We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewel in Bavaria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garni Antonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Garni Antonia
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jewel in Bavaria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

You will love this small hotel in Oberammergau. It's the perfect combination of convenience and friendliness. It's centrally located, so easy to navigate the town. The rooms are immaculate with lovely views of the mountains. Most rooms have balconies where you can sit and relax. The window boxes filled with flowers make you feel as though you are in a lovely garden. The owner, Erika, is a wealth of information and always on hand to give tips for tours and restaurants. We were not disappointed in her suggestions. With parking free on site, a good Bavarian breakfast as part of the cost, and discount coupons for major sights, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
28
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We planned three nights in Oberammergau after a AmaWaterways River Cruise and found Hotel Garni Antonia thru Trip Advisor. Based on what we read, it was in a good location, was fairly priced, offered free wifi and breakfast and was highly rated. All turned out to be true. Although we arrived before normal check-in time, Erika greeting us and had our rooms available. We were traveling with friends who had never been to Germany, let alone Bavaria and this hotel was a prime example of the best of the small hotels. Rooms were large and well lit and included a desk area with chair for your computer as will as a separate chair for sitting. The balcony had two chairs and a table for relaxing. Even though the weather was not great, I spent some time out there reading, bundled up in a couple of layers but well worth it. The bathrooms and shower were first rate with towel warmers that also doubled for drying some clothes rinsed out in the sink. Your check-in also included a discount card for several attractions in the area. From here, we were able to cover most of the center of Oberammergau on foot and really got our exercise. Breakfast was ample and filling. Fresh breads, cheese, meats, soft boiled eggs, mike, juice, coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal. Parking was free. Although my wife experienced some problems with wifi, I had no problems and was even able to connect via Dish to my DVR back home and watch some recorded programming. so it appeared to be device dependent. I would not hesitate to stay her again if in the area.

Room Tip: Follow Erika's tips on where to eat for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmanics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Traveled for my husbands work. Arrived late in the day and found it was a comfortable walk from the train station. The room was comfortable with a desk, good shower and while it was 2 single mattresses pushed together, we had our own quilts too! Our room on the first floor had a balcony.
Breakfast was excellent, typical German foods, with some concessions made for US visitors. Erica joined us for breakfast and there was lots of discussion amongst the guests, most of whom were there for the NATO school on the outskirts of town. There was a NATO bus pick up and drop off point, just around the corner.
Erica gave me lots of information about interesting places to visit and I was able to visit Castle Linderhof, Neueschwanstein Castle, take the funicula train to the top of the snow field and saw many, many trompe l'oeil buildings.
The hotel has a bar in the cellar, a heavily wooded room, with lots of reading, board games and an honour system for drinks. While I appreciated the room I found it a little oppressive and didnt use it much. there is also a Sauna and a massage room both of which need booking with Erica.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyallagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We very much enjoyed our 1 night stay. Erica the owner was very friendly and helpful. The room was warm and very clean. Central location, good breakfast and free parking.

This is a small very well priced B & B type hotel - if thats what you are after - go ahead and book - you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The room was lovely. The one really odd thing about this room, was that the bathroom door was translucent glass. The internet in the room was way too flaky. The signal was too weak to allow for a connection long enough to sign on. Most times there was no one in the reception area who could help with this issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f1999308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in mid-September 2012. The ratings and comments on Tripadvisor are right on the money. Very good value. Hotel is very well run and close to the center of Oberammergau. The owner is one of those who seems to be always available if you require anything. (We had a plumbing problem that was quickly attended to.) Our roooms were ground level with small patios; very pleasant but upper rooms may be quieter, away from the entrance hall and breakfast room.

We chose Oberammergau because it was smaller and less crazed than the area around Fussen and the Neuschwanstein Castle but the castle is within an hours drive. Oberammergau has several good restaurants and interesting shops although the wood carving shops are more common than any other. Also recommended and close to Oberammergau are Wieskirche (rococo church), Ettal Abbey, Garmisch and Linderhof Palace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LnCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
espoo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The owner was very friendly. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The penthouse apartment was stunning. We liked it very lot. Nearby were lots of restaurants, shops, and museums.We get good tips to travel to castles etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ammergauer Hof
Ammergauer Hof
#4 of 25 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schilcherhof
Hotel Schilcherhof
#9 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Antonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Antonia

Property: Hotel Garni Antonia
Address: Freikorpsstr. 5, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Antonia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garni Antonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Antonia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing