We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and charming”
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alte Post
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Cosy and charming”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Alte Post was our base for 5 nights on a Treyn tour to Bavaria, and it was delightful. Our room was very well appointed and comfortable, the bathroom was excellent. It was always warm, too, so important when it's freezing outside. The breakfast was first class, always a great spread. We would have liked somewhere more comfortable to sit in the evenings apart from the Stubel - a lounge area would be a great asset. Food on a package holiday is always a bit dull, and this wasn't any exception, but what we had was always well cooked, and they were very helpful with a guest who had strict dietary restrictions. Also, it's ideally located in the centre of the town. the staff are extremely good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatheruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    55
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
82
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Alte Post every January for 14 years and the welcome and standard of service remains consistently good. Rooms are clean and spacious. Anton Jr and his team look after guests impeccably.

Breakfast is the usual German fare and of high quality.

The hotel has it's own private car park and the hotel is situated in the centre of the village. WiFi works throughout the hotel and available on a payment basis.

Room Tip: Views are good from the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadioTircoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Alte Post for three days during a Christmas tour of Germany.

The first thing that I must report is that Oberammergau is stunningly beautiful in the snow. I felt as if I had stumbled onto the set of a Hollywood movie. Oberammergau lies high in the German Alps. There is one peak nearby, the Kofel, which rises even higher, and it seems always to be looking over you.

The Hotel Alte Post is a bit kitschy, but mostly cozy. For instance, my room had paneling on three walls and on the ceiling. It was very old paneling, which gave off a lovely warm glow. My room also had a religious triptych floating above the head of my bed. Since I am Catholic, this did not bother me much, but someone who is not Catholic might find this alarming. I was traveling with a tour, and one of the other travelers said that she had mounted antlers above her bed. We thought this was a hoot.

The beds are European style, which means that single rooms really have single beds. Double rooms have two single beds placed next to each other in a king-sized frame. I need space when I sleep, so I just moved one of the single mattresses from the king-sized frame across the room and placed it on the floor. It was quite comfortable.

The breakfast at this hotel is incredible. The bread is out of this world, the cold cuts are tasty, the cheeses are delectable, the jams are sublime, and the espresso machine,once mastered, makes very good cappuccino.

The staff is friendly and efficient-- especially young Felix, who speaks perfect English. If you need something and they can get it for you, they will.

The Hotel Alte Post is a little odd, but all the more charming because of it. I rate it a winner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickB755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Loved it. Just perfect. Our room was very comfortable, clean, warm and spacious. The food and the restaurant was exceptional we spoilt ourselves with Christmas Dinner and had a full five course meal. Excellent, very tasty and prepared and served with pride and much love for what they do. Breakfast was the norm with the added benefit of ordering eggs, bacon etc. The village of Oberammergau was a pleasant surprise, we walked the streets and found many interesting shops and eating places. The village has a ski slope so skiing is also on offer. We travelled by train from Munich which in itself was a great trip as you see the countryside and experience the local people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divediva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
233 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We loved it from check in to check out. The decoration of the room was pleasant. Room was well-heated as well as bathroom, very welcome in the snowy weather. Wifi worked perfectly and there is a private parking place just next to the hotel. Everything we needed for our two-day stay in the area. We even tried the restaurant : waitress was awfully nice and we had the opportunity to taste an incredible dessert, the Kaiserschmarren, not to be missed (but one is enough for two!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisandVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here one night, before castles tour. Very nice atmosphere. Rooms with a touch of the old good Europe, cozy and comfortable. Large and modern bathroom. No air conditioner, but I don't think it's necessary there. Lovely town and beautiful views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexa1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed in the Alte Post many times for business, but this is the 1st time I have written a reveiw about it.

We had a 'comfort room' this had no balcony but overlooked the main stret, it was perfectly OK, quite spacey, a little dark but an old style bedroom with character which seems to have been replaced by 'a one style fits all' room. You know the same room you can find all over the world, this one was quinticentially German.

We went to the Plansee, about a 30 minute drive away, if you are planning on visiting Linderhof while you are in O'gau continue on for another 20 minutes, the beauty of the lake is breathtaking, it was the 1st time I had taken my wife there and she could not believe the colour of the water.

The breakfast is, well we went to a cafe across the road, it is, by German standards, basic, do not expect too much then you will not be disappointed.

Stay again, yes, but only for business if I were going as a tourist I would probably look at one of the other hotels in O'gau.

Room Tip: If you want atmosphere go for the comfort room, if you want modern go for the de-lux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsbach200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Property: Hotel Alte Post
Address: Dorfstr. 19, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Post 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its first-rate facilities, the Hotel Alte Post is theperfect accomodation for all visitors to Oberammergau,whether for vacation or business.There are many sightseeing activities nearby, the Passionplaytheater is a five-minute walk away and there are a variety of shops in the pedestrian zone right outside the front door.Day trips to the nearby castles of Linderhof andNeuschwanstein bring the royal flair of Ludwig II tothe present. The cheese dairy and distillery in Ettal Abbey are definitely worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing