We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and a great base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel and a great base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a week long trip in Bavaria. The hotel was a great base for us - from there we were able to see the Ettal monastery (10mins drive), Linderhof palace (20 mins) and Fussen/Neuchwanstein in around 80 minutes. Oberammergau itself is a lovely quaint town where we enjoyed spending time.

The lady on the desk was very helpful with advice on the local area/driving etc, and gave us a card so we could park for free outside.

We stayed in room 8 which is one of the rooms on the top floor with lovely wooden sloping ceiling. I would really recommend these rooms as they have so much character. Our room also had a very nice balcony, comfortable beds and was very clean. If you want something really chic and modern this may not be for you- there are several little ornaments and Bavarian trinkets etc in the rooms and it has much more of a homely feel. As others have mentioned the shower stalls are small, and the bathroom is definitely big enough to fit in a bigger shower.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and felt it offered good value for money. There are some small changes I feel could be made to make it excellent - one would be to replace the shower curtains with glass screens. This may be just a pet hate of mine but they are less hygeinic and get quite smelly and mouldy no matter how much they are cleaned!

And, although breakfast was decent, I would have loved to see a slightly wider range of healthy options e.g. Museli and fruit salad. There was a fruit bowl, and I simply chopped some up myself, but it is always nice to have it freshly prepared when you're on holiday!

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would stay again!

Room Tip: Room 8 in the loft space with lovely wooden ceiling and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkatkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    65
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
61
108
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We received a wonderful welcome from very friendly staff! Our 2 rooms were lovely, very comfortable and very nicely decorated. We slept very well in the extremely comfortable beds and it was lovely to look out our balcony.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We vacationed several days in beautiful Oberammergau the end of June. Hotel Ferienhaus Fux was lovely. We had a very large room with a balcony and a spectacular view of the mountains. The hotel is very charming, clean, reasonably priced, easy to locate, and is located in the center of town, an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants. They also served a lovely breakfast. We were also pleased that for 10 Euros the hotel washed a large bag of laundry for us. What a treat! They also provide free WiFi. We highly recommend visiting Oberammergau and staying at the Hotel Ferienhaus Fux.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A block away from the town center, parking, huge rooms, wifi throughout, very clean, what else do you need. I chose this place over a more modern hotel for its older rustic look. But don't take older as dingy; this place is very clean. The room was larger than my living room at home, and it was so grand with a balcony that looked right up at the mountain peaks. We felt a little like royalty in our room. The staff was very helpful in telling us where to go and was accommodating to our early morning departure. Parking is tight in this town so to have plenty of parking is a major plus. You cannot beat the place. We paid €95 per night (off-season I'm sure) for a room that could be upwards of €300.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALocalNamedWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Oberammergau in May 2013, unfortunately the weather was awful and despite the fact that Oberammergau is beautiful even in the rain we were more than compensated by a lovely overnight stay at Ferienhaus Fux. The rooms were very comfortable, warm and homely and the breakfast was super. The house is within easy walking distance of the village centre and had we had a longer stay would provide a perfect base from which to visit the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrism62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed for five nights at the F-F based, in part, on other Trip Advisor reviews. We had a pair of rooms on the top floor which comfortably accomodated my wife and I and our three adult boys. Very comfortable and spacious rooms, with character. Very clean. Up-to-date bathrooms. The breakfast area as great and the food served there was excellent. High marks all around. We thought Oberammergau was a terrific base for exploring southwestern Bavaria (including Munich) and there are some incredible hiking and biking opportunities starting even right there from the town. Very beautiful place. The wireless internet connection was free and good. No negative comments, although I don't think there is A/C and I can imagine that on a hot day it might take some of the rooms some time to cool down in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Michael and his family are doing their best in order to provide ultimate customer satisfaction. I highly recommend this hotel! The room was large, clean and tide with a lovely balcony. The breakfast was satisfactory, it contained everything that someone would need...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterCHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ammergauer Hof
Ammergauer Hof
#4 of 25 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ferienhaus Fux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferienhaus Fux

Property: Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Address: Mannagasse 2a, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
#1 Green Hotel in Oberammergau
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oberammergau
#1 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ferienhaus Fux 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice family owned Hotel in the center of Oberammergau. Nice large rooms or family apartments. Ideal center spot to visit castle linderhof or castle Neuschwanstein, the passionplaytheater or the Wieskirche. On a rainy day, have your kids play on our indoor playground and you relax in the evening in our sauna / spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ferienhaus Fux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienhaus Fux Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing