We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Turmwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Turmwirt
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Family run bed and breakfast that makes you feel welcomed...very friendly and helpful, easy check-in, superb room, clean, comfortable bed, free wifi, small gym with sauna, awesome breakfast (hit the spot), and parking....the B&B is centrally located, easy access to the town (many restaurants and pubs near-by)...would highly recommend to family and friends...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Viator8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is such a sweet and cozy place to stay. It´s a family owned business and their kindness and friendly disposition makes you feel right at home. All the essential facilities and services are available, wireless internet, little gym, sauna, generous breakfast, proper room service, laundry, parking.... The location is right in the heart of this charming little town. The room rate is very reasonable.
I would definately stay here again! Danke :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrza313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel was very nice. Clean. The owners were great. They also allow pets which is a bonus. The only advice I have for you of you choose to stay here is to keep your windows closed. The hotel is located across the street from a Church whose bells ring literally every 15 minutes all night long. We had ours open to keep the dogs happy, and slept terribly due to the church bells dinging every 15 minutes.

Other than that, they hotel was very nice.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 2 days recently and have no complaints whatsoever. When we arrived after cycling most of the day the owner met us and helped us to store the bikes giving us the room keys. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable and had a balcony. The owners speak good english and made us most welcome and offered us advice and discounted tickets when we asked about the local cable car. The hotel is very close to all the shops and amenities.
We were greeted at breakfast and offered freshly cooked eggs and bacon as well as the usual buffet style breakfast. The waitresses came in on a regular basis to top up the buffet.
This is the 5th time we have visited Oberammergau and this hotel is the nicest one that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pie-eater-1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Decent price. Rooms are clean, comfy, tidy. Restaurant has a nice breakfast. Parking can be an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmateurAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I organised a week's visit in June 2012 for a group of 25 adults and 8 children. The hotel location is ideally situated amid the attractively decorative buildings of Oberammergau and equally so as a base for excursions into the magnificent scenery of the wider geographical area.The well appointed hotel is immaculately clean and comfortable and is operated in a most friendly manner by all the staff. Evening meals of "Bavarian fare" provided for my group were extremely good whilst breakfasts were plentiful and sufficiently varied to suit all tastes. Comprehensive local knowledge of the hotelier proved most useful in the arranging of excursions and my group thoroughly enjoyed each and every day of their stay in the fine Hotel Turmwirt. Highly recommended for either group or individual/family stays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toyotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a good stay with a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price. The staff took good care of us and helped me find some gas on Good Friday during a snow storm. The best restaurant in town is across the street (the Max Brau) and it is a five minute stroll to the Alte Post. We had an excellent breakfast each morning with superb coffee and friendly service. When we left, someone had cleaned the snow off of our car while cleaning the lot. There is limited parking but a lot of guests came on small bus tours and had no need. The room is used for skiing etc so the rugs get some wear but there was an excellent shower. We used the common computer which was very accessible and had a printer. There also are sauna and exercise facilities we did not use.

Room Tip: Ask the second floor at the back (room 24).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#13 of 25 in Oberammergau
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turmwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turmwirt

Address: Ettaler Str. 2, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range: $125 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Turmwirt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turmwirt is a 3 Star Superior rated Hotel with newly renovated rooms and spa. The family Glas operates this house and will give you a superb stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Turmwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turmwirt Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing