We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It deserves to be Nr. 1 here!”
Review of Zum Wildschutz

Zum Wildschutz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It deserves to be Nr. 1 here!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went here because of its Tripadvisor rating, and were not disappointed. The food was out of this world great, huge portions, great value for the price. I wish this place was in Munich where we live, so we could go all the time. Service is extremely friendly, it is always busy, so make a reservation if possible. We were stuffed, but ate desserts anyway, those were also delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Takara_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    254
    60
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING POTATO SOUP!!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Eat here!!! Seriously we ate here the 1st night, and we wished we had eaten here our second night. We were only in town for two nights. ALL of the food was amazing!! My cousin does not like potato soup but she ate some of mine ;) and even three days later we are still talking about how good the food was. If I lived there I would eat here every day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank penguin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
170 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We've eaten here several times, and usually can walk in. The menu is limited by German standards and heavier on game than I prefer BUT the traditional german dishes on the menu are fantastic as is the service. The atmosphere is terrific. If you overshoot your budget, an ATM is 100m away!

Helpful?
1 Thank gunnerHiltonHead_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
271 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best German Food Ever! Great in Everyway!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Outstanding atmosphere, service (the waitresses are super nice and on the ball), and the food is perfect! I had the Schweinbraten (I was too early for the Schweinshaxe or pork knuckle) I will absolutely go for it the next time. The restaurant was really hopping and nearly every seat was reserved. The waitress was organizing me a proper table but I elected to sit at the bar as I was a walk-in and wanted to make it easy... The food came out in a flash and was outstanding. The portion was huge and I will sleep well tonight. I was driving so no beer but it looked like everyone was enjoying the local brews. If you visit the area, this restaurant is a must - do not miss this opportunity!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RATMANDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We came upon the Zum Wildschutz by chance one evening a few years ago without reservations (recommended), but they seated us with another German couple. At times we have gone early and dined without reservations. They try to accomodate if they can. We go there at least once everytime we are in town. The food, service, atmosphere is great. One of our favorite restaurants when we are in town. Prices are a little high but the food is worth it. I want to try the wild game plate on our next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgturko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Wildschutz also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Wildschutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing