We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Turmwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Turmwirt
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is such a sweet and cozy place to stay. It´s a family owned business and their kindness and friendly disposition makes you feel right at home. All the essential facilities and services are available, wireless internet, little gym, sauna, generous breakfast, proper room service, laundry, parking.... The location is right in the heart of this charming little town. The room rate is very reasonable.
I would definately stay here again! Danke :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrza313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Turmwirt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel was very nice. Clean. The owners were great. They also allow pets which is a bonus. The only advice I have for you of you choose to stay here is to keep your windows closed. The hotel is located across the street from a Church whose bells ring literally every 15 minutes all night long. We had ours open to keep the dogs happy, and slept terribly due to the church bells dinging every 15 minutes.

Other than that, they hotel was very nice.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 2 days recently and have no complaints whatsoever. When we arrived after cycling most of the day the owner met us and helped us to store the bikes giving us the room keys. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable and had a balcony. The owners speak good english and made us most welcome and offered us advice and discounted tickets when we asked about the local cable car. The hotel is very close to all the shops and amenities.
We were greeted at breakfast and offered freshly cooked eggs and bacon as well as the usual buffet style breakfast. The waitresses came in on a regular basis to top up the buffet.
This is the 5th time we have visited Oberammergau and this hotel is the nicest one that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pie-eater-1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Decent price. Rooms are clean, comfy, tidy. Restaurant has a nice breakfast. Parking can be an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmateurAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I organised a week's visit in June 2012 for a group of 25 adults and 8 children. The hotel location is ideally situated amid the attractively decorative buildings of Oberammergau and equally so as a base for excursions into the magnificent scenery of the wider geographical area.The well appointed hotel is immaculately clean and comfortable and is operated in a most friendly manner by all the staff. Evening meals of "Bavarian fare" provided for my group were extremely good whilst breakfasts were plentiful and sufficiently varied to suit all tastes. Comprehensive local knowledge of the hotelier proved most useful in the arranging of excursions and my group thoroughly enjoyed each and every day of their stay in the fine Hotel Turmwirt. Highly recommended for either group or individual/family stays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toyotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a good stay with a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price. The staff took good care of us and helped me find some gas on Good Friday during a snow storm. The best restaurant in town is across the street (the Max Brau) and it is a five minute stroll to the Alte Post. We had an excellent breakfast each morning with superb coffee and friendly service. When we left, someone had cleaned the snow off of our car while cleaning the lot. There is limited parking but a lot of guests came on small bus tours and had no need. The room is used for skiing etc so the rugs get some wear but there was an excellent shower. We used the common computer which was very accessible and had a printer. There also are sauna and exercise facilities we did not use.

Room Tip: Ask the second floor at the back (room 24).
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

First I read all the tripadvisor reviews and was convinced it would be great. However their were plenty of things that made our stay less enjoyable. First they advertise they have parking but it's only about 3 spaces and if you don't get to them first you are out of luck. The room was a decent size and Clean with a balcony. However there was a big draft coming through the balcony doors which kept us a bit chilly. We asked for extra blankets and were told "why does your heat not work?" We explained about the draft and she brought us some blankets but didn't seem happy about it. This same lady was the breakfast attendant and was not friendly at all. She seemed very disgruntled. Breakfast was good if you can get any food. It seems that they put a small amount if food out and do not refill anything. It's pretty much first come first serve and if you happen to come down at 830 they are already out of many things. There was no attempt to make us feel welcome by this one younger lady, it seemed like we were bothering her just by being there. Upon checkout this same lady tried to charge us far more than what our rate was. She said we had two children and it was more. Booking.com where we reserved our room stated that all children under 11 stay free. She raised her voice and said we had to pay more and we should be willing since we had such a great breakfast every morning. Upon showing her our paperwork and her calling booking.com she agreed to the rate but acted like she was doing us a favor. We told her we did not think we would be back and she said "I hope not !" yelling at my husband and practically throwing the credit card back at him. This is not the kind Bavarian spirit that we have become accustomed to, please consider staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2travel0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasGeorg, Owner at Hotel Turmwirt, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

We unfortunately have to reply to this comment, as it is not relevant, that the client booked a room for a family, but for a couple. We then only asked him to pay for 1 breakfast a day, as both childrens had breakfast as well.
Our buffet breakfast is continuetly re-filled, and we serve as much as any client likes to have.
We gave a lot of free information about the area and possibilities to do wintersport with the childrens, like sledging etc. We cannot believe, that we now be shown as not friendly.
We are sorry, if the client now thinks we are no good hosts, please read all the other compliments on this side about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#14 of 25 in Oberammergau
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turmwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turmwirt

Address: Ettaler Str. 2, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range: $129 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Turmwirt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turmwirt is a 3 Star Superior rated Hotel with newly renovated rooms and spa. The family Glas operates this house and will give you a superb stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Turmwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turmwirt Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing