We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bavarian Charm...and Food”
Review of Gasthof Zum Stern

Gasthof Zum Stern
Ranked #8 of 51 Restaurants in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Conestoga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
270 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Bavarian Charm...and Food”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We visited Oberammergau as a group and had dinner at the Stern in the evening. We were given our own room which accommodated our 22 people well. The atmosphere was wonderful as the rooms consisted of intersecting vaulted ceilings with an old warming stove in the corner. The service was very good, though the waitress seemed a bit overwhelmed in her demeanor...but that would be understandable with some many people to take care of at one time. She looked continually concerned but was friendly and efficient. The food was simply excellent. My son had the schnitzel and enjoyed it very much. I had the Schweinhaxe, and it was excellent! The portions were large, and the costs were reasonable. The combination of atmosphere, good food, and reasonable price translates to someplace we would certainly enjoy visiting again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    70
    22
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Order the schniztle!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This may have been one my favorite meal of our trip. We had the schnitzel and I almost licked the plate. Great prices, good service and a meal I couldn't stop raving about.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeLeeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Bavarian kitchen”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Yeah! Good food in local athmosphere. Service was really kind and beautiful. Menu has opportunities enough both local and most common dishes. Thank you so much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOPLpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great steak and spatzle!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

You know you are in a good restaurant when you get curious looks from the locals when you walk through the door...it's as if they are thinking:how did these fellows find our local hideout? Famished from our walk,we ordered a steak with fried onions and spatzle, a German pasta with cheese and fried onions. My gosh it was super yummy!! The steak was cooked just right,the herb butter was lovely when spread over the steak and the spatzle was real comfort food. But what took us by surprise was the fried onions...cooked so simply but tasted so yummy it completed the meal... This place is a must go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samjogoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good bavarian food”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Local patrons were well represented on the night we ate here. Service was good. Spatzles were excellent,as was the weiner schnitzle. The wine was disappointing. We requested a dry wine, but it was rather sweet. The server told us this was the driest they had. Overall we had a good meal at a good price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Zum Stern also viewed

Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gasthof Zum Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing