We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Gasthof”
Review of Gasthof Zur Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Zur Rose
Ranked #5 of 13 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Gasthof”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

After a long journey of some 12 hours we received a friendly welcome from the owners and a very welcome 'we can do the paperwork tomorrow' approach. Prior to booking I had read some reviews which criticised the rooms, however, our room (the Jnr suite) was excellent. The suite is ideal for families, it has 2 bedrooms and a very large bathroom. It had recently been refurbished and was bright, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was superb having a large bath and a separate shower.

I had also booked a double room for my sister and her partner this room had also been refurbished. The en-suite while not massive was more than acceptable and overall my sister and her partner were also very pleased with their room.

All the staff were very helpful and spoke good english which compensated for my appalling german. The bar was nice with good reasonably priced drinks. We ate in the restaurant once during our week in Oberammergau and the food was of very good quality and reasonably priced. We would have gladly used it again but enjoy trying other local restaurants. Breakfast was of the traditional German style and again was good.

I have over the years stayed in many German Pensions and Gashofs and found the Zur Rose to be a very good one, it has a central location, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a good bar and restaurant. I would highly highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwhite64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
15
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Following a disastrous journey of more than 9 hours, I was deposited at 0200 hours by a grumpy German taxi driver at the NATO school to find that the school lodge was locked and closed for the night. A Google search found Gasthof Rose. My call was answered instantly and an offer to collect me immediately made. Arriving 7 minutes later, my host spoke excellent English and he made every effort to ensure my comfort for the next two days. The room was clean, warm and had a sun-facing balcony that I wish I had more time to enjoy. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We went for the Passion Play and spent two nights there. It was very relaxed and friendly. The rooms were simple but clean and the service was good. The bath room was a very small cubicle with WC, bacin and shower, but Ok for two nights. Food was very good. If we had been there for a whole week we'd have wanted something a bit more up market, but for two days it was ideal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRedburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

On arrival, you are met with the scene of a traditional Bavarian Gasthof; pretty and quite pleasant and welcoming staff. Having collected my key, it was up the stairs to the room. It was not good, a small single with an even smaller shower and toilet cubicle. The washbasin was suitable for washing hands, but not for a morning shave - about 12 inches across. The room was spartan and lacked any character and just felt very boring and unwelcoming. That was the down side. On the credit side; a reasonable breakfast, free internet, and close to town. In summary, would I stay there again - very unlikely. Talking to colleagues in other hotels and gasthofs, there are much better out there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cervelo_rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Simple hotel, but great for a stay! Extremely friendly staff, although they are always on the go. The owners speak English and you can tell they work hard on running the business. The owner even called to set up massage appointments for us when we asked for a place to go for massages.

Location is great - lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance, although the hotel has a great restaurant on sight. I believe they served Lowenbrau beer.

Rooms are nothing fancy but cozy. The best was the free wireless internet and they even had a laptop in the foyer to use at no charge.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank papgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We only had a day and a half in Bavaria, which is no where near enough to see the most beautiful place in the world, but Gasthof Zur Rose made the short stay wonderful. The rooms are average in comfort and design, but you have everything you need and the people are the best. We had to leave at 6 am for Switzerland, and our hostess had 4 large, delicious breakfasts waiting at the door for us. The breakfast provided at the hotel, which we enjoyed the day before our departure, was large and varied: yoghurt, fruit, breads, cereal, several beverages and meat. If you are in Germany, apple struedel is a must, and the struedel at Zur Rose is the best. We tried another restaurant and it didn't match what we had at Zur Rose. We had a lovely stay.

  • Liked — Friendly people and great food
  • Disliked — Beds were slightly hard
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Enjoyed a pleasant stay at Zur Rose. Very quiet off of back street but not far from main tourist areas. Very nice smells coming out of kitchen when we arrived. Our room was clean and comfortable with a door opening to a shared balcony that had some great views of the surrounding mountains. Enjoyed a few late afternoons on the balcony with some nice German and Italian wines. There was free internet to catch up on emails. The breakfast was very good each morning and the company was pleasant. i was a bit disappointed with the lack of friendliness from the owner and staff. It seemed as though they could have cared less if we were there or not. Overall our stay was very nice for the price but we might try another place if we go back.

  • Liked — views of the mountains, clean facility
  • Disliked — staff not real outgoing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glovetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#15 of 25 in Oberammergau
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Zur Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Zur Rose

Property: Gasthof Zur Rose
Address: Dedlerstr. 9, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthof Zur Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Zur Rose Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing