We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colosseo

Colosseo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Cannot recommend enough! Absolutely wonderful food, service, atmosphere, price! Perfect for a quiet lunch & a book or for a couple or a large group or family. Kid friendly, wonderful servers, everything we've tried was fantastic. The wine selection is great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OutToSee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    115
    27
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value for hungry skiers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The pizza here is so good and such good value that we visited twice during our 5 day stay in Garmisch.

The pizzas are thin crust but so big that they drape over the side of your plate and you have start off by eating it off the table. The toppings are pretty generous (if you compare to a UK chain likes pizza express or Ask). At about 8 to 10 euros a pizza, you can fill yourself up and have a couple of drinks for under £15.

It's only really the service that stops this place getting 5 stars in my view. It's by no means bad or inept, but being very popular with locals, the waiters can come across a little harassed or impatient, especially if your German is a little rustic. However, after a hard day's ski, a generous pizza and unpretentious service is often just what you need.

Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad_J2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely pizza !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was in Garmisch during half term week for ski break, went here on our first night and it was brilliant, great pizza and salad, we couldnt wait to go back another night as our teenage boys loved the pizza's so we went back on the last night of our holiday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ski65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best place for Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I arrived here wit a group of 5 without reservations around 6:30 pm. The place was packed with all locals. Surprising we were seated within 5 minutes. The menu is quite extensive including about 45 different pizzas! The food and drinks arrived quite quickly, which we we pleasantly surprised. The pizzas were a nice thin crust and larger than the plate it was on. The crust was done to perfection. As we were devouring our pizza, a waiter passed our table with an incredible dessert, we decided that we would order it not matter what. After the pizza we ordered the dessert, it was some pastry with whip cream and strawberries, Awesome! The pastry was extremely light and the dessert was delightful.

Helpful?
Thank finderat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was visiting family in town over the weekend. There was 4 of us and overall was a nice Italian restaurant. I would suggest calling and making a reservation or at least if you're in town stopping by and making one. We were there on a Saturday night and they were turning walkin's away since it was busy.

Set up was nice, service was attentive and overall food was worth the price. By no means is this a fancy romantic place. It's geared towards families and friends.

Good size menu, pizza's are larger but very thin (Neo style) and during the summer they do have a deck for outside seating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chitowntrvlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colosseo also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing