We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Germany adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel. The booking we made was very reliable and check in was very simple. The rooms were spotless and the staff very accomodating. They had several ideas on the best things to do within walking distance and several brochures to choose from. he SPA was was of the best we have ever been to. Don't forget that clothing is optional and swimsuits not recommended. We will visit Gashof Shatten again.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 159 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel.
The rooms were great with wonderful views. The staff were very friendly with the service traditionally wonderful. The food at the hotel was better than all of the food we had at restaurants around the area. The bar at the back is a great little place to relax after a summers day in the hills
We would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: From memory we were on the 3rd floor with views up tp the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldSofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We could not be happier with this hotel choice. The rooms were clean, the bathroom and shower larger than most, and the bed was as comfortable as one could expect. The view out our window (we were at the front of the hotel) was gorgeous. We ate in the restaurant one of our two nights and were very satisfied. The beer was cold and frothy, the potato pancakes, the bratwurst, and the saurkraut super tasty and the service was excellent. We would recommend this hotel to all. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John and Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very nice hotel and the restaurant has good food. Front Desk employee Dorothy was very friendly. Location is excellent. Rooms were very clean and a nice size. Nice balconies to sit on. Great view. Internet was not so good.

I found it a little odd that there was a baby in a high chair behind the bar. I'm sure it was the baby of the owners. At least they waited until the baby left to smoke in the bar - just the employees, the customers stepped out the back door. They weren't overly friendly in the bar but the wait staff were friendly when we ate there for dinner.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmySpousechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent three nights here and were so happy with our hotel selection. This is a new hotel so has modern bathrooms. The rooms are typical German rooms but a nice size and very clean. The view is very nice (when it's not snowing and you can see it :) The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Would be nice if Wi-fi was free though.

Breakfast was the typical Bavarian items but still nice. We did not eat dinner here but did enjoy sitting at the bar and listening to the music. The Biergarten looks like it'd be very enjoyable during the warmer months.

Hotel Schatten is only a block from the cute little main street. We loved being able to walk down to some great restaurants. It only took a few minutes to drive to skiing or into Garmisch. If you don't have a car, there is a bus that runs very close to the hotel that can drive you over.

I absolutely LOVE this town and I'm so happy we stayed here instead of in Garmisch. While Garmisch is also very small and cute, Partenkirchen is soooo quaint. The Garmisch-Partenhirchen area as a whole reminds me of Vail or Aspen.

Room Tip: Such a quiet street that I can't imagine there are any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoNoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this traditional hotel. We booked a superior room with
a balcony. The rooms are nothing fancy but are very comfortable, warm and clean. Cloud prevented us from viewing the mountains which I know these rooms face towards.

We ate in the restaurant both night and enjoyed live Bavarian music on the Saturday
(very atmospheric). We found the food to be very good so have to disagree with the earlier
customers review. Staff friendly, great location, recomended for sure.

Room Tip: Pay for a balcony or terrace and with good weather you will have FANTASTIC mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good hotel tucked away in a delightful street in Partenkirchen the more traditional part of Garmisch with lovely views. We arrived early evening and took a taxi to the hotel, walking is possible but after traveling all day we were keen to get to the hotel. The room was warm and welcoming although nothing too fancy. It was our 33rd wedding anniversary and the hotel had put rose petals on the bed with handmade hearts on the pillows, great start to the holiday making us feel very special. Bar and restaurant are set in a traditional room, very cosy and just right for a draft of lager or a light bite to eat. The staff are all very friendly and we felt at home straight away.

Awoke next day and opened up our curtains to a fantastic view of the German Alps, blue sky and snow covered mountains, just wonderful. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, very fresh and assisted by very friendly staff.

There is plenty to do in Garmisch even if you are not skiing or taking advantage of the numerous winter sports that are available. We had a beautiful walk on day 1 with fantastic views over Garmisch and the valley to the mountains beyond. On day 2 we were off to Innsbruck, very good train service from Garmisch. We walked to the train station from the hotel, this takes approx. 15 minutes and the trains run approx. every 2 hours. Very scenic journey through the mountains before arrival at Innsbruck. Innsbruck is quite a small city in a spectacular setting, very easy to navigate and well worth the trip. Day 3 was a trip to Neu-Schwanstein, the fairy-tale castle. We did this without a car but it is a bit tricky. Walked to the train station and caught the ice train express (at no cost) compliments of the free tourist pass that the hotel gave us. We then had to get off at Reuette Tyrol, be careful there are two stations in Reuette and you need to get off at the main station as the bus station is immediately outside. We then caught a bus to Fussen. From Fussen there are regular busses to the castle or it is only 10 euros for a taxi, definitely worth it if you are a party of 4. Even though it was very overcast, plus the walk to the bridge behind the castle was closed for safety reasons the castle was still worth the trip as it is set in a beautiful setting.

Day 4 and we were off to Munich to finish off our break, we were sad to leave and we will definitely return, Hotel Schatten helped make this holiday very special and I have no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: Worth it for a south facing room with a balcony for a view of the moutains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilVerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#8 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Gasthof Schatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Gasthof Schatten

Address: Sonnenbergstr. 10-12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: $111 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Gasthof Schatten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Gasthof Schatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing