We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, crisp, good location”
Review of Hostel 2962

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 2962
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Near to the train station, clean rooms, and free pc and internet usage. I like the simpleness of the room. Worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggy_teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 107 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

WE LOVE HOSTEL 2962!! We have stayed there several times and fall more in love with it each visit! The staff is wonderful! Breakfast is fresh and work the few Euro. The rooms are VERY clean! This is a great place to stay no matter your age! On site parking is a plus. Great restaurants near by. The river provides a wonderful place to sit and relax! We've stayed at the Edelweiss Lodge on the US military base and prefer to stay here! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haymodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hostel is under new management as of November 2010. For the great price (€18 per night) in dorm style accommodation this place can't be beat. On the Partenkirchen side of GP it is a less than 5 minute walk from the bahnhof and the Zugspitze Bahn. The rooms were clean, but shared showers did not drain well. The €6 per day breakfast was typical with a good selection of brotchen, cold cuts, cheese, cold cereals, yogurt, and juices. The lachs, prosciutto, and self serve barista style coffee machine were a nice surprise. The staff speaks passable to fluent English depending on the person and were friendly and more than accommodating, almost to a fault. The building is older but charming in typical Bavarian style with wooden shutters and functional balconies. Would definitely recommend for single travelers looking for budget no frills accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimkid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

It was a great deal as the location was near the train stations and also a 10 to 15min walk to the centre where the shops are. staff were friendly and helpful. breakfast of 5 euros was worth it! the only gripe i had was a part of my room smelt of dog poo. otherwise, generally clean and nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vyzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed in the hostel for 3 nights. The family room was in effect two rooms separated by a sliding door, with plenty of space. Our boys' beds were comfortable bunk beds, our double was a little tired.

The staff were excellent, breakfast was functional and the atmosphere was excellent. The bar works on an honesty principle which gives you an idea of the style of the place. They welcome backpackers. The hostel is ideally located in a quiet road but near the railway station and a 5 minute walk from the centre of town.

I'm not sure that all of their electrics in the room we stayed in would pass a PAT test (some home-style wiring as opposed to professional) and it was marginally frustrating that one bedside light would not work (it could not physically be plugged in!). However, it was not dangerous in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I stayed here in February 2010. This hostel is as much a regular B&B / pension as it is a hostel. Some rooms are dorms and some are hotel style en-suite double & single rooms with bathrooms. I was travelling alone and had booked a dorm. When I arrived they gave me a single en-suite at no extra cost because they had overbooked the dorms... can't beat that for customer service! The staff are friendly and efficient. The whole place is very clean and it's less than 5 minutes walk from the main train station and the Zugspitze bahn train station which is great if you're using the Zugspitze railway for skiing. There's a free ski storage shed outside and your room key operates the lock. Breakfast costs 5€ extra but it's very good quality and worth it. There are only a few small negative things about this hostel... there's no guest's kitchen so the self caterer's will be disappointed, it's very quiet and not a hostel for socialising and the wi-fi has to be paid for at a very expensive rate (one of my pet hates). There is however (one) computer in reception that guests can use.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerpimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This isn't a 4-star hotel in any sense of the word.. We reserved a triple room and arrived during off-hours (key left at the door for us) and found a dark lobby and rather dark hallways. We found a room with sleeping accomodations for only two people. We searched and searched until we found someone - it appears there is a residence at the back - who explained the girl who handles online reservations doesn't speak english. So, we were given an extra single room which was fine except we weren't all together. The bathrooms were very small. The breakfast was adequate with breads, fruits, soft boiled eggs, cheeses and meats, but we never saw any employees - the food always just appeared in the morning. We only saw one other traveler during our entire time and he played loud music most of the time. I probably wouldn't stay here again, but it was clean. We did walk to some restaurants from the inn, but it was a long walk. We drove most places.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyStayEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
Ludwigshof
Ludwigshof
#33 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#36 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlas Grand Hotel
Atlas Grand Hotel
#24 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garmischer Hof
Hotel Garmischer Hof
#20 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#8 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#12 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 2962? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 2962

Address: Partnachauenstr. 3, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: $51 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel 2962 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel 2962 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing