We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Based on 50 years of travel and living in europe”
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alte Post
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked the hotel Alte Post about 5 months prior to arriving but had seen the hotel many times visiting Oberammergau the past 20 years. I have stayed at other hotels around the town center but the rooms (2) my family and I had (front overview of town center) were much larger than the typical hotels in the area. The rooms were very clean and maintained during our 4 night stay. The breakfast was very good and the front desk reception was excellent. We will return to the hotel Alte Post. Al, Kathy, Ashley & Johnathan

Room Tip: The front rooms are somewhat larger.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_High
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alte Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 200 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Oberammergau. It is truly Bavarian. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Also, recommend visiting the Passion Play Theater. I saw the play in 2010, and it will be done again in 2020. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogluver315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had traveled from a cheaper area and had been camping so 95€ seemed a shock but comparing against what we sampled later this Hotel is excellent value in a superb position in a top tourist destination so the price was reasonable. Your bang in the center of Oberammergau and to get up and walk to the church at 7,30 before the tourists arrive with the cinnamon smell of the bakeries wafting in the streets was magical.The staff are helpful and friendly, and though they don`t make a big play of it, they will cook sausage, bacon and eggs to order for you. First rate. One gripe, stop charging for WiFi

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bedspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a charming little hotel in an excellent location. Why the terrible rating? The staff! We were with a tour (45 people) and my thought was they just didn't know how to accommodate that many people. We were referred to as "The Americans" with rude wait staff at the front desk, and in the dinning room. First night we asked if there was room service - said yes, and brought coffee up. (This young man was the ONLY helpful person working). Second night, asked if we could have room service - told no but wouldn't serve us in restaurant either. Finally, the waiter brought us 4 cups of coffee to the tune of 25 Euros - translates to $10.00 per cup - and brought to us in disgust.
Because we were such a large group we ordered from a preset menu for dinner on day two. I ordered chicken. Waiters kept passing me, I would indicate chicken, but was never served. Had to speak to tour guide, was told no more chicken. Ok, so I had over done schnitzel. I had ordered chocolate mousse for dessert. Waiter put in front of me, then took it away. When I asked for my chocolate dessert was told there was no more left. AVOID this hotel if you are in a large group!!!

Room Tip: Each room is different. Ask if they will show you the room before you agree to stay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingGal1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Alte Post in Oberammergau zentrum. What a great experience! It's a typical family run hotel with modern amenities including WIFI anywhere. The full breakfast with eggs cooked to your liking only made it better. All the desk personnel spoke English beautfifully and were most helpful with assisting us in navigating the area as many roads were closed or dangerous due to heavy snow. Without doubt Oberammeragau and Hotel Alte Post in particular are wonderful experiences to be enjoyed during Christmas and the winter months.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTJack71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Alte Post was our base for 5 nights on a Treyn tour to Bavaria, and it was delightful. Our room was very well appointed and comfortable, the bathroom was excellent. It was always warm, too, so important when it's freezing outside. The breakfast was first class, always a great spread. We would have liked somewhere more comfortable to sit in the evenings apart from the Stubel - a lounge area would be a great asset. Food on a package holiday is always a bit dull, and this wasn't any exception, but what we had was always well cooked, and they were very helpful with a guest who had strict dietary restrictions. Also, it's ideally located in the centre of the town. the staff are extremely good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatheruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Alte Post every January for 14 years and the welcome and standard of service remains consistently good. Rooms are clean and spacious. Anton Jr and his team look after guests impeccably.

Breakfast is the usual German fare and of high quality.

The hotel has it's own private car park and the hotel is situated in the centre of the village. WiFi works throughout the hotel and available on a payment basis.

Room Tip: Views are good from the front of the hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadioTircoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#16 of 25 in Oberammergau
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Address: Dorfstr. 19, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range: $107 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Post 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its first-rate facilities, the Hotel Alte Post is theperfect accomodation for all visitors to Oberammergau,whether for vacation or business.There are many sightseeing activities nearby, the Passionplaytheater is a five-minute walk away and there are a variety of shops in the pedestrian zone right outside the front door.Day trips to the nearby castles of Linderhof andNeuschwanstein bring the royal flair of Ludwig II tothe present. The cheese dairy and distillery in Ettal Abbey are definitely worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing