is in the clouds more often than not.
Many people traverse to the top of Alpspitz for the unbelievable view. Walk out on one of the two observation platforms that jut out over the mountain top. Look out into infinity, look down upon the staddles in the town of garmish below. Observe the kite sailers as the navigate the mountains updrafts. Watch the eagles soaring through the mountain cuts. Breathe the crisp clean air of te Bavarian alps.
Suggestion: When you are ready to leave why not walk over to the "Other" Cable Cars (Located to the right side of the mountain top restaurant ) ride it down to the first stop and then walk the mountains paths along the ridge for more picturesque views. You will encounter a wonderful restaurant where you can have a sandwich and a great bavarian beer. Continue on afterwards where you can catch another cable car to the bottom. It will let you off very close to where you originally boarded the Alpsbahn on your way up.

Enjoy this fantastic experience while in Garmish !

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RLW306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIEL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be Aware!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is really great....Unbelievable views...(and architecture).
You have to have a stong stomage...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bataaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kursk, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a veiw from here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

One of the best experiences in Garmisch. It's very exciting to ascend there as it's a precipice just under your feet....

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank arublev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
425 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Excellent Viewing Platform and lovely walk down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

If you go to the AlpspiX, then once you have done the viewing platform do walk down to the lower cable car down the mountain. About 45 minutes to first resturant, then another half an hour to the cable car.

Do stop and relax in the swings half-way down - the silence is golden.

Plenty of things, on route, to keep children interested.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussichtsplattform AlpspiX also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Aussichtsplattform AlpspiX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing