We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Great Chinese” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asia City - CLOSED

Asia City
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Grafenwohr, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unexpected Great Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Being in the German Alps the last thing I thought I would want to eat was some Chinese food but I had a craving and needed a fix. The waitress was great and very helpful, didn't speak English all too well but it didn't matter because everyone can speak "point." The food came quick and was great. I had the Crispy Duck with Asparagus and Mushrooms with White Rice. My wife had the Fired Noodles with Crispy Duck and the son had Chicken Fried Rice. All of the plates were delicious. It was not expensive and the complimentary shot on your way out is nice and sweet. I highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious food, great service, will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My Mum and I ate dinner here and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food.

We are usually a bit wary of Chinese restaurants, as they can be of poor quality, but this one was outstanding. Fresh, simple, delicious and well priced - with heaps of choices on the menu, written in both english and german.

The waitress was very welcoming and friendly, too. (I can understand how the service might slow down when the restaurant is busy, though, as it did seem to be just her for the whole restaurant.)

It was also beautifully decorated and very close to the station.

If you want a break from heavy german food, or are seeking a vegetarian option that actually has some protein in it, definitely give this place a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food in "jewel box"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We often need a break from heavy German meals, and visit Asia City at least once every time we are in Garmisch. The small dining room features red laquered walls and ceilings and a fish tank. The waitress always remembers us from year-to-year and is very friendly. The menu is extensive, but I always have sizzling chicken with lemongrass and chili, and it is delicious. My husband had beef with ginger this visit - also good. Portions are very plentiful - could be shared. At the end of the meal we were given a complimentary plum schnapps. It is conveniently located across from the Bahnhof.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We loved having a tasty non German food option in Garmisch. This place is across the road from the train station and easy to get to either walking or by bus.
It has all your usual Thai/Asian style menu items. It is very hard to pick out of so many great options!
Good prices and lovely staff.
Would highly reccomend for a tasty meal with some flavour!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Decent food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The duck was pretty tasty and so was the red curry - the veggies were fresh. However, it took 3 hours to eat and get out of there. There is only one server for the whole restaurant and she would be gone for certain periods of time - making you think she must be cooking as well! Decent food, but just really slow service. It took a good 30+ minutes to get our appetizer of one chinese egg roll - it was so big it looked like a burrito - it was almost as long as the knife!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia City also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing