We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel... Treated like Royal Family”
Review of Hotel Schilcherhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schilcherhof
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel... Treated like Royal Family”
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Frau Schilcher-Thilo was very gracious and welcoming... treated like a VIP for my two days at the hotel. Service was the best... and great European breakfast in the morning. The rooms were very clearn. Less than a 2 minute walk and your in the heart of the shopping area and only one block away from the biker/running trail that goes into the Alps.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitsofBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
19
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

This is a charming hotel with a typical Bavarian atmosphere!
The Bavarian styled rooms are warm(winter), well appointed and very clean.
A fantastic buffet breakfast is served each morning and Mrs Thilo-Schilcher has to be the most welcoming and attentive hostess.
Everyone seems to speak english which is a great help!
You almost feel part of the family..........
The hotel is very well situated (not far from railway station, in town centre, within 10/15 mins walk to ski slopes), with magnificient views on the Kofel and many rooms have their own balconies.
Lovely sunny garden.
Good value for money.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Warm, clean, simple
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2005

Rooms were decorated in a 1950's style, but were very clean. The hotel is perfect for the budget traveller. Location is good, but I would have preferred to stay somewhere off the main road in Oberammagau. The hosts at breakfast were the friendliest we had on our 2 week German family. Breakfast was excellent for this budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandhopper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2005

A Fairy Tale Journey

Just south of Munich, Germany one enters the majestic Alps where the magical
village of Oberammergau lies in the Ammer River valley. In the heart of this famous
Village, acclaimed for its Passion Play and intricate woodcarvings , is the
Schilcherhof Hotel-Cafe.
A stay in the Schilcherhof and Oberammergau is to embark on a fairy tale odyssey.
By entering this story book kingdom you stroll among the captivating fresco
painted houses, encountering the “Little Red Riding Hood” house, then gazing across
the street to view the “Hanzel and Gretal”House, as they vanquish the “Wicked
Witch”. These are just the beginning of the enchanting discoveries near this family
owned hotel. The friendly welcome by the Schilcher-Thilo family will entice you to
return to this bewitching place.
This is the ideal location to visit the “Fairy Tale King” Ludwig II’s exotic castle,
Linderhof, his smallest and most beautiful castle. It is just a short distance from this
enchanting Village. Linderhof, with the magnificent gardens, is the only Castle that
was completed in King Ludwig’s life time. The spectacular Neuschanstein and
Hohenschwangau Castles, his boyhood home, are also within an hour’s drive.
Just three kilometers away, on the route to Garmisch, a world renown resort , is the
beautiful Baroque Monastery, Ettal. This Benedictine Abbey is adorned by some the
most inspiring religious fresco paintings north of Florence and Rome. The Altar
center- piece, Madonna and Child, a priceless Icon, was stolen from the High Altar of
this Abbey in 1990, creating a major tumult throughout Christendom.
The family Schilcher-Thilo, the proprietors of the Schilcherhof Hotel , were hailed
as heroes when this miraculous statue was recovered , buried in their garden,
remaining there for five months before its safe return to Ettal. It is a fascinating and
intriguing experience to hear this wondrous story.
Any traveler will recognize the lure of being a guest in such a perfect location for
restful reflection, a touch of history and the stunning beauty of the mountains in this
part of southern Germany. Located off the nearby Romantic Road, the ancient route
from Rome to the northern outposts of Augsburg, Rothenburg and Wurtzburg, it is an
ideal place to explore a glorious part of Europe. The Schilcherhof Hotel-Cafe
welcomes you !

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 6, 2005

Have stayed many times. Family Thilo always made me feel as though I wa a part of their family. Gerti also makes the best pastries I've ever eaten!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 26, 2004

Hello Fellow Travelers, Looking for a cozy place to rest your head and feed your soul.Well we found that place;it's Der Schilcherhof Hotel & Cafe in Oberammergau.Our stay at this wonderful Inn and village was unforgettable. The adjectives to describe the Pension are pristine,spacious,full of Bavarian charm, and their pastries are to die for. The Innkeepers, Schilcher-Thilo Family did a fantastic job tending to a traveler's needs and making each room feel cozy and safe. The location is ideal, it's walking distance to quaint shops, restaurants, Passion Play Theater, ski slopes,cross country trails, and many more attractions and activities.This is a place you can visit any time of the year. Our visit was a winter wonderland and we look forward to returning in the splendor of the springtime when the countryside and window boxes are filled with floral delights. We left a piece of our hearts there, and we will return. Happy trails. The Dyers

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ammergauer Hof
Ammergauer Hof
#4 of 25 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schilcherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schilcherhof

Property: Hotel Schilcherhof
Address: Bahnhofstr. 17, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Schilcherhof 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schilcherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schilcherhof Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing