We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely, welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Landhaus Feldmeier
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely, welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were in Oberammergau for an independent walking holiday, and this hotel was the one selected by the agency. The room was great, a big balcony, plenty of storage space, a large en-suite, and sensible furniture in the room, including an upholstered armchair and settee to relax in after a hilly walk, and watch the flatscreen TV. It was quiet, but you might expect it to be in Omerammergau, a quiet village.

The family who own this hotel speak good English, and there was always someone to answer any queries - they were all friendly, so were the other staff.

There is a spa bath etc., but we didn't avail ourselves.

The food was interesting, lovely traditional breakfasts, and even more traditional four course dinners, not for those who are on a low-fat diet, though the meat was always very lean. And we got an English menu, too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
8
36
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We had a very nice, large room in the main building, second floor. We were there for the Passion play which was in its final week of performances. The hotel and the town were crowded with visitors. We found the staff to be rather indifferent and chalk it up to exhaustion from the onslaught of tourists and diners from May to the first week in October. There is a 3 hour dinner break during the performance and Feldmeier is one of the dinner places. Its a very pretty restaurant and the meal was included with our theater tickets and hotel reservation. For whatever reason our waitress gave very perfunctory, unsmiling service. Other than that the place was fine and we'd stay there again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

We had a wonderful stay and found everyone to be friendly and helpful. Language was not a problem.
The room was lovely with a balcony and very clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myhometown_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Dates of Stay: I stayed with my extended family for two nights in late-September and we were very satisfied.
Location: The hotel is located on the "main street" of Oberammergau. You can walk everywhere in town within ten minutes.
Accommodations: Our double rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, and very reasonably priced. Excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water.
Breakfast: We were very satisfied with the breakfast buffet which included a variety of breads, jams, cereals, cheeses, etc.
Restaurant: The food at the was excellent.
Staff: We stayed at the hotel during the Passion Play and the staff, which was under tremendous demands, were professional, helpful, and very patient.
Parking: There is on street parking behind the hotel, and a small parking lot behind the hotel.
Overall: I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

If you are fortunate enough to be in Oberammergau for the Passion Play, you shouldn't complain even if you have to sleep in a basement. The Passion Play itself is other-worldly, a perfect balance between spectacle and piety. Everyone should do it at least once in a lifetime. Of course, none of this comes on the cheap: the Passion Play is a world-class event, and enterprises of Oberammergau charge world-class prices, especially in years whenthe play is being performed. In spite of this, we loved the Landhaus Feldmeir, and would gladly stay there again, either in conjunction with the play or not. The location-- a bit out of the center of town; perhaps a fifteen minute walk to the theater-- is in many ways ideal: away from the main hubbub, but still close enough to walk. The facilities are simple but lovely-- ample rooms, simply decorated, but with nice local touches and wonderful heavy wooden furniture. The location on the main road into town can be a bit noisy if the windows are open (and they will be at times, for there is no ari conditioning); it is a bit disconcerting, too, if you are on the ground floor, and a tour bus is loading up right outside as you attempt to shower! But the service is very friendkly and genuine (if a bit shy, perhaps even overwhelmed by it all at times). At least three of the members of our host family were in the Passion Play-- on top of their responsibilities making us feel welcome! The food is very tasty, nice and fresh. Lovely choice at breakfast (a typicaL German affair, with dark breads, cold cuts, and cheese, with bacon & scrambled eggs added for visitors!). Choices at other meals seem a bit limited (just two entrees, one of them always pork it seems); but our waitress was always very accomodating about making substititutions (can't stand those dumplings!) So, we were pleased to stay here during our Oberammergau sojourn. The Passion Play moved us deeply, and staying at the Feldmeier seemed to provide a more genuine chance to experience Oberammergau than we might have had at a larger, more homogenized hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank revjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed for the Passion play, two nights. The atmosphere at meal times is "conveyor-belt", in part due to the time constraints of the Play. However, burned potato soup was offered without apology on the first day and pork featured in three out of the four main meals.
Despite them confirming children could have french fries in lieu of dumplings, no fries were forthcoming and then a fifteen minute delay ensued, followed by an attempt to charge additionally (which was refused). Flies abounded in the restaurant; surly service by the owner's wife; the lunchtime boiled beef offering could be smelled cooking by 9am that day. This is a well-overpriced hostelry and should be avoided.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oberammergau hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We were assigned to Landhaus Feldmeier as part of a package of Passion Play tickets, lodging, and food that we bought two years in advance. The best seats for the Play come in packages that include the top-level and next-to-top level lodging. We chose the next-to-top level. The price for the hotel was more than it was worth for lodging, but it was valuable to be 20 minutes' walk from the Play Theater. With a full house, the staff did an efficient job of providing all our meals, and the food was good quality. None of the staff made an effort to be welcoming or friendly. Our room and the room of the couple with whom we traveled were both spacious, including a sitting area and, in our case, a balcony. Some wear and tear were evident. The weather was cold and rainy during our stay, so sleeping with windows closed was comfortable. Because the hotel is on the main thoroughfare into town, traffic noise (motorcycles and trucks) would be objectionable with windows open during warm weather. Free parking was conveniently located at the back door. The Passion Play lived up to all our expectations, and we would highly recommend it. In non-Play years, we would stay in Oberammergau only if prices were a fraction of 2010 prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ojaitravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#17 of 25 in Oberammergau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#11 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Das Posch Hotel
Das Posch Hotel
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schilcherhof
Hotel Schilcherhof
#9 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ammergauer Hof
Ammergauer Hof
#4 of 25 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Landhaus Feldmeier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landhaus Feldmeier

Property: Hotel Landhaus Feldmeier
Address: Ettaler Str. 29, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Landhaus Feldmeier 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Landhaus Feldmeier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing