We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal at the Restaurant Zur Rose, Oberammergau, Germany”
Review of Zur Rose

Zur Rose
Ranked #12 of 51 Restaurants in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious meal at the Restaurant Zur Rose, Oberammergau, Germany”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant was near Hotel Garni Fux and was recommended to us by the owner of the hotel. We certainly were happy with our meal there on May 17 and wished that we had tried it sooner, so that we would have had time to go there again before we left Oberammergau. I had some kind of brook trout, cooked whole, & it was really delicious. I looked it up & it is related to salmon which explained the color. We highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is in the Oberammergau area. The service and food was impeccable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Maine
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Spargel season”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were in Oberammergau, saw the "Spargel" (asparagus) sign outside this Zur Rose restaurant and when in German do as the Germans do. Spargel is the white asparagus and quite expensive. The meal was for Spargel and potatoes with hollandaise sauce. Presentation was nice as the spargel came in it's own little chafer, but it was still in the water. That left the spargel a little water logged and was soggy. Disappointing as I had expected something to remember. Well, I will "remember" , but not the way I wanted to. Our daughter had sausages and they were quite good. We shared plates so we could try everything. We were the only ones in the restaurant but it was early and off season. The beer was lovely and came from the Ettal Monastery, the next village over. Atmosphere was very nice; real flowers on the table and the staff was attentive. Too bad about the spargel. We would go there again but not order the spargel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bucketlistend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very nice find in Oberammergau”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food was very good, solid German food. Wait staff was very attentive, more so than at most gasthaus. The trout was an excellent dish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KB9MNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good meal and service”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stumbled upon this guest house while walking in Oberammergau one evening. It was lovely. Locals and tourists alike were eating inside. Always a good sign.

The food was very well prepared and plentiful. Schnitzel was great. Service very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good local food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We ate very good Bavarian dishes. The prices were reasonable and the atmosphere and decoration quite nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zur Rose also viewed

Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zur Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing