We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Lunch Amidst Christkindles Markt”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Privater Brau Gast Hof in the Maximilian Hotel is a perfect spot to sneak away from cold weather, shopping, or the Christkindles Markt and enjoy hand-made beers and great food. The warm atmosphere and array of choices on the menu make it a spot we will go back to again when visiting Oberammergau and Bavaria. My soup with fresh veggies and liver dumplings tasted wonderful, like it had just come from my grandmother's kitchen -- perfect for a cold, snowy December day. The Wild Boar Goulash was both unique and very tasty served with spetzel, and matched with a carefully crafted lager. Treat yourself and Prost!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOCALGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 286 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

This wonderful city is a very "Magical" place! Shopping is really fun here, especially if you have the "Christmas Spirit"!

Hotel Maximilian, is located next to the beautiful Catholic Church and combines a relaxing, classy, and affordable aspect while visiting the area. If you enjoy great food you will enjoy the diverse, fresh, and enjoyable food offered at Maxbrau's. English is well spoken here and the salads, pork, seafood and dessert were memorable.

A great place to see a historic city by foot, car, or bicycle!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrycoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

No doubt, Maximilian is the best choice for a stay in O'Gau. Facilities are modern and top quality. Breakfast at same level of the rest of the services. The only "but" is the price, rather high for a hotel located in a small village (lovely).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kikeguass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel was outstanding and the staff was extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Maximilian is one of the best hotels the I have ever stayed at. From the time you walk in they make you feel welcomed and will do whatever they can to help. The rooms are extremely nice and clean, with more technology than most other 5 star hotels. It is by far a 5 star hotel with a restaurant that is the same. Don't even eat anywhere else; the menu is extensive and is prepared perfectly. The breakfast is also excellent with a variety of choices. If I had anything negative, they don't have a fitness facility but there is a gym close by that cost 14 Euro. Also, other people that I knew that had stayed there said they heard the church bells go off all night. The church is right next door but I never heard one bell at night, rooms seem to be pretty sound proof. If you are staying in the area, don't look anywhere else and just book this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in May at the hotel. While the outside is traditional style as is required by building regs, the rooms are modern and superbly fitted out with all top notch equipment and furnishings. Double glazing, bathroom fittings etc are all top notch. We were the only guests at the time which is unusual for them given the NATO base usually provides a minimum customer base and we were offered any room that we wanted for Euro160 including breakfast. Breakfast was part buffet, part a al carte and again great quality. We also ate at both the Italian restaurant and the BierStube - both great quality and great value -eg. roast pork with dumplings and cabbage for Euro13. Italian restaurant is a bit more expensive - but once again superb. Germany remains a fantastic value for money country for eating out without tourist rip offs. Service was excellent, albeit Frank is a little dour. If anyoone reading this review has experience Chester Residence in Edinburgh and rates that highly - Maximilan Hotel is comparable standard in a country hotel. Most hotels in Bavaria are of the country style - if you want that, do not stay here, but if you tire of that - definitely one of the best hotels that you can stay in in Bavaria.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I have now stayed at this hotel about ten times as I travel to Oberammergau frequently for business. It feels like a second home for me. The front desk staff, restaurant staff and 5-star restaurant staff are all wonderful. These are the best rooms in town and I have stayed at quite a few others. The breakfast is phenomenal and if you have one of the packages with a reduced room rate if you dine in the 5 star restaurant, your mouth will experience a taste explosion! - that is, if you enjoy the experience of gourmet food. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel and I recommend it to my colleagues. it is a bit over per diem but I pay the extra because it is worth it to me!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inteljag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMax, Manager at Hotel Maximilian, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to have a review on Trip Advisor to write. Your opinion is an important criterion for us is maintaining our quality standards and therefore offers us a great help. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us apparently.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Maximilian.

Kind regards,
Your Maximilian-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberammergau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Bold
Romantik Hotel Bold
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
211 reviews
7.8 mi away
Alpenhof Murnau
Alpenhof Murnau
#1 of 5 in Murnau
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Address: Ettaler Str. 5, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Price Range: $218 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Maximilian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HRS, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing