We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of TAJ MAHAL

TAJ MAHAL
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gutersloh, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Service terrible over 1.5 hour wait for food, which when it arrived was both inaccurate and of poor quality. Overpriced eg Dahl side order 9 euro. Waiter service poor meals arrived at random times, don't expect to eat together.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank coopsssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    10
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok if you need a curry!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Found the curry dishes reasonable in terms of flavour but rather lacking in terms on spice/hotness, we found out later that you need to ask for extra hotness even if your ordering a hot curry as most dishes come "mild". We found the service good, but there was only about 10 people in at the time so it wasn't busy.
To sum it up I would say, I've had better, but it's definitely not the worst I've ever eaten. If your staying in the Partenkirchen part of the town then its worth going to but if your in Garmisch I'd be looking for a more local curry house.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reesemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tried a different Indian restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food was not bad but I must totally agree with some of the other reviews here, where was the meat? Three tlittle pieces of lamb, one was all fat, and that from lamb unbelievable, one was half fat and the third little piece of meat was finally a piece I could eat. But it had potato pieces which I thought was great otherwise I would have eft hungry. Service vas slow but friendly.
No we will not go there again and stick to another indian restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Reasonable curry, OK service. Enjoyed the experience of a curry in an alpine setting. Not the best, not the worst I've ever eaten. Probably not worth going out of your way for - our apartment was round the corner and it was raining!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not that good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

i've been to many indian resturants around the world , this one is the worst , the food is terrible , not even close to the word food , we ordered briani chicken , and what came was just some piece of chicken dipped in curry to with rice on it , witch was tasteless and horrible .
over priced resturant with tasteless food .
NOTWORTH IT

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAJ MAHAL also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to TAJ MAHAL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing