We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Bold
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I spent 5 days here whilst on a course at the NATO School and found thelevel of service, the food and the facilities all of a high standard. Many thanks to all the staff who help maked my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 173 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in December. Hotel is situated in very convenient position, just round the corner from the town centre. Plenty of parking available. Nice restaurant, good breakfast (even if everyday the same), very friendly staff.
One potentially big fallback. Depending on availability you might get a new room or an old one and the difference is abyssal. New rooms are spacious, well equipped, flat tv, very comfortable. Old rooms are crumped, old furniture, big TVs hanging on the wall (against which you will most likely bang your head a few times), no room for case. The difference in price betweeen the two rooms is irrelevant. Hopefully the hotel will soon be able to refurbish the older part of the hotel in order to deliver a standard of quality as that described on their website to all guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was staffed by some of the friendliest people I've ever met! From the moment we walked in the door until we checked out our every need was met. The hotel boasts beautiful rooms, an intimate bar, an amazing restaurant (the best food I've ever eaten-Salmon tar-tar & Wild Ragout), a relaxing and varied [swimwear-free] spa (included in hotel stay - sauna, steam room, experience showers, foot baths, extra-large wooden bath tub and relaxation area). The hotel was fully booked and we were never bothered by any noise. Everything was so quiet. We were traveling with an almost-3-year-old and used the baby cot provided by the hotel. Even my son slept well. I don't usually vote to return to places after I've visited, but this hotel is in top competition for our next trip to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikaweez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Boeld in late October 2012 with German friends with whom we were visiting King Ludwig's castles. Our friends researched the best hotel to stay at in Oberammergau and they sure did a good job! This hotel is outstanding: very comfortable, superb food, friendly service and the owner - Frau Hans - is such a nice person and very involved with the hotel operation. Our room was spacious and the bathroom excellent. What we remember especially is the quality of the food, the highlight being the Sunday night "Bavarian BBQ", a truly exceptional array of meats - goose, duck, crispy pork. Thank you so much, Frau Hans, for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent experience for family vacation during the fall school brake. The staff of this hotel is professional and friendly. We definetly recommend it and looking forward staying there again. You must have dinner and a drink at the bar of the hotel. Worth the money you will spend.

Room Tip: Suites are large. Choose room with view at the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evangelos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great time at the Hotel Bold. Extremely nice rooms and staff who all spoke excellent English. The location is great with a short walk to get downtown and you dont have to pay for parking which is abundant. Views were great and food was exceptionally good. One of the best hotels i have stayed in and muich quieter than downtown. My wife was also impressed they offered her the option of tap water instead of selling us bottled. Would love to go and stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites are expenseive but worth it. Every room has a balcony which is really nice. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljlentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just come back from a business trip and stayed at the Bold again. As I was with my wife, we were accommodated in the Kofel Suite. Massive bathroom and balcony and very clean and comfortable siting room and bedroom. Although on the front of the hotel overlooking the road, most traffic noise had died down well before midnight.
The food in the restaurant was well cooked and presented and very tasty.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming and it was very nice to be recognised from previous visits, especially by Frau Hans!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Nevis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#16 of 25 in Oberammergau
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Bold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Bold

Address: Koenig-Ludwig-Str. 10, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Böld)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oberammergau
#4 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range: $119 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Bold 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Welcome at the Romantic Hotel Böld Oberammergau! With naturalness and warmth, we create the atmosphere, which is necessary to fulfill the high expectations of our guests think. * With relish sleeping under our 4-star sky * Fine Dining in our restaurant or conservatory * Creative days in a rural idyll In our hotel you will live with all the amenities you could wish for in a family-run, is very important in the hospitality. Our rooms are spread over 2 wings of the hotel. The country-style rooms feature amenities such as satellite TV, radio, telephone, wireless, or LAN connection, desk, safe, minibar and some have a balcony or terrace. All rooms are Non smoking rooms. Our hotel offers a total of 60 Non smoking rooms including 6 suites and allergy sufferers and rooms for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Romantik Hotel Bold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Landhotel Boeld Hotel Oberammergau
Landhotel Hotel Oberammergau
Landhotel Hotel Boeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing