We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Example of Gemütlichkeit”
Review of Hotel Schilcherhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schilcherhof
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Perfect Example of Gemütlichkeit”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Eight students, another chaperon and I stayed at the Schilcerhof for two nights as part of our package to see the Passion Play in Oberammergau. Were the rooms deluxe accommodations? No. However, they were clean, the house was quiet at night, but most of all, the level of service made you feel like you were staying with family -- and I mean that in a good way.

When you arrange to attend the Passion Play, the package includes two nights at a hotel, all your meals, tickets for the play, and a guidebook with the dialogue and lyrics in German and a second language, in our case, English. Everything was in order at the hotel and our individual tickets for the meals and play were waiting for us. Typical German efficiency.

There was some initial confusion by the desk clerk over the distribution of our group's rooms, but I never saw that person again during our stay. Everyone in the family helped us with our bags, answered any questions, welcomed us to a wonderfully-presented breakfast, and held the door for us whenever we returned to their hotel.

I had a double room, which was a good size and included a balcony overlooking the Bahnhofstrasse. There was a small TV in a far corner but I could not for the life of me get the remote to work, so I tuned the TV the "old-fashioned way" to CNBC and just left it there. The bathroom was modest but very clean. My room was tidied by housekeeping while I was at breakfast. There was a second dining room in which coffee, beer and soft drinks were served during the day, which is also where a computer was located.

I saw some people eating at the hotel later in the day yet there was no mention of provisions for meals other than breakfast. Our package included lunch and dinner at their sister property, owned by the same family, the Hotel Wolf, which was, literally, across the street. Everyone in our group agreed that the meals there were the best of the entire trip, which also included Rome, Assisi, Salzburg and Munich. If you are in Oberammergau, I strongly recommend meals at the Hotel Wolf.

The Passion Play Theater was around the corner for our hotel, again making this location very convenient. The production was a true spectacle -- stunning for the sheer size of the cast; the quality of the acting, singing and musicians; and the tableaux vivants, the "living pictures" of biblical scenes between acts.

The weather put a damper on our visit. One June 1 we had snow flurries. Our visit was during the long stretch of rain southern Bavaria experienced in May and June. However, the warmth of our hosts made up for the dreary weather. They even told us to bring the blankets in our closets to the theater so we would be warm. When they bid us a fond "Auf Wiedersehen!" it truly was with the hope They would see us again.

We originally were supposed to stay at a rather ritzy resort in Murnau, but they way things worked out, this was much better. The convenience of walking from our hotel to any of the many woodcarving shops, the beautiful parish church, a drug store, restaurants, and the theater made the Schilcherhof an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
19
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heacham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

What a lovely hotel. The lasting memories of our one night stay here won't be of the room (more of that later) but of the way we were treated by the hotel host/hostess and staff, it was as if they'd known us years and we were friends.

The room (number 22) was not fashionable or trendy - it was homely and clean and incredibly welcoming. It felt like coming home! It was also a very reasonable price.

We were minutes away from the town centre and its facilities. We were able to go for a run by the river which was very close to the hotel, which was a bonus for us.

At breakfast there was an English lady who worked there and she was very welcoming, keen to make sure our boiled eggs were cooked to perfection (they were). Breakfast was very good. But it was the way she and the lady hotel owner (I think that's who she was) included us in their very excitable conversations about the upcoming Passion Play that really made us feel as if we were old friends. I was sorry to have to leave.

Thanks to everyone we came into contact with at Der Schilcherhof, it was a pleasure to meet you all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Frau Schilcher-Thilo was very gracious and welcoming... treated like a VIP for my two days at the hotel. Service was the best... and great European breakfast in the morning. The rooms were very clearn. Less than a 2 minute walk and your in the heart of the shopping area and only one block away from the biker/running trail that goes into the Alps.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitsofBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

This is a charming hotel with a typical Bavarian atmosphere!
The Bavarian styled rooms are warm(winter), well appointed and very clean.
A fantastic buffet breakfast is served each morning and Mrs Thilo-Schilcher has to be the most welcoming and attentive hostess.
Everyone seems to speak english which is a great help!
You almost feel part of the family..........
The hotel is very well situated (not far from railway station, in town centre, within 10/15 mins walk to ski slopes), with magnificient views on the Kofel and many rooms have their own balconies.
Lovely sunny garden.
Good value for money.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Warm, clean, simple
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2005

Rooms were decorated in a 1950's style, but were very clean. The hotel is perfect for the budget traveller. Location is good, but I would have preferred to stay somewhere off the main road in Oberammagau. The hosts at breakfast were the friendliest we had on our 2 week German family. Breakfast was excellent for this budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandhopper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2005

A Fairy Tale Journey

Just south of Munich, Germany one enters the majestic Alps where the magical
village of Oberammergau lies in the Ammer River valley. In the heart of this famous
Village, acclaimed for its Passion Play and intricate woodcarvings , is the
Schilcherhof Hotel-Cafe.
A stay in the Schilcherhof and Oberammergau is to embark on a fairy tale odyssey.
By entering this story book kingdom you stroll among the captivating fresco
painted houses, encountering the “Little Red Riding Hood” house, then gazing across
the street to view the “Hanzel and Gretal”House, as they vanquish the “Wicked
Witch”. These are just the beginning of the enchanting discoveries near this family
owned hotel. The friendly welcome by the Schilcher-Thilo family will entice you to
return to this bewitching place.
This is the ideal location to visit the “Fairy Tale King” Ludwig II’s exotic castle,
Linderhof, his smallest and most beautiful castle. It is just a short distance from this
enchanting Village. Linderhof, with the magnificent gardens, is the only Castle that
was completed in King Ludwig’s life time. The spectacular Neuschanstein and
Hohenschwangau Castles, his boyhood home, are also within an hour’s drive.
Just three kilometers away, on the route to Garmisch, a world renown resort , is the
beautiful Baroque Monastery, Ettal. This Benedictine Abbey is adorned by some the
most inspiring religious fresco paintings north of Florence and Rome. The Altar
center- piece, Madonna and Child, a priceless Icon, was stolen from the High Altar of
this Abbey in 1990, creating a major tumult throughout Christendom.
The family Schilcher-Thilo, the proprietors of the Schilcherhof Hotel , were hailed
as heroes when this miraculous statue was recovered , buried in their garden,
remaining there for five months before its safe return to Ettal. It is a fascinating and
intriguing experience to hear this wondrous story.
Any traveler will recognize the lure of being a guest in such a perfect location for
restful reflection, a touch of history and the stunning beauty of the mountains in this
part of southern Germany. Located off the nearby Romantic Road, the ancient route
from Rome to the northern outposts of Augsburg, Rothenburg and Wurtzburg, it is an
ideal place to explore a glorious part of Europe. The Schilcherhof Hotel-Cafe
welcomes you !

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 6, 2005

Have stayed many times. Family Thilo always made me feel as though I wa a part of their family. Gerti also makes the best pastries I've ever eaten!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#15 of 25 in Oberammergau
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schilcherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schilcherhof

Property: Hotel Schilcherhof
Address: Bahnhofstr. 17, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Schilcherhof 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schilcherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schilcherhof Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing