We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wittelsbach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wittelsbach
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Room and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

Great place to stay. We didn't have a reservation and just walked in and paid 68 Euros. The room was modern and clean. The bathroom was also very nice with granite counter tops. The room also had a balcony where you could look out on the town. Also breakfast is included in the price

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    80
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
92
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

This hotel is in a great location in a charming town - close to shops, restaurants and museums. We felt it was a good value for the money. It has an elevator, which after two weeks in German gasthauses was a welcome site! There is also a pay laundry facility in the hotel, which was another welcome amenity after two weeks of travel. The staff was very friendly and accomodating when a family emergency at home caused us to need help changing flights back to the US. The rooms were not luxurious, but very clean and spacious. We would stay here again, and would recommend it to budget travelers.

  • Liked — Location, Great staff
  • Disliked — clock tower nearby chimes all night
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

We stayed in this hotel as part of our Alpine tour in August 2006.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It's on the main square on the main drag in Oberammergau. Next door is a convenience store that's very useful for buying snacks or water. You walk out the door and you're surrounded by all of the cutesy stores selling stuff to the tourists.

The rooms themselves are a little too rustic for my taste. Dark paneling and simple ski-lodge type of furniture. The room quality was like that of a hostel or a 50-year old ski lodge.

This was the first hotel that I had stayed in that had a squeeze bottle of body-wash bolted to the shower wall. Another bottle of body-wash is bolted in front of the wash basin. Very utilitarian, but not particularly charming.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — quality of the room
  • Tips/Secrets — It's a very cute town
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2005

Upon first impression, the Wittelsbacher is not very impressive. The stark yellow front faces a man street near the Bahnhof. The non-descript lobby is small, with rooms off to every side where the restaurant and sitting areas are located. They are quite comfortable and quite nice. Although the hotel had said they would endeavor to get me a room with a safe, the manager shrugged his shoulders and said that would not happen. He didn’t seem concerned that I might be concerned. But the hotel did provide a very convenient safety deposit box that solved my problems of security. This lack of concern became a theme during my stay. The front desk were very helpful at times, but completely disinterested at other times, especially when the owner was making the decisions.

The elevator was on the blink, so we walked up the three flights to room 44. It was behind two doors, not sure really what the outer door’s purpose is. The room was very plain, with ugly furniture, a metal cabinet for storage, and a small bed for one. The view out the huge windows was amazing – could see the entire range of mountains surrounding the town, and my balcony, shared with the room next door (that was empty) was very pleasant, if small.

While the hotel seemed plain it did possess a certain charm after you settled in. Wireless internet was available for a 4 Euro per hour, although it could only be reached while sitting in the lobby, and was for one hour that you had to use all at the same time. The second time I used the internet, I lost connection after a half hour and went to the front desk, but they were unwilling to assist me, claiming they just sold the cards and didn’t service them and that it was really my problem. The next day, I was cut off after 25 minutes. I complained to the front desk and the owner/manager flipped out. He started yelling at me, throwing cards at me, telling me the internet was free for me. I tried to calm him down, explaining that he should contact the company he uses to complain, but he just kept throwing cards at me. End of story, they took all internet charges off my bill. With the first new card he gave me, I was cut off after five minutes, so I gave up.

There was an indoor pool and health club area that looked very nice, a nice garden out back, a very good restaurant downstairs, and a very comfortable, albeit small bed. The pillows were soft and very comfy too, with a comforter. There was more than enough storage space, and the bathroom was fine, not big, but had nice amenities, a good shower, and it was spotless. The water pressure was lacking, and the water got very hot on occasion making for a less than perfect shower experience! The single bed was very small and if you are used to a large bed, you won't be happy.

The breakfast was very good, with eggs cooked to order, dried and fresh fruit, muesli, lots of different kinds of bread, cheeses and meats, juices, hot tea or coffee and a very nice room in which to enjoy all of it.

Given the choices in absolutely beautiful Garmisch-Partenkirchen, this is about the nicest hotel, but given the bizarre owner and the slight problems, just be wary.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikestage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lternes, Manager at Hotel Wittelsbach, responded to this review, November 30, 2016
Dear guest,
many thanks for your feedback. This helps us to improve ourselves. Our Wifi is now working in all our rooms.
Kind regards
Your Hotel Wittelsbach-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ammergauer Hof
Ammergauer Hof
#4 of 25 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wittelsbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wittelsbach

Property: Hotel Wittelsbach
Address: Dorfstr. 21, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wittelsbach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wittelsbach is located in the heart of Oberammergau, home of the world famous Passion Play. The hotel has been family owned and operated for many decades. We invite you to enjoy the amenities and the personal style of our 3-star hotel, which combines modern ambience with a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wittelsbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wittelsbach Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing