We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience....Excellent Traditional Bavarian Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Wildschutz

Zum Wildschutz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience....Excellent Traditional Bavarian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have dined in many German restaurants since arriving in Germany, Zum Wildschultz was by far the best. Atmosphere was uplifting and enjoyable. Waitress was extremely nice and spoke very good English. Met the owner who was friendly and hospitable. If you go with a small group, 2 or 3, be prepared to have other diners seated at your table. I have been told this is common for Bavarian restaurants.Recommend you make reservations prior since it is very crowded, I noticed many people come in only to find a full restaurant and had to be turned away. If you like pork, the pig knuckle with dumplings is the best I have ever had, huge meaty portion with nice crispy outside. Top notch, will go here any chance I get to visit Garmisch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    244
    60
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very well executed traditional Bavarian dishes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stopped here for lunch on the recommendation of a friend who lives in Garmisch. Although busy, there was no need to reserve and we were seated straight away. Service was fast and friendly, and our waitress spoke very good English for when our bungling basic German proved to be an obstacle. Plus they also have a menu in English, which is helpful. The food is classic Bavarian, with a focus on stews and roasts of pork, venison and beef, and we found the food to be amongst the best of our 2 week stay in the region. My pork roast with crackling was perfectly soft and succulent with juicy "bavarian" dumplings to soak up the gravy. My wife's venison goulash was tender and the red-wine reduction gravy was the perfect addition to the side of spatzle that came with the dish. It was definitely food to eat slowly and savour.
It's important to note that they don't accept credit cards, and although good value, lunch came to 60 euros for 2 which may not be an amount in cash that everyone has in their wallet. Although there is a Commerzbank cashpoint across the street if you get caught short...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Not overly friendly service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Great Bavarian food. Had to book in advance. Think they must rely on the fact that they are busy no matter what as the manner of our waiter left something to be desired. Go to Flosserstub in preference - 50 yards away and wunderbar in every way :)))

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeygreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good local food, Hefe-Weizen 'dunkel' as a must-be-beer, and friendly service. We had a good time there and concluded dinner always with a schnaps: 'Wildsautropfen'. Reservation is a must.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Volker K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We dined here on a few occasions, the food is excellent Bavarian cuisine, prices are good and the service and atmosphere is top class.
It's a great vacation type eatery, ideal for family groups or couples, if your visiting Garmish drop in you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuscanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Wildschutz also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Wildschutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing