We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Bold
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
618 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a beautiful area”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is such a lovely area of Bavaria, and this hotel fits right in. The staff is welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room itself is much larger than most we stayed in with a sofa, table, and chair plus a large computer desk with another chair. Ample storage and clean bathroom.

No A/C but it was quite cool at night (August), and we didn't need it. Church bells woke us up at 6:00 am ringing for quite some time. Beds and pillows could have been more comfortable. Free wifi worked well.

Breakfast buffet was ok but nothing special. Coffee was the weakest we had in Germany. Some people like it that way. We don't.

Walking distance to the small town with many cute shops and restaurants. Across the street is a canal with a walking path. Nice. Good location for visiting some castles.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
17
40
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel two nights in July 2014. Not only is the hotel very nice but the village is very interesting. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. Two things to note: First, a wood carver was making a life-size carving in the lounge area that was very interesting to watch. Secondly, if you have wash and fold laundry, let them know in the afternoon and they will wash it overnight at no charge. Any items needing ironing have a per item charge. For travelers on long itineraries, this is a very nice service.

Unfortunately, it rained the entire time we were at the hotel so we did not see as much of the property or the village as we would have liked, but what we saw makes us want to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went to Bavaria in the south of Germany for a few days hiking in the alps. The Boeld hotel is close to the Oberammergau village center with walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and about 1 km to the cabin taking you up the mountain where several trails start. We were very happy with the hotel. The room was clean, large, and modern with nice furniture and a balcony with a view over the mountains. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet during nights. The breakfast was fine with a good choice of cold and hot dishes. The complimentary WiFi worked in most places in the hotel but there were a few corners with poor coverage. Best thing was the staff that really cared about us having a good holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenSkibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was part of a travel group and typically the solo travellers are allocated smaller, less desirable located rooms which was particularly noticable in this hotel. My room was on the ground floor at the very end of the hallway and the decor was very dated. Obviously not one of the large or renovated rooms that other reviewers have raved about or are shown as "photos from Managment" on the web sight.

Being on the ground floor, I didn't feel secure leaving the window open at night and since there wasn't any a/c, the temperature was uncomfortably warm for me. My room also had a few ants, I suppose being next to an exit door they find their way in. The shower grout was starting to form mould and the carpet was most definitely overdue for replacement.

Though Oberammergau is a lovely town and the hotel is a couple minutes walk down the path to the town centre, unless I was guaranteed a better quality room - I would not return. The meals were good, but not great and the reception was unable to give me directions for the in room safe that had no written directions on it or anywhere else in the room. Like how many digits do you need for the password? Do you press the "enter" or "close" button? "I don't know" and then turned to what she was looking at on her screen.

Others in my group were happy enough with "their" rooms - but going by their descriptions, they obviously had a completely different product than I had. A bit of a disappointment to my otherwise enjoyable two day stop in Oberammergau.

Room Tip: Definitely reserve a recently renovated room and not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vansportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in April 2014. The hotel is located within walking distance to "downtown" Oberammagau…shopping, the church, restaurants. The room and bathroom I was outdated, but it appeared to be clean enough (I found a daddy long leg spider. Ugh). Bring your own lotion and hair conditioner.

The breakfast was good with the usual deli meats, bread, and eggs, but did not have as many hot choices as other hotels I have stayed in. Dinner service was professional and the food is excellent. The staff speak English well and free wifi is strong and available throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most enjoyable hotels I have ever stayed in. I got upgraded into a suite and the rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfast (included) includes cold cuts, fruits, bread juice and more. The dinner was excellent-my first time eating schnitzel. The hotel also has a sauna lounge and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

The only drawbacks are the soft pillows and the neat feature that requires me to insert my room key to power the room electricity. When I leave, I can pull my key and all the room lights and tv go out. When I come back, everything resumes how I left it- unfortunately that means the clock radio resets every day.

I tally like this place and would come again, but with my family.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This family-run hotel hosts many international guests. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. You can choose from many cold cuts, breads, fruit, cereal and eggs. In addition, you can always request scrambled eggs with bacon, specialty coffees and those items are all included. Rosie, the owner, will spoil you rotten. With each stay, you also receive a discount/freebie card that gives you many benefits, such as free rentals, admission to local attractions and much more. The only reason why I am not giving it a rating of excellence is the beds. The pillows were very uncomfortable and the mattress was just ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _simply_my_2_cents_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#15 of 25 in Oberammergau
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Bold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Bold

Property: Romantik Hotel Bold
Address: Koenig-Ludwig-Str. 10, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Böld)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oberammergau
#4 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Bold 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Welcome at the Romantic Hotel Böld Oberammergau! With naturalness and warmth, we create the atmosphere, which is necessary to fulfill the high expectations of our guests think. * With relish sleeping under our 4-star sky * Fine Dining in our restaurant or conservatory * Creative days in a rural idyll In our hotel you will live with all the amenities you could wish for in a family-run, is very important in the hospitality. Our rooms are spread over 2 wings of the hotel. The country-style rooms feature amenities such as satellite TV, radio, telephone, wireless, or LAN connection, desk, safe, minibar and some have a balcony or terrace. All rooms are Non smoking rooms. Our hotel offers a total of 60 Non smoking rooms including 6 suites and allergy sufferers and rooms for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Romantik Hotel Bold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Landhotel Boeld Hotel Oberammergau
Landhotel Hotel Oberammergau
Landhotel Hotel Boeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing