We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay anywhere else in O'gau if I can help it!”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I have now stayed at this hotel about ten times as I travel to Oberammergau frequently for business. It feels like a second home for me. The front desk staff, restaurant staff and 5-star restaurant staff are all wonderful. These are the best rooms in town and I have stayed at quite a few others. The breakfast is phenomenal and if you have one of the packages with a reduced room rate if you dine in the 5 star restaurant, your mouth will experience a taste explosion! - that is, if you enjoy the experience of gourmet food. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel and I recommend it to my colleagues. it is a bit over per diem but I pay the extra because it is worth it to me!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inteljag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMax, Manager at Hotel Maximilian, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to have a review on Trip Advisor to write. Your opinion is an important criterion for us is maintaining our quality standards and therefore offers us a great help. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us apparently.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Maximilian.

Kind regards,
Your Maximilian-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maximilian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Maximilian while in Oberammergau to go to the Passion Play. My husband and I and friends went to Munich and Interlaken, and the Hotel Maximilian was by far the best hotel we stayed in. The staff, hotel room and amenities were top notch as well as the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debi1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMax, Manager at Hotel Maximilian, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to have a review on Trip Advisor to write. Your opinion is an important criterion for us is maintaining our quality standards and therefore offers us a great help. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed it so well with us and you could enjoy your stay apparently. It was a pleasure to host you here.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Maximilian.

Kind regards,
Your Maximilian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We were charged about $950.00 Canadian a night which included dinner and breakfast.
It took 15 minutes to get a menu and 25 minutes to get a wine list. The Germans who were seated after us by 15 minutes were ordering before we even got a menu. Dinner was a choice of 2 entres only. Ordered Char and got salmon. The salad was the same for dinner and lunch on both days. Dessert at dinner was the same for both days. Breakfast you had to beg them to clear a table and the ask for every piece of cutlery because the table was only cleared not set. This was without a doubt the worst 5 star hotel I stayed in world wide.The price was high because of the play but this was a rip off.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joyce39joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The hotel and rooms are spotless clean and in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chru98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

This Hotel lives up to the description on their website. Lived there for 7 days in March 2010 and everything was perfect. The service was in top and room perfectly and wonderfully clean. Ammergauer restaurant at the hotel was very cozy. Breakfast could have been better.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_K_Nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMax, Manager at Hotel Maximilian, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to have a review on Trip Advisor to write. Your opinion is an important criterion for us is maintaining our quality standards and therefore offers us a great help. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed it so well with us and you could enjoy your stay apparently. It was a pleasure to host you here.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Maximilian.

Kind regards,
Your Maximilian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Even the most demanding and difficult person could not find something to can be proved in this hotel! Simply the perfect one!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

As there does not seem to be a category for this apartment house, and it has been owed by the hotel since early 2009; I thought it pertinent to write a review here. We have stayed in this house twice in the last 12 months; last year in Apartment 7, this year none of the decent apartments were available for the two weeks so we had apartment 2 on the ground floor. Plus points for house ; free internet (wired) access, great view of the Kofel, use of a washing machine and tumbler dryer (charged), good off-road parking, quiet location far enough out of town, but easy to walk into when necessary, nearest shop, 30 metres away, is the best cake shop in town and the bakers is next nearest, and great for early morning rolls (or krapfen in February - wonderful!) Plus points for apartment 7: an oven, and separate bedroom and living areas; sadly neither of these available in the lower apartment, but it is, of course, cheaper. We felt that apartment 2 , at 38m², was too small for 2 weeks, especially as my husband was on a course for the first week and could not escape from my coughing during the night! During winter the advantage of escaping to the balcony or patio during the day is lost, but it is good for storing the white wine and beer.
Considering the high standards of the hotel, we felt that we should not have to ask for the towels to be changed after 7 days, and when, after 9 days, the sheets had not been changed, my husband phoned the hotel, to be told that we would have to pay extra! I was given the sheets and changed the bed myself; and fortunately we were not charged for them. After we had reserved an apartment with an oven and ours did not have one; the hotel gave us the use of a basement staff apartment so that we could use the oven during our stay, useful as we had brought part-baked bread on our way down.
If we stay there again, we would only go for apartments 6 or 7 and would not bother if these two apartments are not available, despite the other advantages.

If you are going to Haus Hubertus for the first time, do not do as we did last year and turn up at the haus itself, go to the hotel first and register, we knew this year; but there is no information given, and there should be, about checking -in arrangements.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberammergau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
274 reviews
9.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Bold
Romantik Hotel Bold
#12 of 25 in Oberammergau
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Address: Ettaler Str. 5, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Price Range: $223 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maximilian 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing