We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess, wonderful hotel, great breakfast - Wundebar!”
Review of Hotel Trifthof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Trifthof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very relaxing, quiet, clean, friendly hotel. Train station about 10 min walk. Zugspitz station about 12. Downtown 12-15 minutes (all depends on your walking speed). With the amount of Bavarian food and beer we consumed daily, walking was a GOOD thing. We did not drive for the 3 days we were there. Limited parking available, but free and probably not too far to go to park near the hotel. Nice pay-as-you go bar in basement that operates on the honor system (fill out ticket, take copy, reconcile at check out) - very reasonabley priced drinks. If you are a larger person, you might have issues negotiating the bathroom(s) -- Room 11 was pretty tight fit for me because of the layout. No restaraunt in the hotel, only the "breakfast room" - you're on your own for lunch and dinner. We love Garmisch and we love this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lostyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Trifthof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Enjoyed our two day stay, rooms very clean, comfortable beds, good breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Only about 15 rooms, most rooms have a balcony with good view of alps. Planning on staying again.

Room Tip: Room 12 has two separate bed rooms with single beds in each room, each room has a door to balcony. G...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We staied in this little and charming hotel in Garmisch due to our business trip to Germany. Unfortunatly it was just for one night but surely it will be our base for next stops in Garmisch. The room was very well equipped, clean and confortable. The host was really kind, helpfull and always smiling (that's a very important thing!). The location was quite close to the center so that we could walk and have a nice meal in the old partenkirchen area. I can higly recomand this accomodation for holidays or business trips and both for couples or families.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I went to Garmisch-Partenkirchen for one day to do some intensive cycling - a quick break after a conference. I didn't expect too much for the 46 EUR that I paid, but wow! To start with, I got there early (at 11 AM). I didn't expect to be able to check in, but just wanted to know if I can use the hotel parking space and go off on my bike tour and then check in later. But no problem at all! The owner was super friendly and told me that I even though most of the rooms were still in the process of cleaning, if I ewanted to check in now, she had a room available - it was one of the smaller ones, but if I wanted to wait a bit I could just leave my luggage there and check in later for a bigger room. I didn't mind staying in the small room (after my intensive bike tour I firugre I'd just want to sleep anyway). The room was spotless clean, everything there - including a little terrace with a beautiful view to the mountains!

I didn't use all of the services of the hotel - apparently there is a sauna as well, and there is a "community room" downstairs where you can even take (inexpensive) drinks out of the fridge and put your name in the list on an honours-based system.

BTW the bed was super comfortable, and the pillows too. OK, after my brutal ride up and down the mountain I was so knackered that I would have slept happily on a cold stone floor, but still, I noticed how comfortable the bed was ;-)

I must say though that I will definitely stay there again - great location, friendly people, spotless rooms, super-fast Wifi available for free as well - and a great breakfast!

I hear the reception is only open until 8:30 PM though, so if you arrive later than that I guess you better call in advance so that they can give you the key.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globezipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This hotel is ideal for leisure travellers and skiers. Located in quiet part of Partenkirchen, it is well within walking distance to both historical centers of Garmisch as well as Partenkirchen.

Rooms are nice and clean, hotel has a sauna and a lounge with self service bar which is always open. Owner speaks very good English.

Breakfasts are excelled and will keep you up on skis until late afternoon.

Beware of reception opening times, if you plan to arrive/depart outside of these times, you need to arrange with the owner beforehand.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Room was as big as a closet. Wireless connection wouldn't work and owner claimed it was because we had American computers....

For military folk, it is 4 min from Edelweiss, which I recommend only going to Garmisch if you can stay at the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heisner87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mauro d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.5 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#9 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trifthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trifthof

Address: Triftstr. 4, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: $109 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trifthof 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Trifthof in Garmisch - Partenkirchen is a small, cosy hotel Garni (Bed & Breakfast) in the alpine style and has tastefully and modernly furnished rooms. Our house is quietly and still centrally located: at a few minutes' walk you find the hiking and recreation area, the "Hausberg" ski lift bottom station as an entrance into the Classic Skiing Area, as well as the centre of Garmisch-Partenkirchen with numerous restaurants and traditional inns. The new ski jump is a 10 minutes' walk away, also the railway station. Parking possibilities are available directly at the house. There are bus stops only a few minutes away from the hotel. Extensive meadows with wonderful footpaths are linking the Trifthof with "Eckbauer", "Kochelberg" and "Hausberg". Due to this location the hotel is an ideal starting point for excursions by bycicle, motorcycle and car, as well as for mountain hiking. We, the Hotel Trifthof team will advise you individually according to your wishes and possibilities and do all the best to make your vacation an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Trifthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing