We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a visit for a fun Bavarian experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraundorfer

Fraundorfer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Landscheid, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit for a fun Bavarian experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently went to Fraundorfer on a recommendation from friends. While the food isn't anything spectacular (it's good, but it's not the best food I've ever had), the real fun was in the atmosphere and the entertainment.

Be sure not to arrive too early: we arrived at 5:30 PM and were a bit too early for the entertainment. The place really started filling up at 7:00 PM, which is when the live music began as well. Authentic Bavarian folk songs, locals who sing along, and wait staff in drindls and liederhosen: overall a great experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    81
    45
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having lived in Germany for some time, I think sometimes confuse cultural differences for rude service. I found the service at Fraudorfer to be as good if not better than most German restaurants we visit as a family. The food is great, and be sure to try something off their traditional Bavarian food menu. It's one page in the menu, but every dish offers a translation in English. Show up a little later than a normal dinner time. We showed up (without a reservation) at 6:30, and the place was quiet. As soon as 7:00 rolled around, the restaurant filled up almost instantly, and out came the man playing the accordion and yodeling (with crowd interaction, of course) For a restaurant in a resort town, the prices are more than fair, and while the food is above average, it's the atmosphere that makes us want to come back to this restaurant on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Velophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very tasty, traditional German food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

our hotel (Hotel Schatten) was able to secure last-minute Christmas dinner reservations for us at this great restaurant just around the corner. we were warmly welcomed and it was family style with long tables full of joyful, happy people of all ages. live traditional music, smiling faces in keeping w/ the season. the food was great, the service friendly and accommodating even on a fully packed nite like that. probably the best goose that I've ever eaten, and the beer was of course a memorable partner.

highly recommend this restaurant if you're after a comfortable taste of Bavaria!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiaOraDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the German Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed the real Bavarian Atmosphere. A quaint, interesting building & decor. It was very crowded & quiet noisy but if you go for the "adventure" & "atmosphere" you will enjoy this. Enjoyed the boys bavarian dancing & the accordian bavarian music.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ros-Ann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good German traditional food and beer. Calf’s liver sour was excelent. Quick and friendly service. Great atmosphere with accordion music, yodeling and folk dancing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fraundorfer also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Fraundorfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing